12/11 Zorro (need help with dosing) AMPS 336, +2 353, +6 434. PMPS 461, +2 392

Xara Kakarantza

Member Since 2020
Hello again!! I have started lantus 1u, from Sunday and I am today on the 5th day. I think our numbers are rising and I do not understand why. Is normal?
How do I proceed? Should I increase the dose next Sunday?
 
Hi:) Here is your last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/21-8-zorro-amps-422-2-389-6-342-pmps-477-2-501.239701/
It helps to include the link, both for continuity and easy access to information.

I don't have enough experience to help with dosing. Just wanted to say hi and add the link. Looking at your SS, it does look like Zoro could use more insulin. But that is just me musing. Wait for someone to help you before you decide to increase.

May I make a suggestion? Would you mind editing your title so it includes Zoro's name? "12/11 Zoro AMPS 336....etc" Sometimes when kitty's name isn't in there, your thread can get overlooked.

Also, if you want to attract extra attention, also include your question in the title "? 12/11 Zoro AMPS 336, +2 353...etc..need help with dosing".

Have a wonderful night!:bighug:
 
I'm still a beginner and I make mistakes.:bookworm:
Sorry, I just fixed it!!
Thanks a lot for the tips !! I also see that he definitely wants a higher dose and I should probably increase it by 0.25u.
I will wait for them to answer me so that I can be sure to move on.
Thanks again for your answer :):)
 
Don't apologize! You'll get the hang. We all were new and we all did the same things. Trust me. :)

One last thing then....Would you please add SLGS to your signature? I see it on your ss but it should be in your signature too. Again, it's really just about easy access to the information for the busy people trying to help us all.:bighug: Sorry to be a pain.

With SLGS, you hold a dose for 7 days and do a curve before increasing.
 
I will make the correction in the signature, you are right !!
Thank you very much for giving me advice !!! :bighug:
As I understood, tomorrow Saturday, I will have to measure every 2 hours (sugar curve) to see how I will proceed on Sunday.
If the nadir is greater than 150mg, I will increase by 0.25 I guess..
 
You're very welcome.:bighug: Thank you for adding it to your signature.

That's exactly right. Measure every two hours and record the numbers. Adjust the dose based on the nadir. If Zoro's nadir is more than 150 mg/dl, and it sure looks like it will be but we don't know for sure, then his new dose would become 1.25U on Sunday morning.

If you feel unsure what to do for any reason, then please post for help. A lot of people post a thread every day with their cats' numbers in them. That way, people can get to know your cat and help you whenever you need help. :bighug:
 
Oh and now that you know what to do, you can remove the question from your title. If you have the same question tomorrow, you'd post the question in your new thread for tomorrow.
 
I removed the question from the title and will be back tomorrow or Sunday if I need further help.
Thanks Again you are very supportive
 
Hi Xara, is there a reason you are following SLGS and not TR? You are feeding Zoro canned food, right? And you are testing enough to follow TR.

TR allows for faster dose increases which could get Zoro to his ideal dose faster. Having him stay in high numbers for longer, could lead to glucose toxicity.

As I understood, tomorrow Saturday, I will have to measure every 2 hours (sugar curve) to see how I will proceed on Sunday.
You can also do a test once every 3 hours for 18 hours. Will give you a good idea of how he fares in the day and night, since many cats go lower at night.
 
How do I proceed? Should I increase the dose next Sunday?
With SLGS, you hold the dose a week, so you still have one more day to go. With the amount of testing you are doing, you could probably forgo the curve, unless you want to. If you don't see anything below 150 by Sunday, increase then.
I think our numbers are rising and I do not understand why. Is normal?
Absolutely normal. Sometimes kitties have a marked reaction to starting insulin (that was the blue you saw), but it goes away.
 
