12/12GraciePMPS331 +2 208+3 128+3.5 80+4 48+4.25 63+4.75 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31863

Recap:
AMPS: 312 21st cycle 1u
+2: 268
+4: 165
+6: 118
+10.5: 246
PMPS: 306 dosecrease...1st cycle f1u
+2: 271
+4: 240


Good Sunday morning Lantus Land!!! It's another warm day in Tucson...sunny and should be in the 80's. They say it's the warmest December on record. We hope things are looking lovely where you are.

WCR: 4Ps in place. I do believe that Raja must have done some talking to Gracie at the party last night because this morning she was leading me under the tree, around the sofa, back under the tree....always glancing back to make sure I was right behind her. I finally got her to do her poke....she was very good....but just had to be a little mischievous this morning. Her eyes are bright and clear and she has a sassy attitude. I have several silk poinsettias in the entryway and Gracie and Tobey have been having a blast running through them, turning them over, hiding, etc. She loves Christmas and is teaching Tobey to love it, too!!

Looks like her extra drop is kicking in....when I got her AMPS, I knew to watch her so gave her 6% at +1 even though that was not too bad of a drop. Now look what she does between +1 and +2!! I gave her more 6% with a bit of 12% gravy to slow her down because I really want her to surf a nice number today. Where's my cabanabean, Gracie surf coach when I need him? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have a great day...it's a busy Sunday here. I have to get all my regular chores done plus get Christmas cards out and our HOA party is tonight and I need to go since I'm on the board...and it's usually a really nice time.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +2.5 57

Tess...my mamabean says we have to stop competing!!!

Well...the gravy didn't stop her so I gave her 1 tsp this time.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +2.5 57

Gracie and Tess must be texting one another...Both decided to go scuba diving today.

Stay in safe numbers Gracie.

Majorie..have a good time tonight at your party.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +3 55

Hey you guys seen my scuba gear? ~~ Mannie

busy girl today - looks like she likes the new dose. Not too low now Gracie... :mrgreen:

silk poinsettias - I love those plants, but every year I struggle with the too much too little water thing and the leaf drop... maybe silk would be the way to go. :-D

Have a great time at the party! :cool: :-D :-D
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +3 55

Majorie...the Catnip Video was a hoot. Curry just sat and watched and watched and watched. Quite fun for her and for me. Sid couldn't figure out where the sounds were coming from. I tried to get some pics, but it was too dark and the flash created a white spot on the TV. Will try again this afternoon.

I was surprised by Curry's 53 this morning....she might be getting ready to ditch this dose.....maybe not....it might have been the video.....She usually nadirs at +3 and lately +2.....and if I give her food, she will pop up to some safer numbers. So far that's been her MO....Now since I've said that...she do something different..But if she had the higher numbers and dropped, I am testing every 15/20 minutes....
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +3 55

Michelle...I gave up on the real plants years ago. I've had these silk ones for several years now; I store them in the house and they continue to look great. A little more $$ upfront but it pays off in the long run. And....I don't have to worry about little teefies eating things they shouldn't. Uh....I found Mannie's scuba gear....will send home ASAP.

Tena...I'm glad she loves it!!! It is a fun video for them. Sometimes Gracie gets above the tv and watches looking at it upside down. She and Tobey both run over to the TV some mornings to have me put it in. They are so funny.
 

Attachments

  • G024.JPG
    G024.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 1,427
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +3 55

Look at that diving! Gracie, slow down and surf please.

I love the pic, Marjorie. I'm glad you have such beautiful weather. Its sunny here, but cold. I hope you have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +3 55 +4 55

Made my day, too. What an intent look!! Hey Gracie, let's start a nice, safe surf right about now, OK?

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +3 55 +4 55

Hey Gracie slow down or you'll be diving like Powder. 39 :shock: Get up on that surf board and glide. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +3 55 +4 55 +5 52

Mike said he doesn't think it's "surfing" if you have to give them gravy :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +3 55 +4 55 +5 52 +6

grrrr...the little devil girl got a mouth of the civvie's Solid Gold tuna and I have no idea what the % carbs are in that. She was playing in the kitchen nook and I fed Gus and then was giving Tobey something to eat, turned around and she must have dashed in .... I'm hoping she didn't get much because Gus still had his tongue licking the plate so she probably just got a sideways lick or so of it. Since it was at +5.5, hoping she might come back down.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +3 55 +4 55 +5 52 +6

Oh Majorie...you are a good bean...you have a booster seat for Gracie so she can be eye to eye w/the little critters.

