? 12.13.22 Chispa, 97 AMPS, 55 +5, 170 PMPS, 42 +2.33, 85 +2.67, 80 +3, 64 +4, 63 +4.75, 75 +5.25

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-11-22-chispa-130-amps-73-3-104-pmps-99-3.271735/

Well friends, it is one CRAZY day here. Chispa had a nice green start, then did not want to be tested at her regular time of +3 (approx. her usual nadir). She is a sensible girl, not prone to drama, so I let her off the hook for the time being. She was feeling more cooperative at +5 and I got a test -- 55 -- which is unusually low for her in the daytime. I expected a bounce at PMPS and sure enough, she delivered a number that broke recent records (170). How she got from there to an all-time low of 42 at +2.25, I will never know. It might have been a bad strip?? I fed her a teaspoon of HC gravy (17%) and am waiting 15 minutes to test again. She has no symptoms and is acting completely like herself, including meowing for more food.

Q: Can I give her more than the 1 teaspoon of gravy recommended in the stickies? She has an excellent appetite; there's not much chance of overfeeding her -- and now would be a normal mealtime for her.
 
After fifteeen minutes and 1 tsp of HC gravy, she tested 85. I can't believe one teaspoon of 17% gravy would bring her BG up from 42 to 85 so quickly -- does that ever happen? Is it more likely that it was a bad strip?

I fed her a teaspoon of LC food and now am looking for advice on how to proceed. She is still looking for more food because she would normally be getting a meal now.

Thanks!

@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
 
She does tend to dive at onset. So I would not totally rule it out as a bad strip and I would take a reduction but see what the others advise.

Stay with LC since she is comfortably over 50 now. You want to monitor till 2 hours after the HC to ensure she stays up even after the carbs have worn off.
 
Hi Karen I was just checking in on everyone and saw this, Holy Cow! Glad she's coming up, yes I think you better make a pot of :coffee:, . Don't forget to fill your SS in with the 85 BG. I might be up for awhile so I'll check back to see how you're doing :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Diane! Holy cow is right! Luckily she seems to have stabilized ... she went from 42, then 20 minutes later (after an HC meal) she was at +85, and now 20 minutes later (after an LC meal) she is at 80. These are much more normal numbers for her, so I'm still suspecting a bad strip, but I'll stay up and keep testing.

I fed her a small LC meal after the last test. Now she is curled up and snoozing in her nest. I'm setting a timer for 30 minutes to test again.
 
Ok. Thanks, Bhooma.

I set my alarm for 30 minutes to test again, but somehow we were almost at +4 by the time I got the test (64). I fed her a snack in the higher range of LC and will test again in 30 minutes.
 
Congrats on the reduction. Good thing she did this now rather than waiting until you are away.
I can't believe one teaspoon of 17% gravy would bring her BG up from 42 to 85 so quickly -- does that ever happen?
Definitely possible, it depends how carb sensitive the cat is. I used to feed 21% carbs and it did an even more dramatic increase, so had to back down to 16-17% carbs for HC.
 
Congrats on the reduction. Good thing she did this now rather than waiting until you are away.

Definitely possible, it depends how carb sensitive the cat is. I used to feed 21% carbs and it did an even more dramatic increase, so had to back down to 16-17% carbs for HC.
Thanks, Wendy! I don't think of her as carb-sensitive, but it looks like I need to revise that notion. And yes, I'm very glad she decided to give me a "heads up" in advance of my vacation. DBF has said more than once lately, "She's fine. She's always fine!" I guess she decided that now was a good time to shake him out of complacency. :cat:
 
Looks like she has stabilized, so these ladies are hitting the hay! Thank you, O Wise Ones, for staying up late and weighing in with advice -- hugely appreciated!!

What a blessing this Forum has been. :bighug::cat:
 
Boy did she keep you going tonight, I fell asleep and just woke up and said let me see how Chispa and Karen are doing. , I didn't think you would be up as late as you were after I saw the 80 BG . I hope you are making zzzz's right now . :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Congrats on the reduction :cat:
 
It's crazy ... she's always been a diver, but 170 to 42 in just over two hours??? She's never done anything remotely close to that before. I can't imagine what brought it on, and it makes me nervous about leaving her for two weeks, even with the reduction.
Quite teh dive indeed! Hoping she settles in on the new dose before you go away. Congrats on the reduction!
 
Just caught up with your crazy day yesterday -wowza!

Faraday’s only lime was also on a +2 seemingly out of the blue. These cats love to keep us on our toes!!

Congratulations on earning the reduction!
 
Boy did she keep you going tonight, I fell asleep and just woke up and said let me see how Chispa and Karen are doing. , I didn't think you would be up as late as you were after I saw the 80 BG . I hope you are making zzzz's right now . :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Congrats on the reduction :cat:
Quite teh dive indeed! Hoping she settles in on the new dose before you go away. Congrats on the reduction!
Just caught up with your crazy day yesterday -wowza!

Faraday’s only lime was also on a +2 seemingly out of the blue. These cats love to keep us on our toes!!
Just when you think you know your cat --- SURPRISE! I think Chispa was feeling proud of herself, since she purred through all further testing (despite recent resistance). Whatever, Chispa -- if that's what it takes to earn a reduction, then go for it.:D:D
 
Back
Top