12 /10 Monster AMPS 71, +2 69, +6 59, PMPS 114

Nice numbers. Did you decide whether you want a reduction or not? Did it gel to re-read the TR article for the 50th time?😅 I know it just didn't matter how many times I read them. Having actual input from people who've been doing this a while helped a lot more. Even to explain things a little better.
But I agree. You can always go back in case Monster starts rising too much. And it'll definitely be safe to try even while at work. It's the opposite I worried about. Increasing makes me want to watch closely. Higher I came to think, it's less scary than hypo.😬
 
Thank you for your response @Lauren & Esse I have read it over and over again and I know it says bgs normal range 50s to 80s and under 100 for a week. She's almost there. It's the low PS that are making me a little nervous. I did give her a reduced dose this morning after seeing her 71, because I have to be out for a couple hours today before her mid-cycle but haven't made the decision to reduce overall.

I know all the signs of hypo and I'm prepared for that if it happens when I'm home. If it happens when I'm not, then there isn't anything I can do but talk through the cameras to her and possibly watch the worst happen to her! That's why I reached out for help with dosing and throwing that in there too. She seems like she would always be hungry but I don't know, ECID.

Part of me feels, she's my baby, and I want to do what I can for her to help her in any possible situation that could arise. If that means trying a reduction, missing a shot, feeding extra or less then that's what I want to do for her. It's easy to get lost in all of the guidelines reading this and reading that and I know they are there from experience for a reason, so I just keep reading.
 
I think we're on the same page--if you're seeing limes, and you can't test to verify, attempting a reduction may not be the worst idea. TR is an aggressive protocol but we still need to keep our babies safe!
 
Safe surfing Monster while mama's at work.

When I first joined here i couldn't decide which protocol to follow. I was leaning more towards SLGS and was scared of TR but someone (one of the senior memebers), cannot remeber who now convinced me to choose TR and it was probably one of the best decisions. Remeber that you can also switch back if TR is too aggressive or doesn't work with your lifestyle.
Hope this helps
🥰💕🐈‍⬛🤗🐾
 
Last edited:
Safe surfing Monster while mama's at work.

When I first joined here i couldn't decide which protocol to follow. I was leaning more towards SLGS and was scared or TR but someone (one of the senior memebers), cannot remeber who now convinced me to choose TR and it was probably one of the best decisions. Remeber that you can also switch back if TR is too aggressive or doesn't work with your lifestyle.
Hope this helps
🥰💕🐈‍⬛🤗🐾
Thanks Karolina.
I was following SLGS and decided to switch to TR after reading more about it. I think she would still be running very high numbers if we were still on SLGS, but it was the right choice starting out and getting used to all of this.
 
Yup! Wendy told me she felt we'd have better (& quicker) success if we went with TR. I never imagined I could poke my little boy's ears as often as needed. But he's doing so well now. Thanks in huge part to you.:)
Hope it works out well for Monster.🥰
 
Oh boy! @Allie & Gen I feel your pain on applying the Libre solo. She was afraid of the clippers, again and kept trying to move away from me. But I got a spot shaved! Cleaned it off. Then the skin tac wipes. The first one I did, stayed in the applicator, it didn't stick to her AT ALL! So the next one I tried, I left it pushed down on her and that is when she gets mad and attacks. I tried to lift it slowly to see that it was on her and that's when she got me and bloodied up my hand. It's not real bad, but it didn't feel good, I can tell you that! I managed to get it scanned and now waiting the hour to see if it works or if I messed that one up too! I'm so lucky that I had help with the first one and the fact it is still on her now. When she calms down, I plan on trying to remove it with coconut oil as @Staci & Ivy suggested.

Yes, I was able to get more than one. I got 4 in total so I only have one more as a refill and then will have to ask the Vet for more.
 
Oh boy! @Allie & Gen I feel your pain on applying the Libre solo. She was afraid of the clippers, again and kept trying to move away from me. But I got a spot shaved! Cleaned it off. Then the skin tac wipes. The first one I did, stayed in the applicator, it didn't stick to her AT ALL! So the next one I tried, I left it pushed down on her and that is when she gets mad and attacks. I tried to lift it slowly to see that it was on her and that's when she got me and bloodied up my hand. It's not real bad, but it didn't feel good, I can tell you that! I managed to get it scanned and now waiting the hour to see if it works or if I messed that one up too! I'm so lucky that I had help with the first one and the fact it is still on her now. When she calms down, I plan on trying to remove it with coconut oil as @Staci & Ivy suggested.

