12/11 Casanova PMPS 321 +11 295

Status
Not open for further replies.

casanovasmom

Member Since 2010
Laurie suggested I try to get a +11 this morning and so I did the best I could at +11.25 and got 268. Not too bad, better than last night. I am still confused about what's going on with these numbers...got to do more reading on the subject. Anyway, will test again in about 30 minutes. I'm going to try to shoot this morning at about 6:45 trying to get back on schedule.

Yesterday's link http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =9&t=31763
 
Re: 12/11 Casanova AMPS +279

Look like you have a bit of bounce/rebound going on from the low the other night. It can take a few days to clear.

Bounce generally happens when a cat isn't used to the lower numbers and the liver panics dumping glucose and hormones into the bloodstream. It is a protective measure of the body, but for our diabetic felines it can be an annoying part of regulation. Some cats will "clear" these events within hours...others can take up to 72 hours to clear.

Atlas is a bouncy boy if you look at his SS. We are working with his food delivery system to try and better manage his curve because he bounces so badly I can't figure out his proper dose! I think we may have finally found a reasonable feeding schedule, but it looks like he had a bit of a bounce yesterday from a low that happened in the previous 24 hours.
 
Re: 12/11 Casanova AMPS 279 +1 296

Blue's right. Many of us have experienced many bounces, even with great #'s. These #'s will straighten themselves out over time, and possibly with the need for more insulin until his liver doesn't panic anymore. In the beginning, you'll get many days of wonky #'s. All you need to worry about is getting his insulin in, and monitor. The rest will be up to him. The low carb wet food will help, too. One day, he'll give you a wonderful # which will warrant a decrease in his dose. That's a very great feeling to behold, I tell you. :)

For treats for my Blackie, I use boiled chicken breasts cut into bite sized morsels. She typically gets about 1-2 after each test, and sometimes will get 3 at mealtimes. I try to cut off as much of the fat as possible so that she doesn't get it. Fat's not good for a diabetic kitty anyway (much less for us LOL).

I know it's confusing in the beginning. You're doing great, though. Many of us were confused in the beginning as it's all new to us beans (I know... great grammar here... It's Saturday, and I'm on 1 cup of ~O) so far LOL). You WILL get the hang of it. Let those that are more knowledgeable than myself steer you in the right direction. They haven't steered me wrong, and I trust them implicitly (spelling... remember... so far I'm on 1 cup of ~O) ).
 
Re: 12/11 Casanova AMPS 279 +2 296

+2 and no change. He did dive into his food today which is a little unusual since the change in food. He ate a whole 5.5 oz can of Sophisticat Mariner's Catch with a little tuna on top to entice him...maybe that did the trick. Should I have DH feed again around noon or should I wait until I get home tonight around 6:30?

Thanks again for all the support. Tomorrow when I'm off I can't wait to do a real curve and read a little more about what the curves mean.

Laura
 
Re: 12/11 Casanova AMPS 279 +2 296

love casanova's picture...
what a modest fellow...hiding the nether regions!

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/11 Casanova AMPS 279 +6 321 PMPS 321

+6 had 321 PMPS 321...seems like his numbers are staying high. Should I stick with the 4 units? I was thinking things were looking good but last couple days, not so much :(
 
Re: 12/11 Casanova PMPS 321 +5 281 Unit ?

Casanova's numbers have been high the last two days? Does that mean I should up the dose?
 
Just trying to bump this up to get some advice. His numbers have been high the last couple of days. Do you think I should bump up my dosage? Why do you think his numbers were so much better the first few days and now getting higher?
 
hi!

I am actually wondering if you are spreading food out early in the cycle....I see on SS, that he ate a whole 5.5oz can for AMPS yesterday...does he get food again thru the cycles?

just to give others a heads up, gonna ask typical questions...are you home to monitor if you raise the dose? especially during the week. For at least the early part of the cycle, and/or mid day checks. Keep that in mind when the time comes to raise.

From what I can see, previous condo's, he may be a bouncy boy, as others suggested.
Plus you had some "getting back on track" with your shot schedule...all caught up now?
Open a new condo when you have your AMPS, but I suspect you may have to wait for the bouncing to clear.
Hope that helps!
 
Yesterday he ate the entire can early then he wasn't feed again until I got home from work at 6:30. Is there a feeding schedule that I should be trying to stick with? I'm off today and tomorrow so I can monitor very closely these two days. I don't want to have to up the insulin, but it just seems like his numbers are too high. Just disappointed since they were so much better earlier in the week.
 
Not necessarily a set feeding schedule, but we do like to suggest spreading food out early in the cycle.
ETA: Unregulated kitties may need to eat as much as they want. ECID.,every cat is different
As an example, we began last year with almost 2 cans (5.5 oz), helping Luna gain his weight back, moving right along, his number with insulin improved over time, and he settled down to 1 can a day.

Have you considered an automatic feeder for days that you are not home? PetSafe has a couple, I believe Petsmart carries them.
It can take a bit of time to get those numbers down, clearing the bounces, hang in there k? I'd like to see what others can add in today's condo about the dose, but you may want to hold it for now and see how the day goes.
 
Here's the feeder I have and many others as well; it helps to ration out the day's food through the day and really helps for people like me who like to be out the door to work as soon as I have given the am shots on the work days.

Petsafe 5-meal Auto Feeder

It's handy because you can set whatever times you want. Instead of putting down the whole can in one bowl, it's in sections and can't be had till the times you set. It's better for the blood sugars to balance out the foods as well so Casanova may feel better for it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top