12/13 Blue 171 AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Patty,

I'm a bit late on parade today. I'm delighted you got such a good - and very much needed - sleep.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Nice 'n' steady does it, Bluebird. ((((Blue))))

Worried about the Noodle. In addition to the new hiding behaviour over the last couple of days, it looks like she's started overgrooming her tummy. I know she needs the bupe to eat but I don't know exactly what problem the CKD food is causing (was negative for pancreatitis on most recent test). She's started rejecting the 60:40 mix of renal:gastro support kibbles. Ate very little yesterday and wouldn't eat for me at all this morning, even after the bupe. I bit the bullet and kicked off the Fortiflora trial. She likes the taste of it and she's had a couple of good feeds since noon. Just hope it doesn't further upset her tum. (((Noodle)))

As for myself, fatigue's really bad and my back hurts a lot. And I'm afraid of my new kettle. :oops: :rolleyes:

I'm sorry that Blue's still got the sniffles. :bighug: How is he otherwise?


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
I'm going to try the Fortiflora as well. I just ordered it from Chewy. It's what the oncologist recommended.
It's very expensive. I hope Noodle will start eating soon. That's the scary part when they are sick. They gave me the cream to put on Blue's ear for an appetite simulate instead of the entice. What do you use? I guess you use calming items for her? Maybe it will help the overgrooming.

Why are you afraid of your new kettle? Because it's glass?

Blue's good. Eating some high carb and he loves that! He's hiding away some too.
 
I hate it when they hide. :( I wish they could tell us how to help them...

The Fortiflora's very £££ alright, but if it makes our little ones feel better then it's worth every penny. I hope it will help both of our little ones.

When I do use an appetite stimulant I use cyproheptadine. It's gentler and wears off faster so it's easier to control the level of appetite stimulation. The Noodle's appetite is OK at the moment (anti-jinx). She just doesn't want to eat the kibble and I think that's because it's seriously disagreeing with her digestive system. (She wouldn't need the bupe otherwise.)

Why are you afraid of your new kettle? Because it's glass?
Yep. They recommend boiling it up twice before use. I was OK with the first boil, emptied out the water and then it struck me: will it crack if I fill it with cold water while it's still hot? I erred on the side of caution and let it cool down a bit before doing the second fill. On the plus side, it boils quickly, I like that it rotates on the base, and it pours much better than my old kettle. (The water would go all over the place unless you poured very, very slowly.) I had to find somewhere else to put my toaster because the lead for the new kettle base is shorter than that for the old one.

That's the most exciting thing that's happened here in ages. I lead a thrilling life. :rolleyes:


Mogs
.
 
Nice 'n' steady does it, Bluebird. ((((Blue))))

Worried about the Noodle. In addition to the new hiding behaviour over the last couple of days, it looks like she's started overgrooming her tummy. I know she needs the bupe to eat but I don't what problem the CKD food is causing (was negative for pancreatitis on most recent test). She's started rejecting the 60:40 mix of renal:gastro support kibbles. Ate very little yesterday and wouldn't eat for me at all this morning, even after the bupe. I bit the bullet and kicked off the Fortiflora trial. She likes the taste of it and she's had a couple of good feeds since noon. Just hope it doesn't further upset her tum. (((Noodle)))

As for myself, fatigue's really bad and my back hurts a lot. And I'm afraid of my new kettle. :oops: :rolleyes:

I'm sorry that Blue's still got the sniffles. :bighug: How is he otherwise?


Mogs
.
Hi Mogs, Praying for Noodles ♥Sorry your back hurts, that's the worse, my back will go out sometimes that it makes me drop to the floor, back pain is horrible.
I hope you'll feel better , I usually use ice packs for my back, better than a heating pad ♥ :bighug::bighug:
 
HI all,
Sorry to miss you Mogs. :bighug: I'd probably be scared of the kettle too but they do test the glass to make sure it won't crack. My dad used to work for Owens Illinois glass in quality control. :)

Blue is up to 85 now and I'll check again before I feed his regular meal at 3:30 which is 2 hours from now.
He is doing better today. I don't like him hiding away.

I'm thinking skip the drop tonight as well. A drop does a lot. I had no idea. I'll yield to the experts however.
 
Hi Patty. Have you measured the drop to see if it’s really a drop? It looks like at times he will need a drop and other times not. There’s a very good chance of going OTJ but if he does we want a strong remission. You might need to start feeding at least 10% carbs as t preshot. That is still low carb.
 
Good. We want to keep him on a drop for awhile I think so he has a strong remission if it’s possible. I am asking for more opinions. Let’s see what others think. Usually we like almost all tests under 100 or at least under 120.
Are you both feeling better?
 
He's at 166 PMPS and he's eating LC right now. Do you want me to give him a drop tonight or are we talking about AMPS only? Someone mentioned a drop once a day so I want to make sure.
 
He's at 166 PMPS and he's eating LC right now. Do you want me to give him a drop tonight or are we talking about AMPS only? Someone mentioned a drop once a day so I want to make sure.
It would be good if you could give it both cycles and get him into mostly green and lower blues but if you aren’t feeling up to it you could try one cycle and see f that’s enough. It’s hard with the AT as the readings don’t match up. Did you ever get a human meter? If so it would be great if you would just use that right now.
 
I agree with @tiffmaxee you are better to give a dose every 12 hours than just once a day as Lantus works for 12 hours and you will just end up with higher one cycle and lower the next. Better to try and get them all around the lower blue, high green BGs with two doses.
That might mean you will have to feed some higher carb food to keep the BG above 50 but you will get a stronger remission and that’s what you want.
 
Okay, I'm good with every 12 hours. I'm going to start tomorrow. I hope that's ok... I try to keep on a schedule and I'm late. I'll start every 12 hours tomorrow with a drop.
Elise, you mentioned feeding him 10% before AMPS and PMPS. Is that right or did I misconstrue?
 
Okay, I'm good with every 12 hours. I'm going to start tomorrow. I hope that's ok... I try to keep on a schedule and I'm late. I'll start every 12 hours tomorrow with a drop.
Elise, you mentioned feeding him 10% before AMPS and PMPS. Is that right or did I misconstrue?
Yes. I think to keep him from dropping under 50 and dropping too fast. Yiu might need to give 16% or higher at some point to keep him over 50.
 
I know. That’s why I’m thinking starting with 10% which is still low carb. If he drops under 50 again we will need to rethink this. I know a low carb diet is best for him I’m hoping 10% early will keep him in range for a little longer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top