Yes, I was able to get more than one. I got 4 in total so I only have one more as a refill and then will have to ask the Vet for more.
Ouch! Regan, I'm sorry, that sounds rough. I will say, my successful (third) application of Gen's sensor was helped along by tweezers, exactly as @Staci & Ivy and @Brianna & Xander advised. I used them to hold the edge of the paper down before I removed the applicator.

Monster, for shame, be nice to your mom!

(Also, I have now tried both coconut oil and Brava spray for removal, and I thought the Brava spray was worth the money and delivery time, honestly. Much less messy; would recommend!)
 
Ouch! Regan, I'm sorry, that sounds rough. I will say, my successful (third) application of Gen's sensor was helped along by tweezers, exactly as @Staci & Ivy and @Brianna & Xander advised. I used them to hold the edge of the paper down before I removed the applicator.

Monster, for shame, be nice to your mom!

(Also, I have now tried both coconut oil and Brava spray for removal, and I thought the Brava spray was worth the money and delivery time, honestly. Much less messy; would recommend!)
Thanks for sharing. I'll admit, I was looking on her for the sensor like where did it go.... still in the applicator UGH! But then I tried a butter knife on the second one after holding it down a few seconds and I think I managed to save that one, for now.
I didn't order the Brava spray because she is so scared of sprays and noises... so I tried the coconut oil method. I soaked a cotton ball and went around it and eventually under it and it took a minute but it worked! That first one was really stuck on there good. Too bad it didn't last 😟
How's Gen today?
 
Oh, fair point about the spray. Gen has been inconsistent in his feelings about the various things I apply to his skin. (I have to say, I am envious that you at least haven't had to deal with removing vetbond. His skin on the side where they applied it is still mad, I'm using medicated wipes twice a day right now.)

I hope this sensor lasts for you! Mine's been on for almost a week now ... I'm trying not to think about that lest I jinx it. 😅

Gen's doing fine, more of the same really. I've been keeping up with his spreadsheet, but I've had a really rough workday and just didn't have capacity for being social (and we were blessedly free of any new emergency questions). Hopefully I'll post properly tomorrow - it's bedtime now!
 
Oh boy! @Allie & Gen I feel your pain on applying the Libre solo. She was afraid of the clippers, again and kept trying to move away from me. But I got a spot shaved! Cleaned it off. Then the skin tac wipes. The first one I did, stayed in the applicator, it didn't stick to her AT ALL! So the next one I tried, I left it pushed down on her and that is when she gets mad and attacks. I tried to lift it slowly to see that it was on her and that's when she got me and bloodied up my hand. It's not real bad, but it didn't feel good, I can tell you that! I managed to get it scanned and now waiting the hour to see if it works or if I messed that one up too! I'm so lucky that I had help with the first one and the fact it is still on her now. When she calms down, I plan on trying to remove it with coconut oil as @Staci & Ivy suggested.

Yes, I was able to get more than one. I got 4 in total so I only have one more as a refill and then will have to ask the Vet for more.
Have them give you a prescription for “as needed” with enough refills to last a year (even if you don’t need them)
 
Oh, fair point about the spray. Gen has been inconsistent in his feelings about the various things I apply to his skin. (I have to say, I am envious that you at least haven't had to deal with removing vetbond. His skin on the side where they applied it is still mad, I'm using medicated wipes twice a day right now.)

I hope this sensor lasts for you! Mine's been on for almost a week now ... I'm trying not to think about that lest I jinx it. 😅

Gen's doing fine, more of the same really. I've been keeping up with his spreadsheet, but I've had a really rough workday and just didn't have capacity for being social (and we were blessedly free of any new emergency questions). Hopefully I'll post properly tomorrow - it's bedtime now!
I completely understand!
Have a good, restful night 🌙
 
Have them give you a prescription for “as needed” with enough refills to last a year (even if you don’t need them)
I did ask for PRN script and that's when they said " well usually call them in one at a time, but will provide you with refills so if one fails you can go get a refill"
I may end up finding a new Vet. There is one here in town that is called Cats only!
 
It seems quite a few people had a hard day today. I, for one, thought I was doing alright today but then......
I tested Monster for her PMPS and lifted her shirt to check out the sensor, she got an attitude, and turned and bit my hand, not breaking the skin, and vocally told me what she thought of me messing with that area. I, of course, tried explaining to her I was just looking at it, and it hit me. I broke down and started bawling like a baby for about 5 minutes. Feeling so tired and overwhelmed by everything going on and how I've been non stop with all of this since it began, only a month ago but it feels like 6 months. I look at her ss and think, wow that was only 4 days ago, it feels like 2 weeks. I have neglected so much else in my day to day life, I don't even know which way is up anymore. It's hard and it's not getting any easier anytime soon. So I'll take that moment and I'll continue on because no one else is going to do it and she surely can't do it herself. That's my baby and I'm all she has.

