12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 +1 98 +2 63 +3 86 +4 111 +6 167 :-/

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeysMom

Member Since 2011
AMPS 212. I was hoping for blue, but that's not so bad. Now if Mikey can give me a nice gentle curve today so I can got out for a couple hours later, that would be a good Monday!
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey AMPS 212...Hoping for another good day.

That's very close to blue! Hey Mikey, how about surfing blue today? Mamabean needs a few hours off.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey AMPS 212...Hoping for another good day.

+1 223

I was so worried last night because I got up to use the bathroom and MIkey didn't come running like he always does (he LOVES running water and figures if I go in the bathroom, I might turn it on for him). I found him sleeping on the kitty tower. Of course I worried over him, because it wasn't typical Mikey. Then I realized that he was probably sleeping because he's not so thirsty. He came running as always at breakfast time. Maybe Mommy needs to lighten up...

I did the same thing earlier yesterday, too. Since he's been having those early drops and was at 98, I had to exercise some self control not to test him every 2 minutes. He was sleeping on the couch, so I was worried about him...and then I realized that both the civvies and the dog were also very happily napping as well. Note to self: napping at naptime doesn't mean he's lethargic. It means he's a CAT.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey AMPS 212 +1 223 +2 152 Hoping for a good day

Lookin' great! I certainly think you should go out and do some non-diabetes things today. Mikey will be fine.

Have a good one,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Have you considered getting a kitty fountain for Mikey? He might like one. Rusty has no interest in drinking water, but Stu (our GA diabetic kitty) loved the fountain. They have little motors that keep the water circulating.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey AMPS 212 +1 223 +2 152 Hoping for a good day

Looking very good! :thumbup :thumbup Remember, Mikey is still filling his shed. Ella is right, you need to go out and get reacquainted w/ the rest of the world.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey AMPS 212 +1 223 +2 152 Hoping for a good day

Looking very good so far!!

This "Dear Mommy" post was written by Laura/Rainbow some time ago. I think you'll agree with it and find it's perspective reassuring.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey AMPS 212 +1 223 +2 152 Hoping for a good day

+4 158 Definitely not what I hoped for, but at least it's blue.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey AMPS 212 +2 152 +4 158 Not too bad

+6 185 Looks like a flatter curve today. I think I'll reduce the HC with his PS meal just a little and see if we can get in the green tonight. Just not too far in the green. I really want to hold this dose for at least a week (and I don't think an increase is in order yet, and not as a last resort given Mikey's history)

How do I know he's feeling better? When I was brushing my teeth this morning, instead of trying to drink the well dry, Mikey decided what would be really cool would be to try and rip the drawstring of my PJ pants. To anyone else, that's no big thing...but I know you all understand that to us, it is!
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey AMPS 212 +4 158 +6 185 Where's the green, Mi

Hi Amy

Oh isn't that green so addictive?? :lol: :lol: :lol: This is a beautiful curve for him as he adjusts to his new dose. He's doing great and wow....you sound like a new bean!!! Good for you!! We're all so proud of you.
I love how you are thinking about the food and deciding what might be the best way to manage his curve and also the thoughts about letting him settle in a bit.

I hope you get a chance to get out today....you deserve it.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey AMPS 212 +4 158 +6 185 Where's the green, Mi

+11 238. Worst in a few days...We'll try a little less gravy with the PS tonight!
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey AMPS 212 +11 238 Where's the green, Mikey?

PMPS 217, so a little dip at the end. I'd like numbers just a bit lower, but these are not terrible and should pose little danger of ketones, correct? Mikey is clearly feeling pretty darn good, so I'm hoping we can keep the dose nice and low and the cat's BG likewise!

And Momma did get out for the afternoon...the 1-hour photo place took 5 hours!
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 Let's have another good night, Mik

+1 98 When I said green, Mikey, that wasn't exactly what I meant... Laced second dinner with just a little more gravy to hopefully slow down the skid. We can't cut the dose any more!
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 +1 98 Not what I meant by green!

Come on Mikey, make good use of those fuds. Boy, does he like to drop at +2! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 +1 98 Not what I meant by green!

Yikes.....and we thought we had some other divers in LL. Did you retest just to make sure?
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 +1 98 Not what I meant by green!

I was going to ask what Marje did. Sometimes, when you get a surprise, it's a bad strip or a wonky test.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 +1 98 Not what I meant by green!

+2 is 63, so I don't think it was a bad test. I think the problem is he has that second dip at the end of the cycle that overlaps into the next one. I gave a good spoonful of gravy on his third dinner. I can't go any lower of a dose, so hopefully it can be controlled by feeding more HC st PS meal. UGH!

At least I can pretty much pinpoint his nadir at around +4, though, so as long as he's coming back up by +5, he should be fine from there on out.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 +1 98 +2 63 Not what I meant by gr

And to think that I was going to try and space tests out a bit if his +1 looked like the last few...RATS!

+2.5 is 73, so the goodies must be kicking in.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 +1 98 +2 63 Not what I meant by gr

+3 86...on the up. I'm definitely feeling more optimistic that we can control this with food, but I wish there was a way to get a later nadir. If he's getting low at +2 and I have to feed him a bit, it starts rising from that, and then after +4, he's rising again anyway.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 +1 98 +2 63 +3 86 Frustrating!

+4 111. Not terrible for this point in the cycle, and he'll go up from here. We'll grab one more before bed. I sure wish he'd have more predictable cycles so I wasn't going through test strips like water! SO expensive!
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 +1 98 +2 63 +3 86 Frustrating!

Kazi was on a droplet that was left in the syringe for a long time - I would measure out a unit to work out any air bubbles and then dial down so that my plunger was even with the baseline. Even that proved to be too much at one point... so I would then push out the insulin from the baseline dose and 'suck' half of that back into the syringe. Crazy that such a little bit of insulin made such a difference, but it did! Without it she was in the 200s...with it nice and low at 120 or so at PS.
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 +1 98 +2 63 +3 86 +4 111 Frustrati

I know, it really is! I practiced drawing the .1 forever in order to get the right amount consistently...2 tiny drops. I think Mikey's problem is that he tends to have a second drop at +11 or so and it overlaps with the next dose because he nadirs so early. I wish there was a way to make that happen later!
 
Re: 12/12 Mikey PMPS 217 +1 98 +2 63 +3 86 +4 111 Frustrati

+6 167 and we are going to bed! Still in the blue but headed up...yuck. Decreasing the HC with PS didn't work, so going to pop that up again. It can't hurt him if he needs it for the insulin to work on, right? I hate to have to give it, but he does need the teeny dose he gets...and I can't give him much less!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top