12/10 Mowgli+2.25~61+3~56+3.5~61+4~67+4.5~67+5~63+6~77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mowgli and Keri

Member Since 2010
i am a little concerned...why is it he seems to be walking on his rear hocks NOW after his surgery? should i be freaking out yet, or not yet..
he never walked funny before...
is like he stomps around with his rear legs and has to sit more while walking..
this better be just a short term thing, or someone, ME<----------- is gonna be some pissed off! cat(2)_steam I have to run out for a couple hours, will be back..
am planning on his normal dose?
1.75
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31739
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122

Keri, Mowgli earned a decrease to 1.5u before he went in for his dental. Are you going to be around later, or are you going snowboarding today?
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122

Good Morning: Nice amps for Mowgli. I think I would call the vet and ask him about it. Hope you get to go snowboarding. Have a good day.
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122

awww ****, DAMN DAMN DAMN, i thought we just decreased to 1.75...DAMN DAMN ****,
I will be home later, only running out for the 2hrs..
**** **** ****!
i new i would shoot wrong this am...
~sigh~
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122

thanks for the snowboard wishes, but lets be realistic, probably not going anywhere today...especially now i probably shot too much and he is still walking odd...
~sigh~
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122

Keri.....it's ok, don't freak out! He also wasn't eating well then, so the 1.75u may be where he needs to be. His numbers are very nice. I would give the vet a call also about walking on his hocks.

I wouldn't give up on snowboarding yet....let's see where he is in a couple of hours, ok?
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122

Good morning guys! Nice amps for mowgli today ... I would also just wait and see where his numbers go in a bit .. like Laurie said, this might be what mowgli needs .. have a great day!
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122+3~74

waiting for vet to call me back, and with his +3, i doubt I will be going anywhere today......
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122+3~74+4~76

Dr.Doug said to just keep and eye on mowgli, he doesn't see how it could be from the pain killer or yesterdays anesthetic..
if the painkiller is giving an upset tummy that could be why he walking hunched.. but to keep in mind it has not been even 24hrs yet that he was under..
maybe he just a big softie..(mowgli that is)
crossing my fingers that is all it is...
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122+3~74+4~76

All crossed here that is what it is too. Hope it passes soon. Nice surf going on. Keep up the nice surf Mowgli.
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122+3~74+4~76

Hi Keri, Don't forget that yesterday's extractions were a shock to Mowgli's system. Think of how people who have teeth extracted feel the next day! I would keep in touch with the vet, but give Mowgli some time to recover. Everything got shook up yesterday (the shot schedule, the food, add in the anasthesia, the pain killers, antibiotics?, whatever). He may be having a delayed reaction to one of the medications.
Hang in there. Sending vines and snowflakes. Feel better Mowgli!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122+3~74+4~76+5~70

That's a good point Ella, I know when i had my wisdom teeth out i just wanted to lay undisturbed for at least a day!
And i didn't have to factor in diabetes!
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122+3~74+4~76+5~70+6~72

gentle hug was given, as was a talk about how good maverick is doing and how mowgli should follow along!
He has been sleeping all morning which isn't giving me a chance to see how he is walking.. he did eat some at +3 and +5, so I will test again in an hour I guess, see what is going on with his numbers if he doesn't eat...
in the meantime i guess i will nap..
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122+3~74+4~76+5~70+6~72

Awww thank you. Mowgli was really getting into the green groove before the dental. I bet he'll be back wearing green really soon. Him and Maverick were diagnosed at the same time. There was a couple week delay between Mavericks diagnosis and starting insulin. Sleep is good :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122+3~74+4~76+5~70+6~72

Nice cycle so far! I hope you are having a nice nap :smile:

More gentle smooshes from us for Mowgli cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122+3~74+4~76+5~70+6~72

Not to panic--He may have gotten moved about too much, or got into a strange position, or just is reacting from the dental--
Moonie has real neuropathy from the FD--Sometimes she walks on her toes, sometimes on her hocks--It does not hurt them, I'm really thinking he is a little loopy from the pain killers & under the weather--He didnt have the bas walking before this did he??
Look at thise numbers though!!!! I'm thinking you will see this was a good thing you did for him!! Big Hugs for you--Know how frustrating this illness is--
We all do!! It will be alright~~~~
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122+3~74+4~76+5~70+6~72

I keep having to edit my posts because I for some reason think Mowgli is female (I don't know why I keep doing that). Slap me next time. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS 122+3~74+4~76+5~70+6~72+6.5~72+8~65+9.

