12/13 Johnny AMPS 373 PMPS 350 - daytime tester returns Wed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
GREAT NEWS: Brian's last day of classes for the semester is tomorrow! I have my daytime tester back on Wednesday! Would that influence dose recommendations here? We could be a little more aggressive if you think we should be.

Johnny is happy and playing and all that good stuff, but his beans were bad and missed a shot for the first time (not on purpose) on Sunday morning. We met some friends out (first time, I think since diagnosis that we did a late night *not* diabetes related, hehe) and forgot to set the alarm (each thinking the other had) and overslept the shot and the window to shoot while staying even close to schedule. I guess it happens, but the guilt until that next shot is terrible.

I sent a Facebook message to a vet friend tonight asking about the dental. She said that she would be surprised that he would develop dental issues so fast that made is numbers go up, since he was able to go into remission so recently. Also that there was extra risk involved with the anesthesia and an unregulated cat (she defined regulated as "consistent dose of insulin, a good curve, and a fructosamine in an appropriate range. Usually takes a few weeks.") and it could be an unnecessary risk that doesn't provide the results we're hoping for. I don't know what to think.

The Cat Hospital of Chicago (not our typical vet) looks awesome for doing the procedure. I don't know if they would, but I'll call and ask. I'm just feeling a little scared about pushing for something that could be putting Johnny at unnecessary risk. I'm worried about going to our own vet because we aren't following their dosing advice. She said between .50u and 1.0u and I'm starting to wonder if we should have started up at 1u this time. I'm sorry for my over-analysis of everything. My dad is Mr. Over-Analysis and I come into it honestly. :) Just talking out loud here.

Not sure if the dose should be upped or the bean's meds should be upped. Haha. I kid. But, man, I hate looking at our chart these days. I was really spoiled the first go-round, no doubt.

Last post:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31892
 
Re: 12/13 Johnny AMPS 373 PMPS 350

well no advice from us of course but hope Johnny comes down from pink have you had a dental recently ? most cats only need a dental once a year at most unless they are a cat with teeth or gum issues Do Lou was 7 this year and he had his first dental but all cats are diff.
 
Re: 12/13 Johnny AMPS 373 PMPS 350

Lisa and Do Lou said:
well no advice from us of course but hope Johnny comes down from pink have you had a dental recently ? most cats only need a dental once a year at most unless they are a cat with teeth or gum issues Do Lou was 7 this year and he had his first dental but all cats are diff.

Johnny's never had one. I wish we could go back in time to OTJ and have it done. Our vet says she wants him to be regulated before doing it. Some here think that it might be a key to helping him get regulated. :dizcat
 
Re: 12/13 Johnny AMPS 373 PMPS 350 - daytime tester returns

I use Cat Hospital. Gabby has had 2 dentals there. The first was 10/5/09. Look at Gabby's SS. She was far from regulated.

I really like Holly Pohl, DVM. She's familiar with the Queensland Protocol (I sent it to her.) and knows I am involved with FDMB. They use Janet & Binky's food charts. And, this is the info they provide about dentals. The only thing she gives me a hard time about is she thinks I test too much. We agree to disagree over that issue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top