12/12~Luna PMPS 221,+3/113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ronnie & Luna

Member Since 2009
Tues Dec 7th condo

good morning LL ~O)
just an update from our week.

WCR: Luna is doing well. Eating pretty good, same as usual. All P's in there.
Yesterday: AMPS 174 green midday, PMPS 169 blue evening

Dose: still on a drop, had some realization that we began with a skiiny drop rather than the fat, so we cleared that up with the correct sample syringe (it really does do wonders to practice) and we have a consistent Fat Fat drop going on now.
Was considering raising dose, but saw some nice greens yesterday mid cycle. Currently on 14 cycles, give or take, skinny's and Fat Fat drops. Preshots coming down to blues, will hold da dose unless otherwise suggested.

Vetty updates: Still waiting on final results of the urinalysis, according to previous results, 24 hrs, no growth, 48 hrs, no growth...maybe monday will have the last result...indicating no sign of UTI, but ok then, we wait.
Had a chat with vet friday nite, got copies of his bloodwork, labs have been added to my siggy.
Some confusion over ALT and WBC (white cells specifically) which is which, LO and HIGH, which is it? Need to clear that up with more vetty chats this week.
More chatting about dental cleaning, aiming for February. Luna has the biggy T4 bloodwork scheduled for Jan 22/11.

So that's about it, Luna is continuing to fix up his wagon so we can ship him off again :lol:
Have a great Sunday and a good week everyone!
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187

G'morning guys,
It sounds like Luna is just wheeling along in that rental wagon; it's always good to eliminate possible problems, so let's see what the rest of the results show.
I am voting for a crappy tooth and that rental wagon can be returned soon.

Adding:
I should have looked at the labs before, duh.

The ALT may be stated as 183 HI but if you look at the previous, it was 341 HI, so it's better than before, yes?

I can comment on the lipemia - I have to fast Shadoe for all or most of her b/w because she is likely going to show some ... fat ... she's a chunky monkey I guess. Anyways, it interferes with some test results, and for Shadoe's IAA test sheet it has the following note:
Collection Protocol
Avoid hemolysis or lipemia.

You can look up lipemia online for more on it, but all I do is fast Shadoe before her tests to avoid it. Ollie never shows any on his b/w so I fast him for maybe 4hrs, where Shadoe is overnite if possible.
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187

Hi Roni I was wondering how you and Luna were doing this week and if the vet had come up with anything. His labs look really good. Even though ALT is elevated it has improved a lot. I think it can be elevated with fatty liver but can't say why it's up. His WBC's are perfectly normal. That result certainly rules out a major infection anywhere which is great. It doesn't give a simple answer for this blip in his recovery unfortunately. Did he do a UA? Maybe he had WBC's in his urine idk.
It's perplexing as to why this FD gets them. I still don't have an answer. Powder was never ill that I was aware of or overweight. I hope you can get an answer. I think we all feel if I just knew why I could keep it from happening :?
Mannie seems to be doing better and you caught it fast. He seems to be doing well on a fat drop :-D I hope he is off very soon and gets back to the falls. You're an awesome Mamabean going through all that snow to get him to the vet. He's very loved. cat_pet_icon Have a great day.
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187

you people get up awfully early...

don't you think Luna rates at least a rental Escalade or limo?

(sorry...don't have anything of value to offer but a little humor)
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187

I can comment on the lipemia - I have to fast Shadoe for all or most of her b/w because she is likely going to show some ... fat ... she's a chunky monkey I guess. Anyways, it interferes with some test results, and for Shadoe's IAA test sheet it has the following note:
Collection Protocol
Avoid hemolysis or lipemia.

You can look up lipemia online for more on it, but all I do is fast Shadoe before her tests to avoid it. Ollie never shows any on his b/w so I fast him for maybe 4hrs, where Shadoe is overnite if possible.

thanks Gayle, he actually didn't even eat much at all while he was there for the day. Way too stressed they said.
I wonder if the Wellness fat count has something to do with it. He only had a little bit for breakfast that day.