I thought I would share that because maybe someone else feels the same way sometimes.
 
I thought I would share that because maybe someone else feels the same way sometimes.
Every single day since this started. It's like you have to drop literally everything else, except none of that goes away and you and your surroundings and the rest of your life just gets more and more neglected.

That said... There are very good days and very bad days, and while it takes time... The good days start to be the majority.

We're a few days away from our first FD anniversary and my wildest dreams didn't put us having made even the progress we have. My kitty has other issues in addition to the FD that are new to me and thus I'm back in the "I can't do this" pit of despair but it helps me to know that I thought that about the FD a year ago and now that's the "easy" part.

It's easier said than done because I didn't even take my own advice, but please take care of yourself too. I know it feels like every drop of life in you needs to go to your baby (I feel it too), but we're no good to them if we've run ourselves into the ground. Take time for yourself, even if it's as little as making sure you're drinking enough water. Hang in there. 💜
 
I did ask for PRN script and that's when they said " well usually call them in one at a time, but will provide you with refills so if one fails you can go get a refill"
I may end up finding a new Vet. There is one here in town that is called Cats only!
Well that’s absurd. It’s not your fault.
Maybe you could try explaining to them these sensors can fail and you need to be able to get new ones asap (I always always have many extras at home)
And the vet office may not be open to help you.
It’s just the reality.
I believe vet offices really don’t understand very much about the practical implications of using these devices and how nimble we as the pet owners must be 😢
 
Every single day since this started. It's like you have to drop literally everything else, except none of that goes away and you and your surroundings and the rest of your life just gets more and more neglected.

That said... There are very good days and very bad days, and while it takes time... The good days start to be the majority.

We're a few days away from our first FD anniversary and my wildest dreams didn't put us having made even the progress we have. My kitty has other issues in addition to the FD that are new to me and thus I'm back in the "I can't do this" pit of despair but it helps me to know that I thought that about the FD a year ago and now that's the "easy" part.

It's easier said than done because I didn't even take my own advice, but please take care of yourself too. I know it feels like every drop of life in you needs to go to your baby (I feel it too), but we're no good to them if we've run ourselves into the ground. Take time for yourself, even if it's as little as making sure you're drinking enough water. Hang in there. 💜
Perfectly said, @Brianna & Xander
We all understand exactly how you feel Regan 🫂
@Monster's Mom
 
I didn't order the Brava spray because she is so scared of sprays and noises...
Esse too, I spray a bit in the lid of the container before we start and apply it with a q-tip. Works just as well.

I did ask for PRN script and that's when they said " well usually call them in one at a time, but will provide you with refills so if one fails you can go get a refill"
Also, if it helps, this is the wording I used when I emailed my vet. We have also had issues with them prescribing multiples correctly and they will not give me a PRN prescription. "I would like to request a refill for Esse's Libre 3+ glucose monitors. Please write the prescription for five or more Libres, to be filled all at once, not individually one at a time. (As we apply the Libres at home and they occasionally fail early, we like to keep multiple on hand at any given time.)"

I'm so sorry you have had such a tough day! Monster, please be nice, no biting!
 
It seems quite a few people had a hard day today. I, for one, thought I was doing alright today but then......
I tested Monster for her PMPS and lifted her shirt to check out the sensor, she got an attitude, and turned and bit my hand, not breaking the skin, and vocally told me what she thought of me messing with that area. I, of course, tried explaining to her I was just looking at it, and it hit me. I broke down and started bawling like a baby for about 5 minutes. Feeling so tired and overwhelmed by everything going on and how I've been non stop with all of this since it began, only a month ago but it feels like 6 months. I look at her ss and think, wow that was only 4 days ago, it feels like 2 weeks. I have neglected so much else in my day to day life, I don't even know which way is up anymore. It's hard and it's not getting any easier anytime soon. So I'll take that moment and I'll continue on because no one else is going to do it and she surely can't do it herself. That's my baby and I'm all she has.

I thought I would share that because maybe someone else feels the same way sometimes.
That is just ... exceptionally relatable, yes. I broke down in my therapy session on Tuesday night sobbing because I'm all my boy has and sometimes I feel like I'm not nearly enough. (And sometimes people are weird about pets being so important to you, which is just an awful feeling on top of everything else!)

Anyway, you are not alone, and I'm sorry it's so hard. It really is. ❤️ But also you're doing amazing, and Monster may not be able to understand all of it, but she's lucky to have you.
 
Back
Top