12-12-17-Jones - AMPS 279 - It has been a year!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
It was a year ago today that I first posted here. JeffJ was the first one to respond I think. Still took me a month to get with the program and start to understand anything. I was just re-reading some old posts. Man I don't know how @Wendy&Neko and @Doodles & Karen put up with me! Thanks to everyone here. I may have killed him if it wasn't for this board.

We had some great success on the FD front until lately. Now most days he just leaves me confused. He bounces like crazy and does some big dives then bounces right back. Not sure if the dose is too high or too low. I have moved the post all over the place and probably too quickly or not quickly enough?:confused: I would like to see some lower BG numbers but with the prednisolone...I think this dance is a tango and it will not get much easier.

Jones is doing ok though. Putting on weight, though he still looks weird as he a skinny butt and head due to the muscle atrophy that occurred before we got the IBD and FD under control. It never returned and I guess with the pred - the head muscle tends to disappear any way. Seems pretty content otherwise. Outside of those two big scares (the presumed clot and the breathing issue three months ago) he is holding is own.

Thanks again everyone!

Hope everyone has a great day.

PS @Noah & me - you always provide a smile when needed!:bighug:
 
Time flies when you're having fun :rolleyes: Glad to hear Jonesy is feeling good which matters the most. Pred makes it more difficult but think you're handling everything accordingly. You should've seen some of my earlier posts :p:p:p not even sure they got any better.

Anniversary's here are bitter sweet but congrats on 1 year!
 
Kind of intersesting doing a quick scroll through the SS. Sure glad you got rid of those pink/reds of the beginning of the year! :eek: He's looking so much better and I'm happy to hear he's feeling better too. Heart scares are hard on the bean. :bighug: The dance is hard enough to do without balancing all the extra conditions meds. Good job Tracey!

I think he could use a touch more insulin to flatten him out a bit. Is he getting a meal at around +3 to try to limit any drops? Don't know how you feel about lowering the reduction point just a tiny bit. You do test quite a bit. Just wondering if that might help him get more green/low blue time, and hence less bouncy bouncy.
 
Is he getting a meal at around +3 to try to limit any drops?

He does free feed, but I can tell you by observations - he usually goes in for a snack around the +2.5 to +3.5 mark. He will snack usually right up to +6 and then will not eat again till around +10. That +10 may be causing some food influenced numbers but I pick up the food on the weekend before PMPS and the results seem to be the same.

I have lowered the reduction point to 70, but then I thought is caused more severe bouncing. So thought seeing if I lowered the dose after a below 90 if it would be better. Maybe I am seeing that wrong though. He seems so sensitive since 8/18 when I was in the ER and they gave the shot without the pred and he was low for so long.

I worry about consistency as well. Some days the plunge length seems shorter than others. I don't use calipers just the ruler but even that seems to have some issues to the process. This small of dose it getting tricky. It seems like 2 drops can make a big difference.

I have thought of sticking to the F0.1 and getting some calipers. Then see how he does. And not to change unless he drops below 60. I have not had to do much intervention and have probably over steered a bit the last few times.

I figured give him this week and see where he goes. I had a few screw ups with timing on shots and meds lately, so was going to let that clear out.
 
Tracey, do you remember when we both became "Well Known" around the same time?
I felt truly blessed. o_O Yes, well known for just kinda' rubbing some people the wrong way. :banghead:
"Did he just say that?" :eek:
 
Didn't that used to be on our avatars? I know it's in profiles.
You don't remember Tracey? We were jumping up and down (for 2 minutes) like we got Barbie's Country Camper and Skipper was trapped under the back wheels.
That was when I showed you how to do this...
That Dickson is so funny, and handsome too!
 
This stuff is really getting hard to find. May I speak with the manager? Service here is just awful!
001haggis.JPG
 
No Tracey, get your mind out of the gutter.
placenta_help001.JPG placenta_helper002.JPG
 

Attachments

  • placenta_help001.JPG
    placenta_help001.JPG
    11 KB · Views: 53
  • placenta_helper002.JPG
    placenta_helper002.JPG
    14.4 KB · Views: 54
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top