? 12/10 pmps 60 on alpha trak.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea M.

Member Since 2016
Fed 10% carb food. Do I shoot? This will be her third reduction in a week and I don't want to screw anything up.
 
Andrea...I'm not familiar with Lantus but want to encourage u to hang on and someone who does will be here shortly.
 
I've just gone thru a hypo with Elmo and it is no fun so hang tight and wait to proceed.
 
I've just gone thru a hypo with Elmo and it is no fun so hang tight and wait to proceed.
Even with feeding her every time she starts to drop fast and trying to hold the good numbers she has dropped below 68(alpha trak) three times in a week. I just don't want to screw up since it has taken so long to see these lower numbers.
 
Hi Andrea,

60 on an Alphatrak is below the hypo threshold. Don't give insulin for now!!! Did you feed her after getting the 60 reading (just want to make sure I understand current status - I'm very tired and a bit punchy).

Looking at Sweet Pea's spreadsheet and checking who's online. BRB ...


Mogs
.
 
I use Vetsulin but am getting ready to switch to One of the L insulins. Wish I could be of more help but my best advice is to stall and wait for an experienced person to respond.
 
Hi again, Andrea.

I see you've also posted a 911 on the L&L board - I was going to suggest you do this because Feline Health has been really quiet today and you're likely to get more and better help on L&L.


.
 
Hi Andrea,0

60 on an Alphatrak is below the hypo threshold. Don't give insulin for now!!! Did you feed her after getting the 60 reading (just want to make sure I understand current status - I'm very tired and a bit punchy).

Looking at Sweet Pea's spreadsheet and checking who's online. BRB ...


Mogs
.
Yes. As soon as I got the 60, and retested to double check, I fed her the 10% carb food.
 
Less than 1 hour after feeding she is already up to 219.
Good that she's rising but that 219 will be food-influenced.

You were right to ask for help at PMPS. For future reference post asking for help and, provided it is safe to do so, stall for 15 minutes and test again to see whether BG is rising. By that time someone should hopefully have replied to your post and you can proceed from there.

Sweet Pea has definitely earned another dose reduction today.

I think you'll get the best help on the L&L board. I see that you've posted the latest BG reading there. On your L&L thread try tagging some of the more experienced members to see if they can help you (e.g. Marje, Julie, Elise). They may be able to suggest something dosing-wise that would help maintain momentum but not knock out your schedule too much. I don't do Lantus dosing suggestions and I'm sorry I'm not much help to you. I hope you get a quick answer.

ETA:

If you don't get a timely reply and a muck-up of the schedule would cause you the greatest difficulty then, assuming your kitty has no issues with ketones, it may be better to skip the dose as a member on the L&L thread has suggested.

.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Good that she's rising but that 219 will be food-influenced.

You were right to ask for help at PMPS. For future reference post asking for help and, provided it is safe to do so, stall for 15 minutes and test again to see whether BG is rising. By that time someone should hopefully have replied to your post and you can proceed from there.

Sweet Pea has definitely earned another dose reduction today.

I think you'll get the best help on the L&L board. I see that you've posted the latest BG reading there. On your L&L thread try tagging some of the more experienced members to see if they can help you (e.g. Marje, Julie, Elise). They may be able to suggest something dosing-wise that would help maintain momentum but not knock out your schedule too much. I don't do Lantus dosing suggestions and I'm sorry I'm not much help to you. I hope you get a quick answer.

ETA:

If you don't get a timely reply and a muck-up of the schedule would cause you the greatest difficulty then, assuming your kitty has no issues with ketones, it may be better to skip the dose as a member on the L&L thread has suggested.

.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
Thanks. I've had
 
I see you're getting some assistance on the L&L thread now; great!

For the benefit of all members with weak hearts it'd be handy if you could take down the 911 on the FH thread when you get a chance. ;)


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top