12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 PMPS 159 +7 137

Status
Not open for further replies.

casanovasmom

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone. Casanova's numbers have been a little high so I'm going to increase his dose to 4.5 units and see what happens today. I'm off so I'll be able to monitor. Hoping for the numbers to drop a bit. Looking at my spreadsheet I do have a question. Obviously, something was going on for him to be drinking more and peeing more which sent me to the doctor in the first place but once I started on the wet food, his numbers were fantastic on the second day in while I was giving 8 units. Wouldn't that tell me that that was a pretty good amount to be giving him? I do trust everyone's judgement but I'm just curious.

Yesterdays info- viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31910

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +1 257 Dose increase

Good Morning!!!

Can't answer your question for you other than I know you have a food change going on. Casanova's body is learning to use meats and proteins ...rather than all that high carbs....and we usually approach those kinds of changes with a bit of caution.

Have a Great Day!
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +1 257 Dose increase

Umm..... You really should be increasing only 0.25u. You have nadirs in the 200s.

The reason you dropped the dose is that the dry food was keeping numbers elevated. On 8u of insulin, in all likelihood, you could not have managed the numbers with canned food. It's typical that with a diet change to LC, insulin needs change, as well. If you recall, you were getting numbers that were sufficiently low that you weren't able to shoot.
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +1 257 Dose increase

Hi Laura! Nice yellows to start the day for Cassanova.
BTW, your link didn't work. It should be blue when you post. I think that you need to put a space before you past the link. If there i no space between the last word and the link, it will be black, not blue, and the link will not work correctly.
Good job though. I think if you edit your first post and put a space in front of the link it will work....
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31910
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +2 199 Dose increase

I wondered why the link wasn't blue this morning-I did it about 5 times then gave up! I guess I'm just being a little impatient with Casanovas numbers. I loved seeing those blue numbers! Just did his plus 2 and got a reading of 199. I like that. Are there any syringes that have bigger spaces between the lines so it would be easier to do a .25 dose? I saw the link on the site with the photos and that did help some. Unfortunately, now that I'm in my mid forties, my eyesight to see little things isn't so hot. I wandered around my kitchen this morning trying to get in the best light trying to get the .5 :roll:

Thanks again for all the info. Have to go back to the vet next Monday so she can do another fructosamine test. Do you think that in this two week time there will be much change? Can't wait to tell her what I've been doing...she probably won't approve of the dosage drop, but if I have the numbers to back me up, what can she say? Come on blue numbers!!!!

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +2 199 Dose increase

Unfortunately, there isn't an option with syringes. The only option is to pick up a cheap pair of magnifying glasses at the drugstore or get magnifying headgear that's used for small craft work.

You really might want to save your $$ on a fructosamine test. It provides an average of BG levels over a 2 - 3 week period. Since you're testing regularly, it's not going to tell you more than what you know from your testing and your day-to-day/hour-to-hour tests provide you with far more data and more accurate data than a fructosamine test. My vet abandoned them in situations where people are home testing with regularity.
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +4 117! .5 BIG DIFFERENCE

Just tested t +4 and got a BG of 117! Wouldn't have thought a .5 increase would have affected it so much and so fast. Do you think it is the increase or something else at work?
Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +4 117! .5 BIG DIFFERENCE

Personally, it's a little soon for the dosecrease to kick in. It's likely that the yellow cycle you saw yesterday was telling you there would be action today.
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +4 117! .5 BIG DIFFERENCE

He is now getting the correct food and the correct dose for an FD cat--8 units to a cat on low carb food, would have had him in a hypo!
You are doing great--Vets are good, but we have tremendous experience here with feline diabetes, and we know how to manage a cat with it!
Have faith in this wonderful board, they will never steer you wrong! Great knowledge here.
Look how well he is doing!! Good job!
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +4 117! .5 BIG DIFFERENCE

Sienne and Gabby said:
Personally, it's a little soon for the dosecrease to kick in. It's likely that the yellow cycle you saw yesterday was telling you there would be action today.

Listen to Sienne on this one. That doscrease wouldn't/shouldn't show any change unless the shed was still too full. You are barely at onset and already at 117. You might want to grab a few more tests before the +6.
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +4 117! .5 BIG DIFFERENCE

Getting ready to go out to lunch but then will be home the rest of the day to test. Sorry kitty...lots of ear pokes today :shock:

I do trust the members of the board and honestly have very little faith in my vet. The information on this board is fantastic where my vet has very little to say on the subject. We have been to just about every vet in our city-there are many-and not a single one has helped. I feel like I've been doing it all on my own with the help of this board. I'm not glad Casanova's peeing and drinking increased, but it did get me back to this forum after being away for too long. Please know that I do appreciate and trust every suggestion given.

Thanks,
Laura and Casanova
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +4 117! .5 BIG DIFFERENCE

totally with you on the serendipity of finding the FDMB...

i know where binks and i would be without it...and it wouldnt be a pretty place! it has been a blessing for us.

good luck today!

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +10 131! .5 BIG DIFFERENCE

Just did my +10 and got 131. It's been a great day for Casanova's BG. Looking at the numbers, do you think I should go ahead and shoot the full 4.5 unit dose if his numbers stay in this same range in the next 2 hours?
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +11 159 What to shoot PM?

Casanova has had a stellar day but now I'm not sure what dose to give him tonight. Suggestions?
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +11 159 HELP What to shoot PM?

Sienne and Gabby wrote:Personally, it's a little soon for the dosecrease to kick in. It's likely that the yellow cycle you saw yesterday was telling you there would be action today.

I would say since your dosecrease this morning was potentially too much...I would back off to 4.25u. As Sienne noted the 4.5u increase wouldn't be reflected in todays numbers. There is a chance to shoot the 4.5u tonight might be too much.
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +11 159 HELP What to shoot PM?

Wow. What a beautiful blue streak.

I think you can go either way. According to the protocol, a dose increase of 0.25u was called for. You can drop tonight's shot back to 4.25u. Or, you can hold the dose at 4.5u but you will need to monitor closely at least for the next 24 - 48 hours. Personally, I tend to stick with the protocol but it's your call.
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +11 159 HELP What to shoot PM?

I'll do 4.25 since I can monitor tonight but not much tomorrow. Thanks for the help.
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +11 159 HELP What to shoot PM?

I have also seen with my cat that increases can sometimes show up right away (though often the numbers get even lower on about the 3rd shot, after the shed fills).

It's not unusual for cats with doses in the 4 unit range to start increasing by 0.5 units instead of 0.25 units. But, since Casanova has had some green on 4 units, the 0.5 unit increase is probably a bit aggressive. Today's cycle was beautiful and you monitor a lot, so I would say it's up to you. You can hold the aggressive dose if you will monitor the way you usually do for the next few cycles. You would then hold the dose until he earns the reduction (that will probably happen soon and it might be a busy night tonight), or you can go back to the 4.25 dose that was probably a more appropriate choice this morning.

Are you confused now, with multiple opinions to choose between? :lol:

eta: I type too slow! In the time I was typing Sienne already gave her opinion and you made your choice. Good job!
 
Re: 12/13 Casanova AMPS 253 +11 159 HELP What to shoot PM?

Thanks! Two heads are better than one. I'll go with the concensus and shoot 4.25 since I won't be able to monitor too much tomorrow. Just got 159 for PMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top