12/13 Checkers pmps 488+3/412

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=84938

Dose, skinny 0.5 lev.

Good Morning LL....Nothing interesting here. Last night's +6, was a horrible red number, so I was glad to see it had dropped, by morning.

Question that has plagued me for ages:
When Checkers drops into the 30's, as he did on 11/29..(27cycles ago), and I reduce, as we're supposed to do, he just doesn't hold the reduction.
He goes back up and I assume it's a bounce, but he stays up in rainbow colors, until I start thinking I should call the reduction a failure and put that drop back on.
Eventually he will drop again into 30's...but I don't dare reduce again, because I am positive he won't do well on so low a dose.
I can't seem to get him to blue numbers consistently. I don't understand how 0.5 will drop him to 30, but sk.5 , won't put him blue. It sends him soaring.

I did not reduce on 12/11, when he dropped into 30's. I am afraid to give him lower than sk.5

Please advise.. :-D
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers amps 342+2/350 dose advice please

(((Barb)))

I know how frustrated you are. I don't want to add to that frustration but it's hard to know what the high numbers reflect. Checks has a habit of getting into HC food. Until you can prevent the HC contraband from being in the mix, it's going to be very hard to know what's due to what. Frankly, every time I see Checks in good numbers for several days, there's a kibble raid. I think if you can get a solid 2 - 4 weeks without any food mishaps and no furshots, it will give us a better understanding of what's going on.
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers amps 342+2/350+4/371 dose advice please

Oh shoot! I was hoping you didn't notice that, Sienne.
One of the biggest embarrassments of my jouney with him, is having to admit that I sometimes let him get at the kibble.
You are absolutely correct...it seems whenever he is doing well for a few days, I do it AGAIN.
It doesn't help him, that I cry for hours over this, because have to admit it in public, to explain his rise in numbers.

Thank you Sienne, for honest response.
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers amps 342+2/350+4/371 dose advice please

(Barb) sorry for your frustration that stinks! Don't beat yourself up over it. Guess you have to prevent the contraband somehow to get Checkers down again. Hope all goes well. Hugs!
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers amps 342+2/350+4/371 dose advice please

Hi Barb, it has to be tough with two civvies and feeding different foods. I have a hard time managing one kitty! Checkers, no more kibble raid, unless you call Mags over and share. :lol: Have a great day. Barb.
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers amps 342+2/350+4/371 dose advice please

(((barb))) Don't beat yourself up .. I also have two cats on two different foods and it is hard to keep them from the forbidden food .. it happens .. we just have to try our hardest to make sure it doesn't happen, or happens very little ..
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers amps 342+2/350+4/371 dose advice please

((((((Barb)))))) I know how frustrating it is. I there anyway you can get the civvies to eat the same food as Check? I know it is hard, but that may be the only solution and it would be better for them as well.

I also know on the dose changes. sometimes They need that in between dose and there is no way we can measure it. Tess does the same thing to me, up and down. They are leading the dance we just have to follow.
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers amps 342+2/350+4/371 dose advice please

Ann, it's been a very long haul, trying to get the civvies on wet food. Both used to throw it up, and Clancy got diarrhea from it.
A cat with long hair, britches, and short legs, is not fun to clean after a mess in the LB. I swear he sat in it. :roll:

I'm trying, honest.

Checkers refused the Wellness Chicken today, no matter what flavorings I put on it. There isn't one single food that he likes all the time.....except the kibble, that he smells, no matter how I hide it.
I'm wallowing in self pity today, because of the feeding issue. I can't just tell Checkers "eat or starve"...a cat will!

Who ever heard of a cat that doesn't like to eat? He's not sick.....he is happy, playful, mischievous, constantly climbing onto the sink, counters, etc., with energy I wish I had.
He whines at me for food, when I go into kitchen, he just doesn't want cat food.

Okay, I'm done. Thanks for listening. :smile:
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers amps 342+2/350+4/371 +7/381

if theres one place where it is ok to whine, it is here!!! Lots of people here struggle with picky kitties .. I sure wish checks would just eat the wet with no complaints and that the civvies would eat the wet without any problems .. maybe one day!
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers amps 342+2/350+4/371 +7/381

Barb, we were really lucky that Tess transitioned to wet food so easily, probably because we had always given it as a treat bribe when she came in in the evening. Originally she would have nothing to do w/ Wellness and it took me a year of trying, giving up and trying again. Suddenly it was good! :shock: Maybe it's time to try again. I've found that freeze dried duck breast is an even better sprinkle than the freeze dried chicken.

