12/13 Chester's YIKES! +6=63, pmps 277

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
Chester was 154 this morning...lower than I like him to be at amps on this dose. Waited 30 minutes and then he only tested 169. This is my "Hell Week" (what middle school chorus teachers call the Christmas concert season) and I can't be worried about Chester all day. Even with DH home I'm shaving the dose this morning. I know he didn't earn it....but I earned it! Anyway, I want to work him to a point that I feel safe leaving him over Christmas with DH in charge.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31908
 
Re: 12/13 Chester's amps 169, +6=63, pmps 277

HOLY CARP! Good thing I followed my nose and shaved his dose today because Chester tested 63 (on the AlphaTrak!) at +6 today. He hasn't been that low in ages, and NEVER on the AlphaTrak. Scared me half to death because I didn't find out about it until I was driving home from work. DH was with him today.

I have to say, DH did pretty well. Gave him HC gravy and a little HC food and then retested. Waited a little longer than I would have but for his first time, not bad (tested 158). I told him next time to wait another 20 and retest, maybe offer some LC as well.

Chester definitely earned his reduction today. I'm just hoping that .25 is a safe dose. At least I have another week or two before I leave for Christmas. I'm expecting a big bounce tomorrow and told DH to expect it, that it's not cause for alarm and it does NOT mean to raise the dose.

DH is not one to go on this forum for advice (not very computer savy) so I called my vet and she told me that she would be available by phone for him 24 hours a day while I'm gone (well, all the time really) and that he shouldn't hesitate to call. Of course, Chester would have to go to the e-vet after regular vet hours, but at least he will have his regular vet to talk him through things. Makes me feel better. And he's just been to the e-vet with our Ping, so he knows the way!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top