Nice pic....and Great numbers for her today.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +3 55 +5 52 +6 83 +8

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: on the movie of the week!

where on earth did you get that?

binks has one from a Nova program on birds that he likes...but i'd love to get him a new one!
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 252 +1 215 +2 103 +3 55 +5 52 +6 83 +8

ditto here on the dvd. where , what, who, etc? maybe the cats here would really like something like that...

and ouch on the bounce! Gracie.... back down now, OK?

Like the poinsettias idea... so much more practical, and yes on the little teethies eating something they shouldn't.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331

I have other words to use than "impressive" :lol: :lol: :lol: See...I'm trying to keep my sense of humor.

Just ran home for test, feed, shoot. Back to HOA party. I'll send you all the link for the video when I get back.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331

Well, I hope you don't linger up there Gracie...you know how your mama hates the Pinks....
But, what do you care....right? You are pretty in every color! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208

Thanks, Pat!!! With your encouragement, she is out of PINK!! Wow...I just got home to find this. Perhaps I should go away for parties more often!! Paws crossed for blue!!

Here's the link to Gracie's Video Catnip: http://www.cattv.com/page2.php#vc
I actually have the cutest videos of her trying to get the birds. Tena..yes..she has a front row seat because she is so tiny. I didn't want her to strain her precious
little neck looking up :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208

hmmm, interesting.
wonder what gracie has in store for tonight.........................................................
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208

Jill...yes, interesting. I thought this was a bounce which she has not typically cleared so quickly esp at night. However, she did get into some civvie food but I can't imagine that would have kept her up from +8 through PMPS!! Testing again at 10:30 MST...may need to offer some more higher LC (I gave her 6% at +2).
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208 +3 128

Not a dumb question. Tobey eats Nature's Variety Instinct...all flavors 3%; the older civvies eat Precise...all of it is under 8% that they normally get. HOWEVER, as an occasional treat, I let Teddi/Gus have Solid Gold tuna and that is what Grace was licking up today...I have no idea what the %carbs is because I don't even remember the last time they got it....it is truly a rare occasion. And she couldn't have gotten that much because Gus had his face in the middle of the plate and had already eaten half...she was licking the side. Anyway...now she dropped another 80 in one hour so I gave her more 6% food with a tsp of 13% gravy. I will recheck in 30 mins because I need to get her slowed down.

eta: I checked Solid Gold's website. The only thing extra in their food is tapioca starch....no grains, etc. There is only the GA...not any as feds or DM basis. Typically, tapioca starch shouldn't have a ton of carbs but I ran into this with Soulistic in doing research. Their as fed for Good Karma came out as 19% carbs but they only had tapioca starch and guar gum so don't know where all their carbs came from. Still....I can't believe that even if she got an 18% carb lick that it would have kept her above 300 from +8 to +12.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208 +3 128

Hey Marj--I'm up & collapsing too!! Moonie & Gracie--what a ride today!!--I'm exhausted--Hope she comes up soon! Gracie dont do any fancy drops!
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208 +3 128 +3.5 80

Still zooming down. At this rate, she'll be at 32 by +4. I gave her 13% but am thinking of adding a bit of karo to give the 14% more time to kick in. I certainly did not expect this tonight.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208 +3 128 +3.5 80

I gave her karo right after I posted the last message. Am retesting in 5.

Jill...this is the second cycle on this and it was literally only one medium drop more but do you think it's too much for her? I didn't have to work hard to keep her above 50 today but tonight is going to be a different story and I do not like her curve today....two huge inverted bells.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208 +3 128 +3.5 80 +4 48

Heck MJ...she needs to BUY some.

+4..48...gave her whopping helping of 13% PLUS 13% food PLUS 1 ml karo. Will recheck in 15 to see if the first karo has kicked in yet.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208 +3 128 +3.5 80

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I gave her karo right after I posted the last message. Am retesting in 5.

