12/11 Cole AMPS 133/+2 101/+4 101/+6 106/PMPS 128/+2 130

Colio

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-10-cole-amps-119-2-117-4-104-6-124-pmps-128.239824/

Happy Friday everyone! Cole cruising along in blue - doesn't seem interested in going to the lagoon :)

Cycle 5 of his .5u dose.

In discussion with the vet last night, based on Cole's BG readings and the dosage we're at, she thinks he is in remission and we decided just to listen and not argue. Everything I read here and seeing some of your kittens getting into solid green and then slowly move to a trial - tells me Cole still have some work to do.

Any thoughts? I am not ready to just stop Cole's insulin, and I don't want to reduce his dose again when he's staying in the blues...
 
Last edited:
Not a good idea to go from a .5U dose into an OTJ trial. For the best chance of a strong remission, you want to get Cole to hold normal numbers down to a much lower dose, even as low as a drop.
Cole is doing fantastic for sure, but I'd be smiling and nodding at the vet and then just keep on keeping on for now.:):bighug:
That's my opinion. See what others think. WHy not edit your subject title with the "?" and ask "time for OTJ trial?" That could generate some good conversation about it.
 
He does look beautiful in his numbers and I can't advise on dosing but I do know it's in the dosing method sticky to ideally work down to 0.25 then to 0.1 before starting OTJ Trial.

Also, this condo is a really interesting discussion on taking reductions and OTJ. All numbers mentioned are US Human meter.

One other idea - have you considered switching to human meter and then just using your AT2 for a curve for your vet? Could save you some $ (unless vet/insurance is paying for strips?) and people here are really more used to speaking human meter numbers since pet meters are relatively new compared to the dosing methods. As a bonus, I'd be willing to bet some of those blues would be greens on a human meter (though of course there is no way to convert between the two).

I also really like @Butters & Lyla idea of nodding and smiling :p
 
One other idea - have you considered switching to human meter and then just using your AT2 for a curve for your vet?
I realize reading that condo, that switching to a human meter might be my best option. And I will save money :)

Smiling and nodding all the way :cat:
 
I realize reading that condo, that switching to a human meter might be my best option. And I will save money :)

Smiling and nodding all the way :cat:
If you switch, hide your AT2 from yourself until you need it for the vet. Trust me :p Don't even try to compare :cat: I had to move mine to a different room lol.
 
Agree with Susanne. Ruby's numbers "improved" after switching from AT to human meter, and Cole might be able to earn reductions just by staying below 100 in human numbers. Harder for that to happen with the AT.
 
If you switch, hide your AT2 from yourself until you need it for the vet. Trust me :p Don't even try to compare :cat: I had to move mine to a different room lol.
LOLOL. I remember that. :p Definitely listen to Susanne. I also went through the same thing when a vet I tried out forced me to use an AT2. I was recording the differences on the human meter and AT2 in my spreadsheet. Many a bean has driven themselves absolutely batty trying to compare numbers. Learn from our mistakes. Save yourself the strips. :joyful:
 
So I tested with human meter and pet meter last test - and took human step and meter and entered on the human meter spreadsheet. He’s solid green. Same blood sample on second pet strip for Pet meter, and entered in pet spreadsheet - solid blue .... argh
 
So I tested with human meter and pet meter last test - and took human step and meter and entered on the human meter spreadsheet. He’s solid green. Same blood sample on second pet strip for Pet meter, and entered in pet spreadsheet - solid blue .... argh
Hide the AT2. Deep in a drawer or closet. Really. You will go insane :p
 
Hide the AT2. Deep in a drawer or closet. Really. You will go insane :p

I can tell already that you are right - :confused:

Need to decide when to start with the different meter since it means a different spreadsheet too - maybe will sort it out this weekend...

Come on Cole - one tiny bit lower into the lagoon :)
 
You can just copy and paste all of the AT data over to the human template. Check out Ruby's. You'd just need to change the colors of the below 68s to lime green to keep track of them and note when you switched meters.
 
Cole is not ready for an OTJ trial yet. He needs to work his way down in dose. There are 3 more doses down normally before starting an OTJ trial. If you decide you want to switch meters, you may be able get help altering your current SS to adjust for human meter numbers. Just ask in the subject line.
 
Cole is not ready for an OTJ trial yet. He needs to work his way down in dose. There are 3 more doses down normally before starting an OTJ trial. If you decide you want to switch meters, you may be able get help altering your current SS to adjust for human meter numbers. Just ask in the subject line.
Thanks Carla - that's what I thought but I don't see arguing with the vet is worth it. I'll try to sort out my spreadsheets and will ask for help :)
 
So I tested with human meter and pet meter last test - and took human step and meter and entered on the human meter spreadsheet. He’s solid green. Same blood sample on second pet strip for Pet meter, and entered in pet spreadsheet - solid blue .... argh
No. No....Nope. Don't do it!:p:smuggrin: You will lose your mind.
 
I'm glad to see you've been thinking of trying the human meter. I've been looking at Cole's numbers lately and wondering if he fits in this category of reductions from the TR protocol:Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week. However, without the human meter numbers, we can't really know for sure. Of course, you'd need to finish out the week at this dose first. A week in solid green is a great way to earn a reduction.

BTW, a small clarification, there are not three doses after 0.5 units. There is 0.25 units, then 0.1 units per the TR recommendations. For some cats that are not yet pretty much solid green (human meter) at 0.1, we suggest trying a drop. However, some people seem to have taken to suggesting a drop to all kitties going down dose.
 
My vet said I should start "weaning" Jazzy off of insulin when he was still on .25 units because his numbers were good. I said yea, I'll try that. And continued giving insulin as I was before until he earned reductions. Granted, I think I held doses too long because I misunderstood some wording in the guidelines, but it's all good now.
Jazzy was one that went from .25 to .20 to .10 to finally a drop.
So yes, the smile and nod works to finish a conversation, knowing that you know better what to do. :)
Hope you have a great night :)
 
Thanks everyone for the info and advice - really helpful. Now I have a project for my spreadsheets :)

Have a great evening everyone! :bighug:
 
Back
Top