? 12/10 Gouda AMPS 315, PMPS 42? I wish we could find the right dose.

LaurenandGouda

Member Since 2018
Am I doing something wrong here? I've been tracking my boy daily for months, and he seems to be either really high or really low lately. I just did a curve the day before yesterday and his lowest was 189, and according to SLGS method, "if nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl , increase the dose by 0.25 unit" -- in doing so, he's now so low (42) that I have to skip his insulin altogether tonight. Each time I give him a reduction, thinking he earned it, he's way up high in the 300-400 range again. I'm just so confused. What is the goal? Is the goal for him to be between 90-150 most days? Thanks for any advice...


Goudie.jpg
 
When I try to look at your spreadsheet, it says I don’t have permission to look at it. Can’t help without that.
 
Got it this time, :)

I would go back to 1.25 units. You increased too quickly back to 1.5 units on Decenmber 8 PM, which is too much insulin now. SLGS says to hold the dose for 7 days after a reduction, unless he goes below 90 again. What you saw after the last low, and will likely see again, is a bounce, a temporary condition that causes high numbers. It can take up to six cycles to resolve a bounce. So just be patient and hold the 1.25 unit dose for a week.
 
I feel you so hard with this. Sherlock's PM number today was bananas, so low after we're still seeing higher numbers in the AM. I don't get it, either. But I guess it means a reduction and trying again. It really does take a lot of patience.

Good luck to you and your sweet-faced boy.
 
Got it this time, :)

I would go back to 1.25 units. You increased too quickly back to 1.5 units on Decenmber 8 PM, which is too much insulin now. SLGS says to hold the dose for 7 days after a reduction, unless he goes below 90 again. What you saw after the last low, and will likely see again, is a bounce, a temporary condition that causes high numbers. It can take up to six cycles to resolve a bounce. So just be patient and hold the 1.25 unit dose for a week.

That makes me feel better. Thanks, will do!
 
I feel you so hard with this. Sherlock's PM number today was bananas, so low after we're still seeing higher numbers in the AM. I don't get it, either. But I guess it means a reduction and trying again. It really does take a lot of patience.

Good luck to you and your sweet-faced boy.
Thank you! It's good to know others go through the same literal ups and downs. Good luck to you and yours as well! :cat:
 
Not only are we SF fans (we’ve had six), we also are fellow Arizonans! We live in Tucson. Gouda is VVVERRRYYYY cute!!!

From which breeder did you get Gouda? Our current two, Tobey and Livia (shown below) are from Coupari Scottish Folds :)

View attachment 40958

Such sweet babies! Do yours also do “silent meows”? Gouda can be so quiet, compared to my orange tabby. I adopted him from a local rescue, so I’m not sure who the breeder was... but he was rescued from a home in Arizona.
 
Such sweet babies! Do yours also do “silent meows”? Gouda can be so quiet, compared to my orange tabby. I adopted him from a local rescue, so I’m not sure who the breeder was... but he was rescued from a home in Arizona.
Bless you for adopting him. Yes....folds are very quiet although my boy is pretty talkative for a fold. Livvie (the blue one) is really, really quiet. She has to really want something to meow.
 
Back
Top