12/11 Karamelle AMPS 251 +6 481 PMPS 399 +3 409

JoM

Member Since 2023
? - 12/10 Karamelle AMPS 258 +4 211 +8 95 PMPS 43!! NO SHOT +2 32 the rest on the SS

Bouncing again after her hypo yesterday and the skipped shot last night. Only 2 1/2 days on the reduced dose and Im reducing again to 0.25U. Gave that this morning. Her appetite is still reasonable and shes acting fine. Lets see what this new dose brings. In the last 3 weeks she gone from 1.75sU down to 0.25U now. Measuring these low doses is going to be fun. Ive tried the calipers, but that method didnt work for me. Im pretty good at eyeing it, but its the darn bubbles!! :banghead:
 
Last edited:
Yikes, last night looks like it was too exciting. I hope things are calmer today, and that she comes down slowly from that bounce. My sympathies on the dosing challenges!
 
Yikes, last night looks like it was too exciting. I hope things are calmer today, and that she comes down slowly from that bounce. My sympathies on the dosing challenges!
Thanks Allie. Yeah, this past 3 weeks has been a crazy train for sure. No idea whats going on, but we are riding thru it.
 
Sweet! The lower insulin the batter, right?😁 I think that's what most people do when trying to see about weaning them off eventually, yes?
Hope you get some flatter numbers and no bouncing.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
I tended to find bubbles more problematic at the end of a penfill, especially with the smaller doses. You may have to draw up a little more and gently squeeze out until you get to 0.25u.
 
I tended to find bubbles more problematic at the end of a penfill, especially with the smaller doses. You may have to draw up a little more and gently squeeze out until you get to 0.25u.
Yeah, thats what I do anyway. This is actually a new canister. The vet wanted me to try a new one to see if it was the insulin that was causing this craziness. But evidently it wasnt.
 
Sweet! The lower insulin the batter, right?😁 I think that's what most people do when trying to see about weaning them off eventually, yes?
Hope you get some flatter numbers and no bouncing.
Yes, it is nice when you dont need as much insulin, but her numbers have been crazy the last 3 weeks. Cant figure out why she keeps going hypo and I keep having to lower the dose after months of just slight variations in dosage. I never considered she might go into remission at 2 years, but who knows.
 
Yes, it is nice when you dont need as much insulin, but her numbers have been crazy the last 3 weeks. Cant figure out why she keeps going hypo and I keep having to lower the dose after months of just slight variations in dosage. I never considered she might go into remission at 2 years, but who knows.
That would be quite the blessing. I stop considering things to be 'normal'. With my little fella, he'd look to do better, then go back to bad numbers. Over and over. Till he hit 3.75u and just like that, a switch was flipped and he didn't need it anymore. I was told by multiple people he wasn't behaving like 'normal'. So maybe yours is like that too? Just decided one day... I think no.😅
Mine had tons of hypo numbers too till I just took him off.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Perhaps a few points of clarification. Jo’s cat is on a different insulin, and her cat has different patterns and has different health considerations than what Nico experienced in a short period of time on insulin, so it would not be recommended to extrapolate or compare. Yes for sure things seem to be different over the last several weeks, which is why we need to follow the data and see how it goes.
 
After what my cat went through and no one knowing what to do with him? I don't compare any 2 days, or say any thing's normal. No two cats are the same, and I'm sure Karamelle doesn't have the exact same problems as Nico any more than yours so. I'm just stating nothing's 'normal' and the fact that she's down to 0.25u is a great sign and one can hope heading in the right place.🥰
One can always hope for that Christmas miracle.😊
 
For sure, your experience with Nico is something to celebrate. In my experience here and what I have offered as far as my suggestions is that while you stopping insulin as you did appears to be working for you, it would not be something I would recommend Jo to do.
 
Why can’t I find a current ss?
@Tyleete
Nico was ready for a trial and if you recall I said with the quick reductions which I agreed were necessary, we suggested a good trial that would become an OTJ trial. You just made the call to call it an OTJ trial. A food trial is not different as no insulin is given. Nico was almost all green despite reduced and skipped shots.

