12/10 Lucy PMPS=229;+2=169 // Cycle Count & Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

12/9 AMPS=178; +2=184; +10.5=175
12/9 PMPS=185; +2=157; +4=173; +6.75=176; +11=214

12/10 AMPS=209; +2=203; +10=214
12/10 PMPS=229; +2=169; +5=151

Since last night, Lucy isn't doing so well, and I suspect another pancreatitis flare.
Her pancreatitis is chronic, and it flares up once in a while, but I'm not sure if that's what it is this time.
Lucy's appetite didn't improve much last night after bupe, but I though her posture became more relaxed.
I gave her another dose of bupe about 2 hours before breakfast/AMPS.
The alarm woke her up and she vomited a small amount of formy liquid en route to LB.
So I gave her pepcid too.
About 30 minutes before breakfast, I gave her cypro because I had a feeling she wouldn't eat otherwise.
With all these meds on board, she ate the 1st breakfast fine by finger-feeding.
I went ahead with cypro because I was pretty sure she wasn't nauseated, but it's making her confused between not feeling too good and wanting to eat.

She pooped this morning, but it was a bit soft.
She's been drinking a lot this morning.

I didn't think Lucy was responding to this dose. Since I decided that I would increase her dose steadily until I hit the magic dose, my plan was to increase her dose tomorrow PM.
But then I might have given her a partial fur shot last night.
I know it wasn't a total fur shot. The reason I suspect a partial fur shot is because I smelled lantus on her fur very strongly last night.
I always smell lantus on her after a shot because of expelled overdrawn juice, but the smell was unusually strong last night.
:?: Should I re-count cycles from this cycle because of this possible fur shot? :?:


Thank you for your advice/suggestion!
Sending vines to all in need!
 
Re: 12/10 Lucy AMPS=209 // Cycle Count & Dose

i think i would wait and look at her cycle today and decide by that if i really didn't get the full amount in.

hoping she feels better for eating this morning. you do a wonderful job of caring for her, mariko. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/10 Lucy AMPS=209 // Cycle Count & Dose

I hope Lucy starts feeling better soon. I'm glad she ate for you this morning.
 
Re: 12/10 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=203 // Cycle Count & Dose

Thank you, Julie and Carla.

Cypro is really kicking in now almost 3 hours after giving it to her.
She started begging for food about 30 minutes ago, and now even eating the 3rd breakfast by herself.
I'm not 100% happy about it as it's just cypro talking, but still it's way better than not eating.
(I gave her 1/4 tablet as prescribed by the vet, not a tiny crumb like Liz&Anne do, because I was afraid of not giving her enough, but maybe I should have given her a smaller piece....
I tend to worry more about not giving enough than giving too much.)

Julie, thank you for your advice.
I am not sure how good of an indication today's cycle will be to see how much insulin got in last night because of her condition (possible pain, possible inflammation....).
If her health was normal, I'd say definitely a fur shot last night, but I don't know if today's high is due to the fur shot or pancreatitis or other health issue or combination.
I'll keep posting her numbers today.
I am hoping that if you have time this evening, you would check back and you or someone else will help me decide when the next dosecrease should take place if her number doesn't improve.
Evening cycle will be a better indication, I think, because she gets prednisolone in the morning.
Thank you so much again!
 
Re: 12/10 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=203 // Cycle Count & Dose

I'm not sure what to tell you about dose, with all that is going on, but I am sending tons of feel better prayers to Lucy. Yes, cypro-induced eating is better than not eating!! I hope she's feeling much better this evening....
 
Re: 12/10 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=203 // Cycle Count & Dose

I know the correct technical answer. it would be to start counting your cycles over again if you are pretty confident she didn't get her full dose.

But she hasn't had a green number in about 10 days . . . and you've increased from 1.25 to 1.5 to 1.75. she is holding steady around 200 today, so it's not like her numbers are awful. and you're not positive you gave her a furshot (at least that's what I think you were saying.) I think if she were mine, and I were going to be home to take care of her and had all the supplies, I might go ahead and increase as you planned. But a case could be made for waiting as well.

I just don't think it's clearcut either way, so I guess I would suggest going with your intuition about it. Perhaps others will chime in with some thoughts about it.
 
Re: 12/10 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=203 // Cycle Count & Dose

Yay to eating, and personally I don't fuss about why they eat, as long as they do :-D I hope everything starts kicking in and she gets doing better soon. You are so amazing with her :-D
 
Re: 12/10 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=203 // Cycle Count & Dose

Hi Mariko,

I don't have any dosing advice, except good luck with whatever you decide. Sending feel better vines for Miss Lucy. I hope this flare up passes quickly. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/10 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=203 // Cycle Count & Dose

I also agree with Julie to play it by ear, and whether you can be home to monitor.
If she is having pain, it may be causing her numbers to go up, but if her pain becomes controlled, she may go down again too.

Do you give her Ondansetron for nausea? When J.D. has a bout of pancreatitis, I give him ondansetron and cypro for eating.
I know you said she didn't seem nauseated. I'm glad she's eating for you.
 
Re: 12/10 Lucy PMPS=229 // Cycle Count & Dose

Hi Mariko,
I'm pretty sure I would be conservative and not do an increase at this time. You have so many meds on board, and you can't trust her to eat without the meds. Also, if it was a partial fur shot, her shed will have to refill on the next good shot. If you also increase the dose, the shed will have to cope with refilling from the fur shot and also with it's new "state" occasioned by the increased dose. So all of the insulin will not be available to work on the blood glucose. You may see some strange numbers and you won't be sure which of the variables caused them.

I think I would just sit tight for a while, but that is me being cautious.

Hope you have a good evening; sending feel-better vines to Lucy,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/10 Lucy PMPS=229 // Cycle Count & Dose

Thank you for your visit and advice/suggestion.
Thank you also for your vines.

I made an appointment to see the vet this evening, but when I came home, She seemed better even though she it had been over 12 hours since the last bupe.
So I cancelled the vet visit for today.
If I went, it would have delayed her shot time quite a bit, and I didn't want to keep her this high if she didn't need to be seen.

I am happy to report to you that her appetite was pretty decent, and she ate the 1st dinner in shorter amount of time than I expected by finger-feeding.
It might have been a residual effect of this morning's cypro?
I don't know if the effect of cypro lasts so long.
Anyway I am holding both bupe and cypro for now, and will see how she'll do tonight.

I think she stayed yellow all day today.
It makes me think that I probably did give her a furshot last night, and she didn't get much insulin.
I'll see how this cycle goes......
Even if I do not start counting the cycles over again, I think I will delay the planned dosecrease.
Maybe I'll do it on Thursday PM, so she will have had 10 cycles from the beginning of this dose, and 5 cycles from after the possible furshot.
This way, I am not far off either way.....
I'll see how she does this cycle and tomorrow, and play it by year like Julie and Dyana suggested.....

Dyana - I have cerenia for nausea.
And it was you who strongly suggested I keep anti-nausea meds at home. :-D
And I am so thankful for it!
I didn't use it today, but it certainly helped us a couple of times with not-eating situation.
 
Re: 12/10 Lucy PMPS=229 // Cycle Count & Dose

Hmmm
Thank you, Ella!!
Maybe I'll wait till Friday AM...
Then she will have 6 cycles before the next increase after the furshot....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top