Jill...this is the second cycle on this and it was literally only one medium drop more but do you think it's too much for her? I didn't have to work hard to keep her above 50 today but tonight is going to be a different story and I do not like her curve today....two huge inverted bells.
when a kitty goes up the dosing scale using the methods we use here and there's still a lot of pink and yellow... i usually think "more" insulin.
if/or when you have to work too hard to keep her numbers up you almost have to reduce the dose.
see how you feel about the dose after you get through this cycle.


edited to add: will be back shortly for your next test.
have to test alex and feed the crew.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208 +3 128 +3.5 80 +4 48

63 @ +4.25 ....whew. I'll stay on top of this. I gave her a little more MC food and karo.

when a kitty goes up the dosing scale using the methods we use here and there's still a lot of pink and yellow... i usually think "more" insulin.
if/or when you have to work too hard to keep her numbers up you almost have to reduce the dose.
see how you feel about the dose after you get through this cycle.
I'm not sure I understand...on one hand it sounds like you think she isn't getting enough insulin (or do you mean on the 1u she wasn't getting enough?) but how do I manage a dose like this with this kind of rapid drop? She's never had a day like today....drop fast, come up fast, drop REALLY fast and I'm sure she'll bounce big time. I don't see what has happened today as managing her curve very well...she's all over the place.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208 +3 128 +3.5 80 +4 48

Marjorie and Gracie said:
63 @ +4.25 ....whew. I'll stay on top of this. I gave her a little more MC food and karo.

when a kitty goes up the dosing scale using the methods we use here and there's still a lot of pink and yellow... i usually think "more" insulin.
if/or when you have to work too hard to keep her numbers up you almost have to reduce the dose.
see how you feel about the dose after you get through this cycle.
I'm not sure I understand...on one hand it sounds like you think she isn't getting enough insulin (or do you mean on the 1u she wasn't getting enough?) but how do I manage a dose like this with this kind of rapid drop? She's never had a day like today....drop fast, come up fast, drop REALLY fast and I'm sure she'll bounce big time. I don't see what has happened today as managing her curve very well...she's all over the place.
nice. she came up easily.

if i counted correctly (i'm getting cross-eyed at this time of night), gracie was on 1u bid for a total of 24 cycles... only 7 of which were green cycles. you could go back to 1u bid, but i think we gave that 1u dose ample time to show us what it can do. an alternative is to drop the dose back and keep her on it indefinitely... until she evens out on the dose before attempting another increase.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 331 +2 208 +3 128 +3.5 80 +4 48 +4.25

Jill....it wasn't her numbers that worried me tonight...48 is not that low and we've dealt with that before. It was the speed and I felt it was a little difficult to get her slowed down at first. In managing her, I really don't like to be in a karo/HC reactionary mode. To me, that isn't the way to manage the insulin. Therefore, I feel like we're doing a lot of hard work with food and schedules, etc. but she's calling the shots and I don't like the way her SS looks all rainbowy. Can you think of ANYTHING else we can do to flatten out her cycles? What I think I hear you say is, if it were your cat, you wouldn't take her down yet..wait and see what we get the next few cycles. The option is to take her back to 1u and let her be high and flat and hopefullly, come down that way a little slower. I don't know what is best for her healthwise....at least with this dose, she is getting into the healing range more often....but the speed worries me.

Thanks, Jill!!! Have a good night's rest.
 
Re: 12/12GraciePMPS331 +2 208+3 128+3.5 80+4 48+4.25 63+4.75

there's only 3 ways i know of to flatten the cycle... using food to manipulate the curve, increasing the dose, or decreasing the dose. using food to manipulate gracie's curve is working to some extent, just not as much as we hoped it would. i don't feel confident in reducing the dose to 1u since gracie was on it for a total of 24 cycles. i think 12 days was enough time to see what dose of 1u could do. that leaves us with the option of adding a drop to the dose as started last night.

yes, when alex is throwing numbers higher than i want to see i continue raising the dose in a safe and methodical manner until the numbers come down. i've even been known to increase the dose on green cycles, but that's just me. i have a cat who is very carb sensitive and i'm comfortable with knowing her response to the insulin we're using. however, it's been almost 4.5 years since alex was diagnosed with diabetes... 16 of those months on insulin. my approach today is more aggressive than it was when i started.

you really need to feel comfortable with what you're doing. if you want to drop the dose back, you should. there's nothing wrong with holding 1u for an extended period of time.
 
Re: 12/12GraciePMPS331 +2 208+3 128+3.5 80+4 48+4.25 63+4.75

Thanks Jill. Actually, I don't want to drop the dose and see her in flat yellow all the time an dknow she is so close to the renal threshold. We may need to up her carbs a little more...altho tonight was different and I just wonder if she had some kind of reverse NDW. I'm sure she's going to bounce tomorrow. I think we'll just hold her here a bit and see what happens. If this becomes repetitive, then Plan B. Thanks for staying up so late and helping us out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top