I don’t see that here. Again I would like to see a ss.
 
Why can’t I find a current ss?
@Tyleete
Nico was ready for a trial and if you recall I said with the quick reductions which I agreed were necessary, we suggested a good trial that would become an OTJ trial. You just made the call to call it an OTJ trial. A food trial is not different as no insulin is given. Nico was almost all green despite reduced and skipped shots.

I don’t see that here. Again I would like to see a ss.
Is it Nico's numbers you want to see? Because they are in his ss.
As for how I decided to go, Wendy assured me no one would get upset if their advice wasn't taken, as on the forum here, your get many different opinions and bits of advice.
I did not indeed do a food trial, as I saw no point. And since he's my little one, the ultimate decision on what to do with him and how to take his treatment no matter how it might upset someone, is mine to make. My cat was showing he no longer wanted more needed insulin, so I let him try it. The vet's happy, I'm happy, Nico's happy, everyone else on the board seems happy for him and how he's going. I don't see the problem.
If it turns out it was the wrong decision (as he's only on Day 5), then I shall have to start again. But so far he's doing smashing.
 
Is it Nico's numbers you want to see? Because they are in his ss.
As for how I decided to go, Wendy assured me no one would get upset if their advice wasn't taken, as on the forum here, your get many different opinions and bits of advice.
I did not indeed do a food trial, as I saw no point. And since he's my little one, the ultimate decision on what to do with him and how to take his treatment no matter how it might upset someone, is mine to make. My cat was showing he no longer wanted more needed insulin, so I let him try it. The vet's happy, I'm happy, Nico's happy, everyone else on the board seems happy for him and how he's going. I don't see the problem.
If it turns out it was the wrong decision (as he's only on Day 5), then I shall have to start again. But so far he's doing smashing.
No. I can’t access Karamelle’s. I’ve seen. Nico’s.
 
That would be quite the blessing. I stop considering things to be 'normal'. With my little fella, he'd look to do better, then go back to bad numbers. Over and over. Till he hit 3.75u and just like that, a switch was flipped and he didn't need it anymore. I was told by multiple people he wasn't behaving like 'normal'. So maybe yours is like that too? Just decided one day... I think no.😅
Mine had tons of hypo numbers too till I just took him off.
wow, I just looked at Nico's SS. You just stopped the insulin basically and didnt taper down. I thought about doing that actually. Im far enough down now that if she hits hypo again, I might skip a few doses and see what happens. Although I also see that Nico didnt bounce like Karamelle does after shes hypo. So a bit different. So hard to know what to do.
 
Every once in a while we get a long term diabetic that finally decides to go down the dosing scale. I've even seen one, FD for 3.5 years, with a bad case of pancreatitis and not eating where the caregiver didn't shoot due to lack of food, and the cat went green. The caregiver was in such disbelief she refused to call it an OTJ trial, until we called it for her 14 days later. Unfortunately the spreadsheet no longer exists. Never say never, though the odds of OTJ get lower over time.

I'm not saying you should stop insulin now, because when you skip, Karamelle goes sky high. Way different from Nico, besides the length of time diabetic. When Tyleete skipped doses, Nico ended up green at the end. When you've skipped shots Jo, Karamelle has been way higher.
 
wow, I just looked at Nico's SS. You just stopped the insulin basically and didnt taper down. I thought about doing that actually. Im far enough down now that if she hits hypo again, I might skip a few doses and see what happens. Although I also see that Nico didnt bounce like Karamelle does after shes hypo. So a bit different. So hard to know what to do.
The two cats are totally different. Nico was in almost completely normal BG which is what is needed for a strong remission. Your cat needs to be at the point or a trial would fail. A way needs to be found for long stretches under 100. You get there with a constant dose and feeding the curve to prevent earned reductions usually.
 
Back
Top