12/12 Sarge AMPS 372 +2 325 +10.5 353 PMPS 389

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
Hoorah for Friday! Happy nearly weekend all. Sarge is starting the day in the pink and I think we are spending more time there overnight too. This weekend would be a good time to do a dose increase so I'm thinking about it. Curious thing is the litter box still looks pretty good overnight so maybe this high is better than his highs in the past. We put him on the postage scale last night and he is maintaining his weight. Yeah!

12/10 condo
 
Re: 12/12 Sarge AMPS 372

great report on Sarge! He is more than his numbers and it's great to hear he's holding his weight and not flooding the litter box.

I think i'd try to get some day nadir checks before increasing his dose. Still looking at that 41. I think it's also possible he saw some lower numbers in the day cycles of 12/8 and 12/9. Hard to say, but this post Should I increase the Dose? would suggest being sure of how low the dose is taking him before you increase.
 
Re: 12/12 Sarge AMPS 372

Thanks for the help Julie! Your timing was perfect too. I was just "doing the math" on dosages. I am going to try to catch him mid-cycle and see what's up. I am thinking he is doing better during the day than it seems. In the last week or so the litter box hasn't been nearly as wet.
 
Re: 12/12 Sarge AMPS 372

Alison, I just went back and re-read the condos for 12/8 and 12/7. I noticed that when you raised the dose on 12/8 he was only on his 3rd cycle after the 41 and was still in a bounce. He probably cleared that bounce after the increased dose in the morning cycle of 12/7. The reason this is jumping out at me is that we've just had some discussions about increasing doses on a bounce & after green nadirs and the cat becoming overdosed. That's recently happened to Booger and Tink. The overdose can then increases the BGs and glucose toxicity, which cause a need for more insulin to bring the BGs back down.

I think rather than increasing the dose just yet, I would concentrate on feeding the curve as you were contemplating doing on 12/7. There is a great post that Jill wrote a while ago about the whys and hows of that. Take a look here and scroll down to the "interesting discussions" area and look for "feeding the curve - Tashie." Take a peek there and see if some of that would be helpful to you.

Let's see if others have some thoughts about it. I could be wrong, but that's what i'm thinking.
 
Re: 12/12 Sarge AMPS 372 +2 325 PMPS 389

So far Sarge has been high enough I haven't pulled out much higher carb food but I have been reading up on curve feeding. I have cat food coming out of my ears right now beacause I have no clue what will work. On call we have 3, 4, 5, 6% and several high carb to choose from! Which means when we travel in a week, five 3% cases and two mixed cases of cat food are coming with us...yikes :) I am pretty sure the three cats with their litter box, water fountain, canned food, timed feeders, fluid set, diffusers, testing supplies and insulin cooler will have more baggage than us! Hehe.
 
I agree with Julie. It does look like you might have increased a little early after than 41. My rule of thumb is that if a dose is getting Neko into the 70's or lower, I'll hold that dose for a while and see what she does with it. Paws crossed Sarge can give you a picture of what he's doing on this dose this weekend.

For feeding the curve, some people use a higher carb, but still low carb food, such as an 8-9% food. Not that you need more to pack. :lol: We'll just do a day trip on Christmas, and I'm pretty sure Neko has more luggage than us. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top