12/10 Molly AMPS245 +1 263 +5 196 EAT Molly Goshdarnnit!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

macal

Member Since 2012
Good morning everyone Happy Monday ~O)

Molly's numbers are coming down quite nicely, especially now that I've figured out how to get the stinking bubble out of the syringe so she's getting the right dose.

She's only on 0.5 U but I'm stressing because she really really really won't eat much at mealtimes. This morning I got her to eat a tablespoon of tuna and about

a tablespoon of turkey. She looks happy and healthy I'm just worried about the whole thing where they need to have food on board when you give the shot.

How much food? I gave her the shot this morning anyway and measured a +1 before I left so there was a little food spike.....

I'll be going home for lunch so can check on her and give her snacks, plus there's 3 bowls of three different kinds of canned cat food out. My house smells like a

giant tin of tuna these days and I've got company coming next weekend for 3 weeks....there's got to be a better way! Any suggestions?

Yesterdays #s

PMPS 223
0.5 U 7:30 PM
+3.5 114
+5 113
+7 144
 
Re: 12/10 Molly AMPS245 +1 263 EAT Molly Goshdarnnit!!

First, don't stress! (I know -- easy to say. I have a cat that's a hoover.)

One of the big differences with Lantus vs. the shorter acting types of insulin is that you have a longer window of time when food needs to be on board. With other insulin, the cat should eat before your shoot. With Lantus and Levemir, onset isn't immediate. You have an hour or two before the insulin actually starts working. If you look at the "ideal" curve in the New to the Group sticky, you'll see a food spike at +1, numbers are at about pre-shot range at +2 and then numbers start to come down thereafter.

It's really OK for Molly to graze. Frequent, small meals or grazing is easier on the pancreas.

At some point soon, I think you need to consider increasing Molly's dose. Her numbers look good but I'd love to see her in more blue and green.
 
Re: 12/10 Molly AMPS245 +1 263 EAT Molly Goshdarnnit!!

With Lantus they don't really need food on board before or at the same time you give the shot, as the onset of the insulin is usually not until about +2. I myself, would want to make sure she's eating by +1 or before you leave for the day.
You did the right thing to leave several bowls of food out for her, for when she feels like eating.
 
Re: 12/10 Molly AMPS245 +1 263 EAT Molly Goshdarnnit!!

Like Sienna, I too have a hoover, and when I give Blackie's shot then feed, she usually spikes +1, and the begins the decent from +2 onward (usually until +3), and then climbs back up again.
 
Re: 12/10 Molly AMPS245 +1 263 +5 196 EAT Molly Goshdarnnit!

Well, she seems to be ok and must've nibbled on something although it doesn't look like anything's been touched....her +5 BG is 196.

Sienne how funny that you should suggest a dose increase....my vet left a message on my phone that she's looked over Molly's #s and thinks that while we're seeing better numbers than without insulin, it's time to increase the dose to 1U. I'll bump it up gradually since I'm a huge chicken :lol:

Because of my nerves, I'm going to wait until the weekend and bump her up to 0.75 Friday. I'd rather be home for the first few days.

Thanks.....still not sure what to do about the food thing though......one of my other kitties has mild diarrhea from all of the food changes going on lately!
Currently feeding the Merrick brands...the low carb low phosphorous ones since one of my kitties is in kidney failure as well......too much to think about.....
 
Re: 12/10 Molly AMPS245 +1 263 +5 196 EAT Molly Goshdarnnit!

Hi guys,

Rusty is a "grazer" and "free feeder". He very rarely eats the food in his dish all at once. I don't worry about it as long as I think he is getting enough over a 24-hour period. I always put out a meal-size bowl of food at bedtime and it is always gone by morning. I think he does a lot of his best eating at night (he sleeps with us, gets up to eat, comes back to sleep, etc. etc.)

Perhaps you should feed a brand with slightly more carbs. The Merricks 96% meat foods are only 2% carbs. Rusty will eat Merricks occasionally, but does not prefer them. (It seems to be that "more carbs" = better taste!) I have had the most luck on a regular basis with Wellness Turkey and Wellness Chicken (4% carbs and more calories per ounce: 40 kcal per ounce, which is about twice the calories ounce- for- ounce as in Merricks 96%). Even though Rusty does not eat a great "quantity" of food, he gets enough calories. Maybe this would work for Molly, too.
Of course, you have more than one cat, so eating arrangements are more complicated. I believe that Wellness Turkey is low enough in phosphorous to be OK for a renal kitty.

Good luck with Molly's dosecrease.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/10 Molly AMPS245 +1 263 +5 196 EAT Molly Goshdarnnit!

With the protocol we follow, with Molly's nadirs being below 300, you'd want to increase only by 0.25u. I agree with you -- raising Molly's dose to 1.0u could be too aggressive. You don't want to miss what could be a good dose for your kitty. You may need to get her to 1.0u but it's safer to raise the doses systematically.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top