Hello again!!
It feeds exclusively with canned Leonardo and Βozita and a little Ιntegra (diabetes), for a month now, steadily! I feed every 2 hours for a while, day and night, except for the last 2 hours before each measurement +12. At night he wakes me up alone, for feeding!
I do not have the ability to do more measurements as it is not very cooperative. And the ones I take are with a lot of pressure from me to him and I understand that I can not follow TR, because I can not have measurement often!
Tomorrow Sunday, I will increase to 0.25u and we will be in touch!
I am still new to this and I feel quite insecure and afraid.
Thank you very much for your prompt answers, you make me feel much better!:bighug::)

Last question!!
I have the pen and I draw from there every day. I have it out of the fridge, as stated in the package leaflet!
It states that it can be left out of the refrigerator, for use for up to 30 days. Much of the insulin will eventually be discarded because it is a large amount compared to what I use per month!
How do you manage it?
 
Last edited:
Last question!!
I have the pen and I draw from there every day. I have it out of the fridge, as stated in the package leaflet!
It states that it can be left out of the refrigerator, for use for up to 30 days. Much of the insulin will eventually be discarded because it is a large amount compared to what I use per month!
How do you manage it?
Most of us store the insulin in the fridge (on a shelf, not the door) and use pens down to the last drop (much longer than the manufacturer says). There is a great sticky here on Insulin Handling. I've been using my pen since August with no issues. Hope that helps!
 
Understood! !
So can I put the insulin I have out of the fridge for six days and use it, back in the fridge permanently or not?
 
Understood! !
So can I put the insulin I have out of the fridge for six days and use it, back in the fridge permanently or not?
I would start storing it in the fridge - so just take it out to dose in the AM, put it back, take it out to dose in the PM, then put it back.
 
I do not have the ability to do more measurements as it is not very cooperative. And the ones I take are with a lot of pressure from me to him and I understand that I can not follow TR, because I can not have measurement often!

You already test enough for TR. You are already doing 1 pre-shot test and 2 mid-cycle tests. With TR, you can increase the dose every 3 days.

Feel free to ask as many questions as you want. We are here to help! :bighug:
 
I saw in other posts and spreadsheets How In TR the sugar drops, in many cases, the sugar is very low and you require very frequent measurement every 15-20 minutes and per hour, along with feeding. how will I respond to This, When he sits by force to get him sugar even in the morning and evening?
I am scared of such a situation and I feel even safer, following the SLGS and observing my cat as the days go by.
Am I thinking wrong?
What is your opinion from your experience?
 
The fear of low numbers is normal at the start of the journey - especially where testing the cat is a challenge. It's great that you are getting 3 tests per cycle.

I am not sure about Zoro, but at the numbers he is at, he should be experiencing excessive thirst, excessive urination and weight loss. Like I mentioned earlier, letting a cat remain in higher numbers for an extended period of time also leads to glucose toxicity - which is basically a kind of temporary insulin resistance. There are other complications to high numbers like hind leg neuropathy.

I am sorry if I am scaring you!

In my opinion, I would at least try and get Zoro below the renal threshold (the point at which kidneys start expelling sugar in the urine) as soon as possible. If you continue to manage these 6 tests a day (which is admirable), I would increase his dose by 0.25 units every 3 days till you start seeing numbers below 200. Get him well regulated (BG largely between 100 to 250) if you think you cannot manage tight regulation.
 
Thank you for your response!
My cat was exactly as described until 1.5 months ago!
Suffering from high sugar, dry food (from the bad instructions of the veterinarian), with lethargy and no longer ran, did not play because he was tired and did not climb / jump on furniture and suffering from the heat of summer.
Clearly emaciated and with a lot of thirst and urination. In the last two months we made a diet change with low carb carbohydrates exclusively, we started taking Β12 vitamins and the results in a month were spectacular, before we even started insulin.
Weight gain 1.5 kg, increased appetite, great mobility and no weaknesses anymore !! The sugar had dropped between 330 - 390 steadily, he stopped drinking a lot of water and urinating so often and so much.
His blood tests were very good, no kidney problem, not very high transaminases, in contrast to his age and suffering from sugar and dry food, who knows how long .. !!
Last week we started insulin.
I will increase to 0.25 and we will talk again in 3 days about how we will move, based on the image we will have from the measurements that allow me to do !!
 
Back
Top