Homemade food doesn't have to be raw, there are recipes out there for cooked. You can try what we suggested for Moonie, adding supplements to meat that you provide.

Sounds like it could be a food allergy for Clancy, what was the food that made him sick?

Oh, BTW, Tess won't eat Wellness Chicken period! Turkey yes, chicken no way! And yes sprinkles are required on nearly all food.
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers amps 342+2/350+4/371 +7/381

(((Barb))) I can see how frustrating this would be. When we started on the FD journey, Neko was getting Wellness and the vet recommended C/D for civie Theo for his crystals. Naturally little Miss CPC wanted his food. I found out later it's 22%!! It was so hard to feed separately. He is a slow eater, she gulps hers down then pushes him out of the way from his bowl. A couple months of this and me going crazy at mealtime and then Theo's vet recommended raw as the one both could eat. It did take a while for the transition for him. Now I don't worry so much about food raids. And as a bonus, the poops are drier and less likely to be cling-ons. But cats can be so stubborn about their food. Paws crossed Checkers will learn to love the wet and the civies would learn to accept it. I am glad he is full of energy and feeling well.

Checkers, stop worrying your mommabean! Eat your fuds!
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers pmps 488

So this is a bounce? It's two days, since he dove to 30's, so I can hope he will clear it tomorrow. Hope hope.

Well, I had a good day with civvies. I gave them the Wellness that Himself wouldn't eat. They ate it. WooHoo.
No kibble to raid today.

Checkers ate nothing but Wellness Chicken, Fancy Feast Classic something with a green label :roll: and boiled chicken.
 
Re: 12/13 Checkers pmps 488

Barb I'm sorry you're having such a rough time with Checkers' food and dose. It can be very frustrating. Hopefully you can keep him out of the kibble for a couple of weeks and see how he is really doing.
 
Hey Barb,
this is the one safe place to whine, grump, ask, hope. I'm sorry about the food issues with your kids. One day it'll be behind you. I know you've probably tried everything but here's what i'm doing with my little boys to get them off their beloved kibbles. I Put some frozen shrimp in a little bin with enough water to cover. micro for 2 min. (ours is old - you may not need 2 min.). put it all in the blender and make a slurry. mix some of the slurry into the kibbles for a couple days. then, add a little wet to the kibbles and slurry, increase wet and slurry as you decrease kibbles. eventually i started grinding kibble and putting the kibble dust over slurry and wet. We're not perfect yet, but the little boys eating less and less kibbles. couldn't you just spit??!! These kitties!!!!
hugs hugs hugs.. take good care woman.
give Checkers a hug for me.
Hey Checks... do you want your mommy to pull her hair out?.. Could you please learn to love your wet food? And talk to the rest of the family ...would ya please.
xoxo
mary and oliver
 
Hi Barb

I am also so sorry for your frustration. Checks does like to bounce and he is bouncing now; if he accidentally got into a little kibble yesterday, that could add to this.

Theoretically, that number in the 30s earned him another reduction. I know you are worried about him not holding even a sk.5u and so are worried about reducing again. Is there any chance the shot the morning of 12/11 could have been a little fatter than normal?

We are all here to help each through the frustration of the FD dance and the associated issues. I hope you can find a food they will all eat. There are pre-made raw foods like Natures Variety Instinct that they could all est and might like if you don't want to make the food.
 
Hi Barb - just wanted to say HI BARB! sorry for the reds - Mannie is there tonight too. we all do the best we can do. I know you are too. I hope your day was a good one.
 
I hear ya on the fuds issues, Barb. Fortunately, Trix is a little piglet who will eat almost anything I put in front of her. But the rest of my herd - all 5 of them - are beyond challenging. I have experienced the "I will starve before I eat that mushy crap, now give me my kibbles" thing with all of them. I've tried every one of Dr Lisa's tricks, and then added a few of my own. I finally had to give up...my guys simply would NOT eat a diet of 100% canned. Probably my fault for not starting them on canned as kittens, but I didn't, and this is where we're at. They HAVE to eat something, or they'll REALLY get sick. So, like you, I have to juggle several diets. It's no fun, but what's a bean to do? Just wanted you to know you're not alone...I so understand it.

Now, Checks, come back down!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top