12/11 Millie/AMPS 227/3.25U/PMPS 128/3.25U/+.75 253/+2 216/+3 185/+4 180/+5 191/+11 280

Heidi n' Millie and...

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: 12/10 Millie/PM+10 258/AMPS 245/PMPS 266/+2 248/ | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Yikes! 128 at PMPS but I have shot about that low before, so I did and have the gravy ready. She's had some funky higher numbers this weekend, when I can't test through the day. I've wondered if they haven't been bouncy numbers, as I have no idea what has happened during the day. She has also been eating a little less...no desire for water in her food or freeze dried on top. She just wants her Fancy Feast, neat. Certainly okay with me, as feeding time is quicker. I guess I'll be up tonight. Normally, Monday is dosage increase day. Since her numbers have been up this week, I figured she was due for an increase tomorrow but, with tonight being 128, I'm not so sure. I guess it will depend on subsequent numbers tonight.

@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
Wellllll...evidently since her test 45 minutes after her PMPS was back up, that 128 was likely a bad test. Usually, I retest when they're really low, but that didn't register with me as really low. Damn, should have known better. Looks like I'll be up for quite a while, getting some more numbers to see if dosage increase is in the crystal ball.
 
Even if that bg test was correct, overall patterns with nadirs (plural) for last 6 1/2 days suggests an increase is due tomorrow morning unless you see something spectacular tonight. You’ve been getting am cycle mid tests up until today and yesterday, any reason for not doing them? It would have been interesting to see whether that 128 was out of place. Good luck with the increase, hope you see some greens soon.
 
Even if that bg test was correct, overall patterns with nadirs (plural) for last 6 1/2 days suggests an increase is due tomorrow morning unless you see something spectacular tonight. You’ve been getting am cycle mid tests up until today and yesterday, any reason for not doing them? It would have been interesting to see whether that 128 was out of place. Good luck with the increase, hope you see some greens soon.

I work all day on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I can test once after her AM shot on Friday, but not before her PM shot. On Saturdays and Sundays, I can't test after her AM shot, but can sometimes catch a test before her PM shot. It's part of the reason I have to do the SLGS protocol. I can test like crazy 4 days a week but not the other three. It's why I do increases on Monday mornings. I have 4 days to track things/monitor. She was having nice gentle curves for awhile but then this last increase seems to have made things a little whacky. Of course, her eating habits changed about the same time, too. Now, doesn't want soupy food or freeze dried. For the most part, she's a grazer and has a timed feeder for snacks between meals. It's my nature to be concerned but she was actually getting a little "fluffy" and I was just plying her with food every chance I got...like an Italian grandmother.
 
Oh I see. Usually with SLGS you’d run a curve after 7 days but I noticed lots of data as well during the week so was wondering. I’m not sure I could get used to working Friday, Saturday, Sunday :).
 
Oh I see. Usually with SLGS you’d run a curve after 7 days but I noticed lots of data as well during the week so was wondering. I’m not sure I could get used to working Friday, Saturday, Sunday :).

Evidently, testing brings out any OCD in me. The whole thing fascinates me but on some days I am convinced it's all black magic, voodoo and sorcery, because it makes no sense. I'm looking for sense where I don't think it exists. I was a flight attendant for 35 years...days of the week hold no meaning for me. Luckily, I had taken a COVID early out retirement package or I wouldn't have been able to do anything about Millie's diabetes, as I would have been gone for 3 or 4 days at a time, without financial resources to pay someone to fill in.
 
She often nadirs at the end of the cycle and you have shot 120 before, so it's good you took the shot without stalling :-)

I would increase her tomorrow morning unless she surprises you tonight.
 
She often nadirs at the end of the cycle and you have shot 120 before, so it's good you took the shot without stalling :)

I would increase her tomorrow morning unless she surprises you tonight.
Isn't that a huge jump 45 minutes later? Or is it bounce? I think I read how long they take to bounce, usually, but can't remember. This last week seems so weird, with higher numbers even though she's moderating her eating.
 
No kidding, I can see that. Time zones, crossing back and forth it can mess up your internal clock. Millie actually looks really consistent and quite flat to me, not much in the way of serious fluctuation given allowable meter variance. With SLGS the goal is nadirs between 90-150 and Millie’s flat cycles makes me think she’s close to getting to a good dose where hopefully you will see that.

Yeah it’s fascinating to me as well. I have looked at hundreds of spreadsheets in my time here, and there are always things that surprise me. How is Millie generally doing other than her numbers? Lol on “fluffy”. I’m sure my dog has only put on his extra winter coat, not that he’s gained any weight from the extra cookies he’s getting.:rolleyes:
 
Isn't that a huge jump 45 minutes later? Or is it bounce? I think I read how long they take to bounce, usually, but can't remember. This last week seems so weird, with higher numbers even though she's moderating her eating.
Depends on whether the number is accurate. Not all higher numbers are as a result of a bounce, what did you feed? Another test before bed will tell you more I think.
 
No kidding, I can see that. Time zones, crossing back and forth it can mess up your internal clock. Millie actually looks really consistent and quite flat to me, not much in the way of serious fluctuation given allowable meter variance. With SLGS the goal is nadirs between 90-150 and Millie’s flat cycles makes me think she’s close to getting to a good dose where hopefully you will see that.

Yeah it’s fascinating to me as well. I have looked at hundreds of spreadsheets in my time here, and there are always things that surprise me. How is Millie generally doing other than her numbers? Lol on “fluffy”. I’m sure my dog has only put on his extra winter coat, not that he’s gained any weight from the extra cookies he’s getting.:rolleyes:

She's the dream sugar kitty, except for putting me through the food paces, changing her preferences on a whim. She doesn't mind testing or the shots, eats pretty consistently, jumps on the ottoman to get tested. Her coat is once again glossy and, except for her fall bout of herpes sniffles/sneezes/funny eyes, seems to feel just fine. She stays happy as long as she can have her 3 pieces of Young Again kibble after her test. She'll submit to anything for that.
 
Depends on whether the number is accurate. Not all higher numbers are as a result of a bounce, what did you feed? Another test before bed will tell you more I think.

She gets Fancy Feast Pate, a can in the morning and a can at night, which usually takes her about 3 hours to finish. She gets a Sheba pate, split between 2 sections of the timed feeder, with a scant teaspoon of Young Again kibble in between. They are about 2 hours and 20 minutes between them. The feeder moves to an empty slot 2 hours before her AM and PM preshots.
 
Back
Top