12/12 Simon AMPS 95 +8 103 PMPS 80 +3 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good morning! Simon is great this morning and all P's in place.

The only tough thing so far has been working out my schedule so I can be home to give Simon his insulin at the same time in the evening. It is especially hard at this time of the year when there are so many holiday things to go to in the evening. How has everyone else managed this and what do you do if there is no way you can be home within 2 hours of when he is supposed to get his insulin? My husband knows how to do it, but he will often be with me and there is no one else that I can ask. Just wondering!
 
Re: 12/12 Simon AMPS 95

Took a peek at yesterday, nice!!

Your question is very common. Last year I stayed home for Thanksgiving and Christmas, everyone was understanding, but it still sucked.
This year, we have events planned here at home, and may have to scoot out for at least one drop in visit, Luna's gramma will be here for the Christmas weekend with us, little does she know we may need her to test and shoot :lol: I think I will offer her $50 to do it, lol!

So what can you do? One idea is to see if anyone near you can come by and test and shoot. Offer $$, lol, as an incentive.
Or change your shot time a bit...let's say you shoot at 4am/4pm, plenty of time to make it to dinner...we are on a 5am/5pm schedule cuz of work, but that may just work out for us anyway if we have to be out....or maybe, you never know what might be happening in two weeks with Simon. That'z all I'm saying. :razz:

Have a great day!! You're doing awesome!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/12 Simon AMPS 95

I might be able to ask one of my co-workers who lives near me to stop by when I can't be there. She is a nurse so she doesn't have any problems with shots and she is a cat lover. The problem is will Simon allow her to poke him? I think my family and friends are starting to think I am crazy because I am changing all my plans for my cat, but Simon is my baby so whatever I need to do to keep him healthy is all that counts.
 
Re: 12/12 Simon AMPS 95

If there's a chance someone can be around for that, you may want to introduce Simon to them early on, so he gets use to them.
Prep a sample syringe, feeding instructions, supplies on hand etc...and yea, crazy is common too, but that's ok, we're a little nuts here! :lol:
 
Re: 12/12 Simon AMPS 95

Hi, GG and simon!

i think ronnie pegged it pretty well...i've been out on an injury since before binks started lantus, but have FINALLY found someone that can test and shoot if the need arises.
others may have additional solutions to offer, but i honestly feel that if i didnt have a sub...when i'm back at work managing his FD regimen would be extremely difficult.

as to whether or not simon will allow it...i think there are some cats who absolutely will not...but oftentimes it depends on the attitude of the petsitter.
sienne could probably give you some insight into that situation...cuz gabby is a tortie..and, well...if you know torties...enuf said!

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/12 Simon AMPS 95

If you have a friend who can shoot, especially if they will test, would be ideal. You can also check at your vet's office to see if any of the vet techs cat sit. They would be able to lend a hand (for a price!). Gabby won't let anyone but me test. Since she's usually got her face in her food bowl when my petsitter is here, the shot goes OK. I would set up a sample syringe using a colored liquid as a demo. (You can't pre-load a syringe. It's not recommended with Lantus.)

Just a note -- you mentioned shooting within a 2-hour window. I would encourage you to think in terms of about a 30 min. window. You certainly don't want to shoot 2-hours early since an early shot acts like a dose increase. A shot that's late, acts like a decrease. Either way, given your work schedule, shooting 2 hours from your usual shot time will put you way off schedule and you can only move your time by 30 min. per day.
 
Re: 12/12 Simon AMPS 95

What a nice amps for Simon :mrgreen: He's looking so good Georgia. I agree with Ronnie about the two weeks :lol: No jinx Listen to Sienne she has helped a lot of us :smile: :smile: There are times I will go home and take care of Powder then go back out. It isn't always easy but I think we are so hoping to go OTJ that we try to keep to that 12~12 schedule. My DD will shoot but not test. I'm thinking of trying to get someone I can trust that Powder knows to take him. Even if going out is stressful I know she will test & shoot. Always tough for those of us whose kitties are on insulin. Hope you can work it out and keep your shots regular ... just saying ;-)
 
Re: 12/12 Simon AMPS 95

Georgia and Simon said:
I might be able to ask one of my co-workers who lives near me to stop by when I can't be there. She is a nurse so she doesn't have any problems with shots and she is a cat lover. The problem is will Simon allow her to poke him? I think my family and friends are starting to think I am crazy because I am changing all my plans for my cat, but Simon is my baby so whatever I need to do to keep him healthy is all that counts.

i think we are all on the same boat!

Since Rocket is on a tight schedule for his meds as is (not taking into account now the insulin which makes matters worse)...i need to be home 6am/pm for his phenobarbital...so at first going to visit with the in-laws, DH would go by himself and would say that Rocket needs meds and i had to stay home...eventually they came to realize that this is a LONG term thing...so now they arrange to have early meals (late brunch rather than dinner) so i can come too and we leave early enough to make it home for his meds....they're not so understanding but i stood my ground...and if they ever wanna see me...they have to re-arrange their lives for me too....we always adjusted to everyone else's schedule be it soccer, hockey or whatever else the niece and nephew were doing...so it's fair they do that for us...and DH stood by me....

now with the insulin....well they probably think i've gone to the place of no return....but i don't care what they say...i have no one to come do the testing for Rocket so we'll see how it goes....

point is...and sorry to make it long....you are not alone in how you feel....it is hard juggling it all....i'm sure you'll figure out and if you have your friend to come by and test...well that's a bonus! take advantage of that!!!

good luck!

Simon is looking pretty darn good!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/12 Simon AMPS 95 +8 103

Thanks for your replies and support. It makes it alot easier with what Simon and I are going through knowing there are so many others going through the same thing. My family is just going to have to understand and the good thing is that most of them live in the same city with me. At least I don't have to travel to visit them over the holidays. I like what you said Claudia about always having to be there for the nieces and nephews and working around their schedules. I have also always been the one to do that so I guess it is time everyone tried to work around my schedule.

I think I will see if my friend will come over next week to see how Simon will react to her testing her. I know that she won't have any problems with the insulin because Simon doesn't even know anyone is around if he is eating. I have been giving him the shot when he is eating and it has been so easy.

Thanks again for the great advice!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top