12/11 Thos PMPS a very shootable 178; Pre-No-AM-Shot=107, +4=98, +8=143

Tom & Thomas (GA)

Member Since 2018
Previous 12/08

This our fourth day on a reduction. I've twice had numbers too low for me to shoot, even after a stall.

The PM+1 of 77 on 12/9 may or may not be because I forgot to feed after shooting at 121, which is as low as I've ever gone.

Trying to think ahead to later this evening, I am inclined towards:

PMPS > 180, hold current 1.5u
PMPS 120-180, start a trial reduction to 1.25u
PMPS < 120, shoot small, like 1.0u, and plan on 1.25u in the morning
or skip, which I'd hate to do again​

I'm just making this up, and so would appreciate suggestions from the kind and experienced people here who do have a clue.

Also, is there any reason to try more than a single 30-45min stall-and-retest if I get the <120 PMPS?

After months of desultory attention to this, if not actual neglect, I focus in just a bit and start seeing numbers in the regulated range?!
 
The 77 a couple of night ago would have earned the reduction down to 1.25 since you're doing SLGS

Lantus craves consistency, so we don't use a sliding scale for dosing.

As for how long to stall, it kind of depends on how much flexibility there is in your shooting schedule. Also, if you don't feed (like you're supposed to when you stall), if you go too long, they may start to drop due to the lack of food. It's a balancing act, that's for sure!!

Let's see where he's at when it's PMPS time and go from there. He sure is looking a lot better lately!!
 
OK, this helps a lot. The reduction is earned, even if I see a high PMPS. So the uncertainty that remains is whether I get a shootable number at that time. Since no AM shot today, I'll do an early PMPS test, to give myself time for a couple (fasting) stalls. The no-eating part can be tough since he expects food after an ear jab.

Yes, these numbers are making me very happy. And Thomas seems downright perky. Though some of that may be meloxicam since the beginning of the month.

@Chris & China , thanks so much!
 
The reduction is earned, even if I see a high PMPS.

Dosing is always based on the low numbers not the Preshots…...the PS tests just tell us if it's safe to give insulin at all.

With a PMPS of 178, went ahead with reduction to 1.25u, and can sleep easy tonight

Not necessarily...LOL These kitties love to throw us curveballs....I'd make sure to get at least a +2 and see how he's doing. If the +2 is lower than the PS, that can mean a more active cycle.
 
Back
Top