Did he do a UA? Maybe he had WBC's in his urine idk.
Kathy what's a UA? Urine Analysis?
They did a C&S, and urinalysis and urine collection by cystocentesis.

lol, humour works just fine Celi :lol:
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187

So that's about it, Luna is continuing to fix up his wagon so we can ship him off again
Have a great Sunday and a good week everyone!

Huh! I'm dense - you mean his carrier to visit Vetty again! Luna boy sounds like he's doing good with such a good Bean! I think he will be back at the Falls soon. Take care and have a nice day! Would love to see a pic of you and Luna on the bike with the snow in the background. I can't remember when I've seen real snow. :lol:
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187

Morning Ronnie and Luna! Nice blue AMPS!
How is Luna taking to the "old" routine Ronnie? Is he accepting the shots and tests okay?
Hope you all enjoy your Sunday....it feels so weird seeing a condo for you guys... :sad:
Hey, it feels weird to me to have to post a condo for Raja!!!
(I never really realized that the road to the Falls is such a busy two-way street.....) :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187

Okay, after all this time, I do not know what one means by a "fat" dose or a "skinny dose." Can someone please enlighten me?

Ronnie - I too think that Luna is going to be back at the falls soon. Sounds like he is doing well. Good to see this update.

Judy & Jake
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187

drjsiems said:
Okay, after all this time, I do not know what one means by a "fat" dose or a "skinny dose." Can someone please enlighten me?

Ronnie - I too think that Luna is going to be back at the falls soon. Sounds like he is doing well. Good to see this update.

Judy & Jake
As I understand it: each line on a syringe has a finite width; you can draw to the top edge of the line, the middle of the line, or the bottom edge of the line. Top edge of the line would be a skinny dose, bottom edge would be a fat dose...? I may not be exactly right here as we've never needed to use micro-adjustments - but that's the general principle...!
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187/+3/133

FYI, for those wondering what the heck I'm doing
here is my scientific thoughts.... :-D
someinsulin-1.jpg


from the New to the Group stickie...pretty much played around with the sample syringes, squeezing out drops from fat to skinny's....
let's say this "O" is a fat drop, this is a FAT FAT "O" to me anyway, lol, and this "o" is a skinny...you see the last line on the syringe? we are just a little tad over it, and I get a FAT FAT drop as opposed to a little (skinny) drop.


01unit-1.jpg


this is the a 0.01 dose, just under the last line., that will be our next dose if Luna has his way.

Can you say over-analyzing? :lol:

Yes, Luna is taking testing well, sits still, comes to the test area, holds still for the shot, very co-operative.
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187

Ronnie,
i looked at the lab report and the lipemia at +1 is ok...it's not bad...it's nothing to worry about...
the ALT is elevated which mean the liver...you may want to if not already start giving liver supplements like S-Adenosyl or SAMe...i give it to Rocket daily as he always shows elevated ALT but that is from the phenobarbital which is processed thru the liver...
the HCT is within range so Luna is not anemic...you don't want the HCT to go below 29....the CRE and BUN show slight dehydration but maybe from everything else that's going on....everything else looks fine to me....

if you look at Rocket's Old SS and click on the tab for Lab Report you will get an idea that Luna's labs are ok...

sorry i can't be of no further help....hope Luna surfs the greens for you today!
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187, +3/133, +4.5/70

thank u Claudia for your thoughts!!
Vet did mention something about the liver in passing, but nothing conclusive., she did put emphasizes on the fact that he was soooo stressed and barely ate, and that may of attributed to some of the results.

Sienne: no not yet for abs....clamavox/amox, or the other one that starts with a C that is common around here (not convenia) the other one, cant remember the name, again to tie him over til february......I'm not liking that idea after seeing his numbers this weekend, and physically normal.

did I mention the vet tech the other day suggested Hills dental kibble to help his teeth along til the dental cleaning in February?
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187, +3/133, +4.5/70

Okay, I used "fat" and "skinny" doses regulating Jake - only I called these doses, e.g. 1 unit plus a "doot" or perhaps 1/2 unit minus a "doot." I got that term from a veterinarian, and it always worked for me when Jake needed just a "doot" less or a "doot" more than a particular amount of insulin. Mission was generally accomplished by this "unscientific" method.

