12/12 Tarragon PMPS 332 +2 341 +3.5 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58465

5 p's present. Blech blech blech. Tarragon is still taking 1/2 prednisone every other day and I know that is messing with his BG's, along with the fact that he eats a lot more with the prednisone. We have to give the prednisone to keep his asthma under control. His bounces are just so high. Shooting with R is not an option because he will drop 100 points in an hour and be in the 200's within 2 hours. The vet thought maybe he was getting too much insulin so we started at 2 and are working our way back up.

Any thoughts or advice are appreciated! I am running out of ideas.

Crazy day at tbp with month end. Mason gets home Friday for a month. Yay! Charlie is doing great and Tarragon is feeling good, other than tired from these wild swings.

Have a great Monday everyone!
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

No advise here, sorry. We've been battling the reds ourselves :roll:
I hope your crazy day at tbp goes by quickly and you come home to a better PMPS.
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

ouch, sorry about that red. Hope you get some good advice and Tarragon comes on down.
Hope you and the gang enjoy your Monday
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Could you put a note (asterisk?) on Tarragon's SS when you are giving the pred? I'm curious as to when it kicks in. I'm wondering if you were to time the pred so it may have it's biggest impact around nadir that it might flatten things out a bit.
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

No advice, Melissa...just hugs. Sienne's idea sounds interesting, though...I've never had to give pred, but I'm curious to see how the timing might affect T's BGs - good to know info!

I'm sure you and T are excited that Mason will be home soon - yay!

Have a great, not-too-crazy day!

Amy
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Hi Melissa,
I took a look at Tarragon's SS, but it is beyond my SS-reading skills! I hope that Sienne's suggestion will help.
Looks like you will be having a fine holiday month with Mason home and Charlie improving. Now, Tarragon, all your mamabean needs is for you to get your bgs lower!!

Hang in there, Melissa!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Hi Melissa, I hope, too, Sienne's advice will help with Tarragon. So glad to hear Charlie is doing well and Mason coming home will be so nice for the holidays. It sounds like a busy but happy time for you. Take care of you, too, and hugs.
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

No advice on the pred, but Sienne's suggestion is interesting. Good luck on getting the bounces under control. It seems everyone is doing it lately.
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Yikes! Tarragon, I am sorry to see that number this morning. Melissa, does he need to take the pred with food?
Liz
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Thanks guys!

Liz - No he can take it anytime. I have just done it at shot time to make it easier. I wouldn't be able to move it to nadir during the day but I can at night. It might be worth a try.
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Ewww, nasty high r*d! I hope Sienne's idea works. At least he is feeling OK. And holiday home month will soon be in full swing. Gotta love that!
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Morning - no advice on the pred, way out of my experience level... but I did like Sienne's idea - it may help. worth a try at any rate. Good luck! I know how all those red and pinks can wear on a bean. it is good though that Mr T is feeling good. Mannie never seems to be affected by those high swings... he's always the same.

Enjoy your day today. Nice that Mason will be home for a month - YAY!!
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Mr. T - would you PLEASE quit playing around up there? It's dirty and has sneezy stuff everywhere! Grab KT on the way down please...you and him would feel MUCH better even in yellow!

Melissa - big hugs and stay warm!
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Yucky number for sweet T......hate to hear he is back on pred :sad: What is going on with his asthma? And are you giving him any pepcid to protect his tummy from the pred?

Sounds busy at your place Melissa.....but exciting!
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Hey Sherry! He is on pepcid as well with the prednisone. The inhalers (flovent and albuterol) are not enough to keep his asthma cough away so we are trying the 1/2 a pill every other day route.
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Hi Melissa:

I'm so sorry Tarragon is up so high. Since you are slowly increasing him back up...I wonder if you should take him up to 2.5u tonight? The last green he got would have been 7 cycles ago from this morning so any bounce should
have cleared. He could possibly be bouncing from the blue he got recently but you may have to get him up to a breakthrough dose. I think Sienne's idea is a good one but I have also seen it recommended in other condos
that sometimes you have to take the dose up while they are on pred and then as the pred decreases, the dose can hopefully decrease. Just my thoughts but I hope you get some other opinions, too, on a dosecrease. More eyes
better than just two!

I'm glad to hear the boys are doing well and Mason will be home soon. For a month!!! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

I forgot to mention that I made you Cheesy Babies for the party yesterday. OMG are they good! I was asked for the recipe, can I share?
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Whenever I need to take prednisone, for RA flare ups, I have to increase my insulin. I would think that might be the way to go as Marje and others have mentioned. It must be very tricky with a cat and i have no idea how fast they metabolize the pred. but for me, I see an effect for a couple of days or more depending on the dose. I am sure that is what is causing the higher BG.
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon AMPS 493 Advice??

Do what you need to do to keep Tarragon safe..Going back up the dosing ladder seems to be what you have been advised...You are a great Bean & are helping Tarragon get his asthma under control..
You can always go back up--Hugs & Love from us--Get better T. we lubs you!!
 
Re: 12/12 Tarragon PMPS 332 +2 341

What is it I read on here often - sometime you have to go up to go down? :roll: Hope things settle soon and Mr T is in better numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top