Re: 12/10 Pepper AMPS 508, +3.5 374, +6.5 372
We didn't change to a long-lasting insulin until May 31 due to scheduling issues, so by the time we went to CSU, we hadn't even gotten close to regulation. The SRT doesn't "kill" the pituitary right away, but (my understanding is that) the cells that are over- producing live out their lives, but stop over-producing. That's why they say it takes 7-70 weeks for a response to the treatment. We maxed at 50u plus 3u R, and then had what appeared as a breakthrough. If you look at the Lev SS, you'll see I dropped when I had the first blues. It was like a panic, as I was still getting used to seeing yellows!!! I learned I could only do one thing with low numbers - either shoot reduced, or delay. I couldn't do both or it ended up as a setback, with a long time to recover. Then around the first week of November we had a real reduction - down to 20. Then he stopped responding, and we climbed back up - again at a very busy time for me work-wise. So for the past week or two I've been somewhat conservative. Now we're back, and he's doing much better with 32u. So yes, we're still shooting scary high doses - but it's 40% less than where we were ... so it's relative.
Perry & Sooty had the cyber knife in Yonkers, NY. He was the highest documented dose kitty - and went OTJ at 26 weeks after treatment. I really encourage you to look at the cribsheet, and study the others' SSs, as that's probably the most helpful thing I've found... as it applies to dosing, reductions, shooting low numbers, etc.
And while you're doing this, PLEASE take time to breathe. I had to do this at my pace, as I was REALLY overwhelmed with the Acro dx. I pull away when I feel pressured, so I had to read, learn, look, read, read some more, and eventually ask questions ...and later make decisions.
Also, Grayson is 7. He had no other health issues, so I opted to treat. Four days of anesthesia is a lot. Leo is older, and he did just fine too. So, if/when you get to that point, there will be lots of other people to talk to and help you decide what options/ paths you might want to consider. You don't have to decide anything right now - just take things one step at a time.
If, as some people have suggested, your vet isn't supportive of the testing, I'll be glad to share how I approached mine - and it was very well received. Like anything else, most of the response is based on how you ask! (my long-term vet in the same office, rolled his eyes after I mentioned this website initially). The other vet is the one that has treated Grayson since.