12/10 Duncan, apms 371, +5 293, pmps 340

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaraM2261

Member Since 2011
So, my vet wants to keep us at 1u, but I have been wanting an increase for a long time. So, using the tight regulation protocol I have made my own more subtle protocol. I am sneaking the dose up if protocol calls for an increase. And the vet can deal with it! Instead of doing a "fat" dose tonight I went Off The Line. (I am feeling like a rebel here. Major rule follower going Off The Line tonight!) So we are prescribed 1u, but I am seeing 300"s pre-shot regularly enough to increase, and not seeing blue or green much at all. So I increased at the 4th cycle to 1 fat meaning not even with the line, but plunger even with the bottom of the line but still touching. Now, tonight I am calling it a fat fat dose (ff on the sheet) which is probably somewhere close to 1.16u or so? Not 1u and not 1.25u. Going super slow over here. Going to do that for 3-5 cycles and see what happens.

ALSO made the connection that Duncan was eating Fancy Feast, not Friskies when he was in the blue that one day. So, back to Fancy Feast (and he likes it a lot better too!). I am going to do my best to feed him small meals of FF to fill him up so that he will be full enough to stay away from the dry food over night more. Also made the connection that I chose the *wrong* "flavor of EVO dry. weight management has 13% carbs compared to much lower for the other flavors. (maybe I'm the carb addict here!) So, I need to see what the return policy is (if any) at Chuck and Buster's (I *always* get this name wrong and DH teases me constantly about it!). But yea, that place. :) And get the other flavor. Also DH feeling very guilty over feeding Science Diet all these years after doing his own research about the ingredients and carb content the other day. So, PROGRESS people!!!! PROGRESS!!!! Happy to keep moving forward even if it is baby steps with us and the food thing.

Thanks for being here, I think about all of you all day long. Every time I polkakitty. :) Doin' the sugar dance. What's that you ask? It's a polka for sure! :) Nighty night.

Sara M and Duncan
 
LOL Sara. You are quite the rebel!!

You are doing the right thing, IMO. Even if it is "stealth" increases. Duncan does need more insulin. Monday will be one week and perhaps Dr. H will agree with the increase then, with the "proof" on your spreadsheet.

I was going to ask about the dry, but I went back through your posts and found the following. So I will zipper it.

I know the dry could be messing things up. It is LC now at least. I do have to do it or there will be fur flying over night. They fight over wet if we are asleep, and they cry if there isn't anything in the dish. I have heard the stats, and read the articles. It is definitely something I will talk with my vet about. But for this house hold apart from locking someone up (our cats sleep with us all night so this would be a major sacrifice for either my husband or myself) I don't see how we can get Duncan 100% wet all day and all night.

So, I need to table this discussion. I'm doing everything I can right now. I do appreciate the concern, and I will definitely keep thinking of a way to do it that will work for us.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top