12/10 Prince AMBG 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

adriane

Member Since 2014
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting in this thread, so I’ll briefly tell you a little bit about my male cat Prince. He’s almost 6 years old and he was recently diagnosed with diabetes/pancreatitis/DKA. He previously had crystals, so I was feeding him prescription Hills Science c/d for urinary tract heath. I’m trying to transition him to wet now, but he’s a little reluctant. And he is on Lantus which is why I’m posting here. I have a couple of questions and hopefully you can help me:

I’m trying to decide if I should follow tight or start slow, go slow protocol. The tight seems to provide the best odds for remission, and my sister’s cat JuJu (Ava and Matt, also on this forum) successfully went into remission on it. Thus, I’d like to try it. However, it seems like it requires a lot of bg testing. I am able to do the testing very regularly for the next three weeks while I am on Xmas break (I’m in grad school), but after that, my schedule will not permit testing that often. Would it be okay to start on tight and then transition to start slow if my schedule demands that, or would it be better to just begin on start slow because I know it’s sustainable?

Second: I stayed up last night testing Prince every couple of hours because it seemed like he might be bouncing (very low first thing in the morning, then 250+ during the day). But his numbers seemed pretty consistent (200-300 range). However, he had major drops 50+ every hour the first couple of hours and then kind of plateaued. He was 305 when I tested him at +9 this morning which is way higher than he had been the previous two days (less than 100). What do you think this indicates? Maybe he’s just still adjusting? This is only his 5th day on it. He has had 9 shots total. Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thank you!
 
Adriane

I'm so glad you found us!! Welcome!!!

The board went down yesterday...the server was hacked. I checked back before I went to bed at 11 my time and it still wasn't up. I'm sorry no one was able to respond but I think it went down shortly after your post.

Remember the explanation I gave you in his Health condo about bouncing? That's what he's doing. Bounces "can" last up to six cycles. It doesn't mean they always do but they can.

Two things from his SS:
---first, it's important no matter what to always get a preshot test. Every single cycle. A +11 is not the same as the preshot. Cats can drop a lot between +11 and PS. We suggest you test/feed/shoot all within about 15 mins or so.

--right now while your schedule allows, I'd get a +2 test every cycle. That will give us an idea if he's going to possibly come down or not. A +2 that is similar to or less than the PS can indicate an active cycle coming up.

--I know the temptation when he's high at night is to go to bed and not test after PS but, for now, I think it's good to get a +2 and a before bed test. I've seen cats go from 300 at PS to 40 midcycle and 300 by +11. Without that extra test, you wouldn't know they had come down. I would not be surprised if Prince is doing that.

Regarding TR and going to school....yes, it's possible. We have many members who work full time and do it. Here is a great post on Can I do TR and work full-time. And yes, you can do TR now and we can help you figure out a testing schedule for when you head back to school.

Here is another great post on Making the almost of your Lantus ISG Experience that will help us help you :-D

We have many members happy to help and we love questions!
 
Hi Adriane, Welcome to Lantus Land. I work full time and do TR, so it can be done. I'm a teacher, so I have almost no flexibility. One thing you may eventually need to get, is a timed feeder. If you see one on sale, grab it! It's great that you can be home for a few weeks. You'll be much more comfortable with this whole thing by the time you go back to school. You can do this.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

The minimum number of tests that are needed to use TR are four -- your AM and PM pre-shot tests (AMPS and PMPS) and one test per cycle. That said, there are some members who have long commutes and have to leave after AMPS and get home just in time for PMPS. You do the best you can and try to get some additional tests in during the evenings, weekends, and holidays. Tight regulation will give your kitty the best chance of remission and give you clear guidelines for how to adjust your dosing.

One consideration to keep in mind is the time you test. Give some thought to your shot time given your school schedule. Would moving shot time a little earlier give you more opportunity to get an additional test in before you leave the house? I work full time -- I'm a faculty member and have to be in the office by 8:00. I have a kitty who likes to dive early in the cycle. So, for me, getting up at 5:00 and testing and shooting gives me the time I need to make sure that Gabby is in safe numbers before I leave the house.

Marje has offered some good suggestions. What I'd add is to take a look at as many of our spreadsheets as you can. There's a good deal of variability in how people test. It will give you a sense of a cat's patterns and it will help you to identify when Prince's Lantus onset and nadir occur as well as what kind of duration you're seeing. Like Marje, I'd strongly encourage you to always get a pre-shot test. For now, one factor to keep in mind is that more than anything else, Lantus will teach you to be patient. Prince is leading in this sugar dance. You'll be using his BG numbers to understand his lead!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top