12/11/20 Chicamonkey AMPS 362/+4 305/+4 213/+9 193/PMPS 212/+3 125/+4 99/+ 6 123

Suzi and Chicamonkey

Member Since 2020
Can someone explain such wonky numbers to me ? I thought after being on FF classics , that would help her?
Somewhere I read that after a week you should see results with a food change. It’s been three weeks and her numbers are still all over the place .
Thank you
12/10/20 Chicamonkey AMPS 153 /+3 214/+6 177/+10 286/PMPS 517/+2 489/+4 420
 
Hi,
It looks to me like sometimes you are seeing some bouncing, for one. Yesterday, where she was in the mid - high 100s and low 200s, then suddenly zoomed up to 517 @ PMPS, that is very characteristic of what a bounce looks like. Chicamonkey is not used to the lower numbers (100s & 200s), so her body is protecting herself from them.

Here is an explanation of bouncing from the sticky on The Basics: New to the group, start here:

  • Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
The line I put in bold is what looks to me is going on with Chicamonkey sometimes. It is not caused by what you are feeding her.

It is very common for kitties to bounce and common for it to really test caregivers' patience:). There is not much you can do except be patient and ride out the bouncing. My Butters eventually stopped bouncing after four months but then she started again. Some bounce for longer, some for shorter.

You're doing a great job with Chicamonkey. She is already giving you some mid-high 100s, which is amazing.:cool:
 
Skipped shots and token doses mess with the depot and you see wonky numbers.

Ignore the bounces. Focus on the nadirs. With that 99 tonight, you hold the 1.25 dose for 10 cycles (5 days).

She is doing better these days. :-)
 
Back
Top