Judy & Jake
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187, +3/133, +4.5/70

Morning all!, and greetings from the PNW. I can't offer any insights on any of that - except to day - nice numbers! love the greens, and have a great day guys.
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187, +3/133, +4.5/70

I'd get cross-eyed trying to gauge those "drops"!! (And I can see really well up close without my glasses.) Hi Ronnie!! Hi Luna!!
I see that many here know how to interpret Luna's labs, and that's good for you because now you can have an "informed" discussion with the vet. So glad to hear that Luna is doing well and getting green at mid cycle. Way to go, Luna!
Have a good week and I hope that all will be figured out soon.

Rusty sends love (it's been 2 weeks since he traveled from Toronto to Kingston in Linda Bear Man's car and sat in your lap the whole time).
:YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187, +3/133, +4.5/70, +5/66

Nice greens for Luna. He must like that fat drop! I hope the final results will tell you what's going on or maybe that nothing's going on. I hope Luna continues to do so well!
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187, +3/133, +4.5/70, +5/66

Nice numbers for Luna today.
Ronnie, I am going to have a look at max's last bw amd check his ALT numbers.
With Mx's history, alarms go off in my head when there is anything that has to do
with the liver values.

I have given Max liver support in the recent past, like Sam-E, denysol and hepato support.
Maybe you should ask your vet about these.

Hope you are having a great day.
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187, +3/133, +4.5/70, +5/66

Great numbers for Luna....all this talk about skinny, fat fat, etc makes me glad (I think) that I don't have to worry about that small of a dose yet! Glad it's all working out for you guys though. Hope that wagon gets fixed soon! ;-)
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187, +3/133, +4.5/70, +5/66

hi guys, just a quickee update, and back to chores. Some day off eh?
we were suppose to babysit DBF's nephew and niece, but I guess not!

Ann: I haven't started the brushing yet, have to look for one of those tiny brushes, they were out of samples at the clinic...I was planning to use the Virbac CET toothpaste, as suggested by Dr Lisa in one of the dental threads over in health. I think Luna may be ok with this, he loves grooming, brushings, and nail clippings are a breeze...lol, yea, we'll see about that right?
Thanks for the link Ann!

Randi, try not to panic k? I know it's easier said than done - wait a minute, I was panicking too :lol:

Well, Luna lost his greens this afternoon, after the +5, we had +6.5/86, a little snack, he was hungry, then just a little while ago, +9/244 he is a yellow kitty flip_cat SS updated, thank you all for your support and visits!!

lol @ Pamela, we're gonna paint it purple :lol:
 
Re: 12/12~Luna AMPS 187, +3/133, +4.5/70

Ronnie & Luna said:
thank u Claudia for your thoughts!!
Vet did mention something about the liver in passing, but nothing conclusive., she did put emphasizes on the fact that he was soooo stressed and barely ate, and that may of attributed to some of the results.
Ronnie,
if you are to compare every lab report you've gotten previously Luna most likely was stressed each and every time...vets tend to dismiss the AGING factor in pets sometimes....Rocket's vet always dismisses the ALT even though Rocket is on supplements he is still a lil high and he is always stressed there too....not eating much wouldn't bring those ALT levels high...just a thought....don't dismiss it...that's all....
 
Dont fret dear Ronnie, Luna will soon surprise you & be back at the Falls real soon...Just a Blip!
Knowing what a great bean you are, I know he will be well cared for!--
Moonie was on those drops of juice the first year we were here, but I missed the window to seeif she could ever be otj...
Well, you know the story!
Hope the tests show something real simple & quickly fixable!

Could you send me the link to photos of how to shoot a micro dose, as the old one by Steve & Jock seems to have disappeared??? Just put it in my condo & I'll be forever grateful!
I have forgotten after all this time & havent shot this low of a dose for a long time--Plus the eyes are going @-) @-) @-)
We Lubs you, Roni & Moonie
 
Whoa! What did I miss Ronnie?!? Ronnie, if you need me DM me. I'm working from home now, so I am always around if you need back up for Luna Kitty...unless it snows bad lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top