12/11 Mac +11 56 AMPS 82 +1 75 +3.5 51+5.5 81 +6.5 101 +10 200 PMPS 165 +2 135 + 3 142 + 4 166

jillnc1

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-171-5-173-9-338-pmps-400-4-330-11-56.296467/

@Christie & Maverick Your shenanigan meter is still working. He was +330 at +4 last night. I got up a little early wondering if he would keep going down and the answer was yes. He was 56 at +11. I fed him LC and tested again. Since he is at end of the cycle sometimes he pops right up to a shootable number. He rose to 82 within 30 minutes so I was able to shoot. Looks like a repeat of 12/4.

I appreciate your shenanigans meter!
 
Last edited:
Discussion: This is not a new situation for me. I have gone back and forth over the last 6 months and am now at the point again where I would like to see if I can find an approach that keeps Mac in the range of 70-200 giving me flexibility and not worrying so much about him going low or having to feed him to keep him safe. He has had 2 limes on this dose and I now test him enough so he doesn't go lime because I feed him before that happens. I am not sure that is a sustainable situation for me. Should I just take a .25 reduction and see what happens? Go custom TR with 70 as reduction. The last time I did that I took reductions too fast. I would be more judicious this time with reductions. But testing and feeding frequently is becoming so time consuming and tiring for him as the feeding has to be syringe feeding at those times and of course his poor ears. I don't think remission is in Mac's future and I would like to keep him relatively stable below 200. Thoughts?

PS Given he hit 51 today at +3.5 with some feeding that is close enough to lime for me so I will be taking a reduction to 3.25 u tonight.
 
Last edited:
Discussion: This is not a new situation for me. I have gone back and forth over the last 6 months and am now at the point again where I would like to see if I can find an approach that keeps Mac in the range of 70-200 giving me flexibility and not worrying so much about him going low or having to feed him too keep him safe. He has had 2 limes on this dose and I now test him enough so he doesn't go lime because I feed him before that happens. I am not sure that is a sustainable situation for me. Should I just take a .25 reduction and see what happens? Go custom TR with 70 as reduction. The last time I did that I took reductions too fast. I would be more judicious this time with reductions. But testing and feeding frequently is becoming so time consuming and tiring for him as the feeding has to be syringe feeding at those times and of course his poor ears. I don't think remission is in Mac's future and I would like to keep him relatively stable below 200. Thoughts?

PS Given he hit 51 today at +3.5 with some feeding that is close enough to lime for me so I will be taking a reduction to 3.25 u tonight.

Good questions, let me see if I can help with offering some of my thoughts.

Technically speaking there is no such thing as custom TR ;). I just point that out because it can be confusing for newer members.

If you are finding that your situation makes it more difficult (sorry to hear that some of your feeding involves syringe feed :(), and since you have been at this a while and collected quite a bit of data on how your cat responds to insulin and carbs, you could certainly consider doing "custom dosing" and if that involves taking reductions under 70 that's ok. But, as I pointed out a while back, it's best not to try and mix and match between the two dosing methods. You may still end up seeing cycles where he's higher than 200, but it will at least give you a bit of breathing room if you are finding things challenging to manage when he is getting into the greens. You have to do what is best for you :bighug:
 
Good questions, let me see if I can help with offering some of my thoughts.

Technically speaking there is no such thing as custom TR ;). I just point that out because it can be confusing for newer members.

If you are finding that your situation makes it more difficult (sorry to hear that some of your feeding involves syringe feed :(), and since you have been at this a while and collected quite a bit of data on how your cat responds to insulin and carbs, you could certainly consider doing "custom dosing" and if that involves taking reductions under 70 that's ok. But, as I pointed out a while back, it's best not to try and mix and match between the two dosing methods. You may still end up seeing cycles where he's higher than 200, but it will at least give you a bit of breathing room if you are finding things challenging to manage when he is getting into the greens. You have to do what is best for you :bighug:

Yes I understand. Thank you. Makes sense. I updated my spreadsheet to "Custom dosing". I do understand he will still go above 200 just like he does now when he bounces.

Thanks for your support. I hope I can do it better this time but time will tell. I am trying to find the perfect balance which might not exist. I will still value your shenanigan meter. :)
 
Another option, just to put it out there, is if you think Mac is a cat that doesn't hold reductions well. If so, then you can use the guidelines of 3 times between 40 and 49 on separate days, or one under 40, or a week in green.

Good luck with the new dose.
 
Another option, just to put it out there, is if you think Mac is a cat that doesn't hold reductions well. If so, then you can use the guidelines of 3 times between 40 and 49 on separate days, or one under 40, or a week in green.

Good luck with the new dose.
Thanks Wendy! He has been on this dose since Nov. 18. He actually got a 31 the first cycle and I was stubborn and didn't reduce even though technically I was supposed to. Since then he had another 40 and then several low 50's I caught and used food to avoid the lime. If I hadn't tested so frequently I probably would have seen a third lime. Anyway, I will reduce by .25 tonight and see where it takes us. He may still go low because the depot will still be active so I will not reduce again until I know the depot is drained from 3.5. That's the mistake I made last time I went on custom dosing. Thanks again for your input and support.:bighug:
 
Back
Top