Ah is okay, I don't tell mowgli you think he is a girl..
No, he didn't walk like this before he went in for the dental, so probably is the pain killer. But I did wonder the same thing, maybe he was moved around a bit much, or in an awkward position while he was under...gotta remember it may have been a dental, but it isnt like they just lay on their back with their mouth open like we do...is a bit more forced.....
Thanks for the continued support today! He is really surfing today! NICELY, I am not sure what to shoot tonite with his most awesome surf!
He seems to be in that green groove today! But I am having to be his personal chef today! lol
I didn't get a nap in, my laptop power cord crapped out on me, and there is NO WAY i am going without my puter! SO had to run into town and get me a new power cord!
Okay that is my update for now..
Need to pay a, ummmmmmmm "vehicle violation" ticket now...

Hope everyone is having a good day, and again, THANK YOU for the support! Mowgli and I appreciate it very much!
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS+4~76+5~70+6~72+6.5~72+8~65+9.5~76+11~7

A summary of today
AMPS 122 gave 1.75
+3~74
+4~76
+5~70
+6~72
+6.5~72
+8~65
+9.5~76
+11~74

So I am wondering what dose should I give tonite?
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS+4~76+5~70+6~72+6.5~72+8~65+9.5~76+11~7

Keri, will you be able to monitor tonight? I know your schedule is different on the weekends. How is he eating?

Nice surf! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS+4~76+5~70+6~72+6.5~72+8~65+9.5~76+11~7

Oh my lovely new picture of Mr.Tinkles!
I will be home this evening yes, but will be out most the day tomorrow...
So what you thinking tonite...the 1.5 i should have given this morning? or less?
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS+4~76+5~70+6~72+6.5~72+8~65+9.5~76+11~7

+11.5~ 61

kay, needless to say i am REALLY unsure what kind of dose to give mowgli tonite........
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS+4~76+5~70+6~72+6.5~72+8~65+9.5~76+11~7

Hmmm, if he keeps dropping, I'm thinking stall...how long can you afford to stall?

How is he eating, Keri? More than before the dental? Close to normal, less than normal?
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS+5~70+6~72+6.5~72+8~65+9.5~76+11~74+11.

He is eatting periodically, so more than before the dental.but not as much as is normal yet.I have to make it creative for him, but he is getting some appetite..He is also supposed to get his ab.and pain med at the same time, 12/12 so that would be 6pm....which is in ten minutes...
and i should feed him with those....i suppose i can stall a bit on those as well?
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS+5~70+6~72+6.5~72+8~65+9.5~76+11~74+11.

Yes, if you stall, I would stall the meds as well....I don't think you want to give them on an empty stomach.
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS+5~70+6~72+6.5~72+8~65+9.5~76+11~74+11.

How much should i stall?
Is the purpose of the stall to see if he will go up on his own? and if he doesn't do we, i guess i mean, do I not shoot tonite, and just monitor his numbers without his shot?
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS+6~72+6.5~72+8~65+11~74+11.5~61+12~70

A summary of today
AMPS 122 gave 1.75
+3~74
+4~76
+5~70
+6~72
+6.5~72
+8~65
+9.5~76
+11~74
+11.5~61
+12~70
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli AMPS+6~72+6.5~72+8~65+11~74+11.5~61+12~70

I would stall at least 15 minutes, just to make sure that lower number was just a wobble. I'm glad to see the 70, I just want to make sure he's surfing or rising.

