12/10 Charlie amps: hi (>600), 5u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Member Since 2010
Amps: HI (>600), 5u

BOOOIIINNG! I guess he mustve dropped a little too low for his comfort. I reduced to 5u instead of my usual 6u because his insulin needs at "lower" numbers has reduced recently, so I can only assume the same for his high numbers. But really it's just trial and error at this point trying to find a sliding scale that is going to work for him.
 
just catching up...Congratulations on the news that you're having a boy. That's wonderful.
Charlie has been doing awesome, Claudia. Give him some extra scritches from us. cat_pet_icon
 
Morning, try not to shoot what you know to be a bounce number because it will clear. I guess I would stick with the lower doses like you have been doing, you've had great instincts for it.

You are right, it is a guessing game but you are doing AWESOME!
 
+4.5: 279
Thanks Marcy and Robin! It's so hard to figure out what to shoot when his numbers seem to be getting better. I wonder how people do it? I wish I knew an insulin-dependent diabetic to ask. I guess it's easier for them because they can feel when their sugar drops so they can react to it. I wish Charlie would learn to talk!
 
claudia, i may have told you the 2 scariest times of FD....diagnosis, and heading toward remission. now in your case it's definetly different, you are NOT heading to remission just yet :lol: but it is like you were stuck in dx-ville for months and now you are heading down so this is definetly the time to be very attentive.
i believe that +4.5 yesterday was the real deal. i think this is your bounce. you may have to do more testing now than when he was routinely high....as you don't want to miss his typical nadar or how fast he falls or how fast he rises.
your instincts have been wonderful...did someone suggest that lower dose this am or did you just intuit it? very good call.
a curve today
a curve tomorow
getting info now will likely get you in the groove where you can trust you will not always need to be hunting for info indefinetly.
+2 +4 +6 +8 all good to have.
soooooo happy for you and charlie. i hoped so hard you'd have a break before christmas :mrgreen:
 
6.5: 321

I'll test again in 2 hours.
Lori- I just gave an educated guess on reducing his dose this am. I'm glad you all agree that it was the right thing to do. Thanks for the support! It's good to know I'm learning a bit. My goal of regulation my not be the loftiest goal in the fd world, but I'm taking this one step at a time.
 
so essentially in 2 hours he's had no movement. let's see when he starts to spike.
 
Dosing 101

You want your nadir to be about 50% to 65% drop from PS. But you don't want it to be too low, I try to stay around 60.

If your next PS is lower than the previous PS then lower the dose.

If your next PS is higher than the previous PS then raise the dose. But you also have to factor in things like is he eating as usual, is he feeling ok, did something stressfull happen today, did he vomit, etc.

If he gets a lower number than usual and his liver panics don't increase your insulin dose because the bounce will clear and if he got a lower nadir than usual maybe it was too much insulin.

Ideally you would like your PS's about the same when you get to better numbers but something to keep in mind.

Does that help?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top