12/12 Silver AMPS 369 PMPS 356 this new dose not doing much :-(

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's okay, it happens. Maybe Silver will catch on soon and be your alarm before the alarm. I left my phone (alarm) in the living room by accident one night and Asia woke me up right on time and said "test feed shoot time, hooman!" ;)

There's a sticky around here somewhere that tells you how to work back to your original shot time, let me go find that for you.
 
There’s no chance I can do that. I’m on such a tight schedule. He can’t get his shot until I’m home from my commute and tonight’s 20 minute drive home from the train station could be a lot longer as we are due 14cm of snow!!

So he got his morning shot at 6:10am and unfortunately can not get his pm shot until 6:30pm at the earliest. Even on a good day there’s slightly longer than 12 hrs between shots. Usually 12 hrs 30 at most. However it is what it is. There is no options on that and we will have to work round it.
 
There’s no chance I can do that. I’m on such a tight schedule. He can’t get his shot until I’m home from my commute and tonight’s 20 minute drive home from the train station could be a lot longer as we are due 14cm of snow!!

So he got his morning shot at 6:10am and unfortunately can not get his pm shot until 6:30pm at the earliest. Even on a good day there’s slightly longer than 12 hrs between shots. Usually 12 hrs 30 at most. However it is what it is. There is no options on that and we will have to work round it.

6:10 and 18:30 are fine, you have a good 15-20 minutes of play there. The rule is that an early shot can act similar to an increase and a late shot a decrease. If the one hour late today schedule works for you, you can keep it. If you were usually shooting at 5:00 in the am and 17:00 in the evening, I'm not sure how that works if you get home later than 17:00, unless that's just today? If it's just today, shoot when you get home and adjust the am shot tomorrow earlier (than what you shot this am) by 30 minutes, so 5:30, and do the same the next morning and you will be back to 5:00. But the gist is, if you wanted to get back to the schedule you had prior to the late start today, you would move back 15 minutes each shot time until you got there or 30 minutes at one shot time, once a day until you got there.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-10-silver-amps-344-pmps-247-2-347-4-306.187818/

Bummed. First a fur shot a couple days ago. Now I overslept and he was an hour late. Just can’t get him into the blues. I’m the one singing the blues this morning.
It happens. Not big deal, especially with high numbers. You can cut short the 12 hours with 1 hour tonight and you are even. Or stay longer an hour, it depends of the situation. We did that lots of times.
The timing will have to get a bit tighter when he's on low BG numbers, though.
 
Last edited:
It happens. Not big deal, especially with high numbers. You can cut short the 12 hours with 1 hour tonight and you are even. Or stay longer an hour, it depends of the situation. We did that lots of times.
The timing will have to get a bit tighter when he's on low BG numbers, though.
I just wish I would start to see those low numbers. Last time he was OTJ in just ten days of following the SLGS method (after taking a couple weeks to pluck up the nerve to ask the vet to give me ten days to try it and if it didn't work I would go back to her way). This time round I was hoping for a second remission but now I'll just be happy to see blues! Tight timing is exceptionally difficult with my schedule. Normally I am home at 6:10 pm for his shot - but the snowstorm delayed my drive home and I was 20 mins late.
 
Sorry about the snow and the stinky pinkies. :bighug: Our experience here is that remission the second time is harder. You are doing a great job with Silver and you will see better numbers. Hang in there.
 
Sorry about the snow and the stinky pinkies. :bighug: Our experience here is that remission the second time is harder. You are doing a great job with Silver and you will see better numbers. Hang in there.
Thanks so much. I’m worried about what to do tomorrow. Checked the weather and I’m going to have to take the bus to the train station. Therefore I have to leave at 6:15pm and won’t make it back until 6:45pm. His shot time is 6/6. So am so stuck. Do I shoot 10 mins late at 6:10 before I leave and then be 34 mins late (minimum because that’s if the bus isn’t delayed by snow which is highly likely). I can’t seem to catch a break here.
 
Shoot at 6:00 and 18:45, it will be okay. Know that it might act like a decrease (but it isn't, and it won't last, don't worry). You're doing the very best you can, yes, dosing at as close to 12 hour intervals as possible is ideal, but you have to work it around your life right now. It is what it is and don't beat yourself up about it, Silver is a strong kitty. :cat:

As far as pinks go, that was Asia's favorite color for a long time! I hated it. It was hard to see. It took a couple of months to get her sorted out and not be in pink (or worse) most of the time. Silver will get sorted out, waiting is the hardest part. :bighug:
 
Shoot at 6:00 and 18:45, it will be okay. Know that it might act like a decrease (but it isn't, and it won't last, don't worry). You're doing the very best you can, yes, dosing at as close to 12 hour intervals as possible is ideal, but you have to work it around your life right now. It is what it is and don't beat yourself up about it, Silver is a strong kitty. :cat:

As far as pinks go, that was Asia's favorite color for a long time! I hated it. It was hard to see. It took a couple of months to get her sorted out and not be in pink (or worse) most of the time. Silver will get sorted out, waiting is the hardest part. :bighug:
Thank you. Your encouragement makes a huge difference. I really do hope he will get better. His weight loss and hunger scare me but he still plays and purrs happily. Wakes me up by sleeping on my pillow and nearly suffocating me as I am allergic to him.
 
Thank you. Your encouragement makes a huge difference. I really do hope he will get better. His weight loss and hunger scare me but he still plays and purrs happily. Wakes me up by sleeping on my pillow and nearly suffocating me as I am allergic to him.

He can't make proper use of his food right, as his numbers go down, that will change. Asia lost some weight too and gained it back in short order (and now being at normal weight has exasperated her arthritis, but that's another story). I'm allergic to cats as well, not as bad as some people, but if I get fur in the face, I'm an itchy, stuffy mess. Never stopped me from having cats though! :p

I found it helpful early on (and still do) to celebrate the good things, like you said, playing, purring, heck, I celebrate when Asia attempts to groom herself because she hasn't done in over a year! I keep it in my notes at home and try to put it on my spreadsheet. More than anything, it reminds me she is not her numbers. Slowly, some things have come back that she hasn't done in awhile and that really makes me happy. Sometimes she does those things when she is in green, yes, but sometimes she's in pinks or higher numbers. I think once they start trending down, the results are cumulative and carry them through all the bouncing and a few hours in yucky colors, or so has been my experience anyway. :bighug:
 
I’ve been staring at the spreadsheet and I wish I could understand what was going on early in November right after I got back. At 0.25 he was green amps. Seemed to bounce to red at pmps then yellow all next day. Then nothing but pinks. I’m so worried I’ve overshot the dose and now I can’t get good numbers. The last three increases still keeping him in pinks.
 
He can't make proper use of his food right, as his numbers go down, that will change. Asia lost some weight too and gained it back in short order (and now being at normal weight has exasperated her arthritis, but that's another story). I'm allergic to cats as well, not as bad as some people, but if I get fur in the face, I'm an itchy, stuffy mess. Never stopped me from having cats though! :p

I found it helpful early on (and still do) to celebrate the good things, like you said, playing, purring, heck, I celebrate when Asia attempts to groom herself because she hasn't done in over a year! I keep it in my notes at home and try to put it on my spreadsheet. More than anything, it reminds me she is not her numbers. Slowly, some things have come back that she hasn't done in awhile and that really makes me happy. Sometimes she does those things when she is in green, yes, but sometimes she's in pinks or higher numbers. I think once they start trending down, the results are cumulative and carry them through all the bouncing and a few hours in yucky colors, or so has been my experience anyway. :bighug:
Yes as soon as they get nice lows in blue and green then they bounce aaaaahhhhh!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top