As far as dose when you do shoot....I would like to see you shoot as close to a full dose as you feel comfortable shooting. The idea is to shoot low to stay low, since you can monitor. I would go down to 1.5u for his regular dose. Let's see what his next number is.
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli +11.5~61+12~70+12.5~67 DOSE ADVICE????

Mowgli sits at 67 at his +12.5
I have to be honest, I am not comfortable shooting a higher number, even though I am home tonite..
I would be comfortable either shooting .25 at the most .5
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli +11.5~61+12~70+12.5~67 DOSE ADVICE????

I understand, Keri, you have to be comfortable with what you shoot...that's fine. I would go with 0.5u if you think you are ok with that. I would shoot now then.
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli +11.5~61+12~70+12.5~67 DOSE ADVICE????

K, I shot .5
Is scary for me, getting this wonderful numbers for the first time, I know I will get more confidence in it..But with his being wonky, and on the meds I just want to be safe..
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli PMPS~67

Nice shooting, Keri! I know, it's a little scary, but exciting too! He surfed beautiful numbers today. I understand wanting to be safe, worried with the meds, etc. I don't want you shooting more than you are comfortable shooting.

Since you are shooting a BCS dose, I didn't want you to stall too long either, because then it acts like a even bigger reduction...plus you need to get those meds on board.

Of course, start with a +1 and a +2....
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli PMPS~67

I will, thank you again!
So technically his shot was exactly a half hour behind this mornings...
so not too bad I guess...all meds on board as well..even the full dose of DOPE....~sigh~
he ate decently 2/3 of the FF can....
actual cat food this time too, no tuna, shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh (oh i did put tuna juice on it)
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli PMPS~67

Shooting low can be unnerving. We can take it in small steps -- providing Mowgli cooperates!!

FWIW, since you're only 30 min. off schedule, you can either move your AM shot back 30 min.or move both shots tomorrow back by 15 min.
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli PMPS~67+1~59+1.5~67

Keri, since he isn't really rising, you might want to give him a bit of food with some gravy (or just gravy) to bump him up a little....onset is around +2 and he may try to drop.
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli PMPS~67+1~59+1.5~67

so gave him some food with some gravy..
when should i test after this snack then? ten minutes would be his +2..but probably too close to his num nums
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli PMPS~67+1~59+1.5~67+2.25~61

So should i give more gravy?or just test him again in 15 or 20 minutes?
ORRRRRRRR
just test him at 930 now?
will give him some grub, btw 930 will be his +3
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli PMPS~67+1~59+1.5~67+2.25~61

Nice, looks good. You could give a bit more gravy, I wouldn't give the food with it this time, he may get too full. You just want to try to keep him from dropping too much while the insulin action is the strongest, the first hour or two after onset,then he should surf pretty easily.
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli PMPS~67+1~59+1.5~67+2.25~61

Cool beans!!
I will offer but not force it..
Will keep an eye on him an test at +3..
thanks again Laurie :smile:
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli PMPS~67+1~59+1.5~67+2.25~61

I probably shouldn't say that he should surf, he won't do it because I said it, right? :lol:

How is his walking doing? I hope that gets better soon.
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli PMPS~67+1~59+1.5~67+2.25~61

Hi Keri. It looks like you've had quite the day. Looks like you and Laurie are right on top of the numbers here. I hope Mowgli continues to fell better and better. I'd be willing to met that his wonky walking is caused by a combination of everything over the last 24 hours. By the way I've seen Doug intubate Tori and how they position the pets when they are under anesthetic. They are very careful. Hope this reassures you a bit.
 
Re: 12/10 Mowgli PMPS~67+1~59+1.5~67+2.25~61+3~56

should i feed some??
or is this the "S" word that you didn't say Laurie??? ;-)
He hasn't walked around much, is sleeping alot, and that is to be expected forsure...but he has been walking longer without plopping his bum down abruptly..

Barb it does help to know that, i do think it has to do with the pain killer, i have done a bit more reading on it, and it can affect co ordination as well as the entire CNS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top