12/13 Cosmo AMPS 427, +2 412, +6 414, +10 256, PMPS 194, +1 133, +2 176, +3 176, +5 299

thebigfuzz

Member Since 2012
Yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-12-cosmo-amps-412-2-364-6-346-pmps-389.239923/

Same, Same. High 300’s to low 400’s. We are increasing his dose this am to 3.25 and are going to pick up a new vial of insulin, in case ours may be going bad. It is a 100 unit vial rather than the pen, and we have been using it since 8/3. Too bad, since we still have some left. There are no floaties and it looks good, but will change it just in case.
 
It should still be good but worth a try. I used my vials for 5-6 months but my pens to the last drop. The vials were half full when discarded. I hope the new insulin gives Cosmo better numbers. :bighug:
 
It should still be good but worth a try. I used my vials for 5-6 months but my pens to the last drop. The vials were half full when discarded. I hope the new insulin gives Cosmo better numbers. :bighug:
We thought so too, worth a try, I suppose. We are at a bit of a loss at what is happening, or not happening :p
 
I agree, it's not likely the insulin especially since it's only from August. Luci's pen expired July 2020 and still will bring her swooping down to kiss the sharks...so although as much as we'd like to suspect the insulin has gone bad, the new synthetic insulins rarely fail - unless it was frozen or left on the stove (where the temperature became extremely warm)...

Just stay the course and keep increasing per your dosing method. I know it's hard, but just hang in there. Kitties need what they need to break out of the lack of insulin their getting from their non-working pancreas...

You're doing a great job Tanya! :bighug:
 
We have yellow! We. Have. Yellow. !

Thanks for the support everyone! We appreciate it :bighug:

We didn’t end up getting a new pen today, so will keep to staying the course.
 
And a blue PMPS :cool: Nice and easy Cosmo!

He had a nice family nap on the bed today and a few bursts of walking around the house, exploring :p

Will monitor +2 and beyond where necessary :)
 
Bandit has had some inexplicable high numbers recently too. I changed pens and she dropped to low greens on the second cycle of the new pen. I don't think it was an insulin issue though. But I'm still scared to go back to the old pen! :D

Looks like a PJ party for you tonight!
 
Nice slide and response to the increase. :cool:

If you decide to get new insulin, go with the five pack of cartridges. You can use them to the last drop, and if accidents happen, less wasted insulin.
 
Back
Top