12/12 Casanova PMPS 284 +5 259

Status
Not open for further replies.

casanovasmom

Member Since 2010
Good morning. Still high numbers but I'm going to take your advice and shoot 4 units again. I just want those numbers to come down again. I'm off today so hoping to get in a bunch of tests to see what his earlier in the day numbers look like.
Yesterdays info viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31840

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 12/12 Casanova AMPS 300

I think you have room to increase to 4.25u. Just do some monitoring the next several cycles to see how the dose is going.
 
Re: 12/12 Casanova AMPS 300 +3 298

I had already shot this morning before getting the dose increase advice so we're still at 4 units. Can anyone tell me what his consistent higher numbers the last couple of days mean? There probably isn't a clear cut answer but I'm confused about why at first his numbers were so much better. Is a dose increase the solution????? I'm soooo confused!! :sad:
 
Re: 12/12 Casanova AMPS 300 +3 298

In all likelihood, the previously lower numbers you were seeing were due to the 8.0u you were shooting. That was too much insulin. By dropping the dose, you were almost starting over. This is causing Casanova's numbers to be higher but you'll be able to work the dose up in a safe manner. It will also mean you won't miss what could be an ideal dose. If numbers are running higher than a normal range, you want to increase dose.

This is from the Tilly Protocol -- what we base our dosing guidelines on.
Tilly Protocol said:
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top