12/10 Butters AMPS 376/+3 383/

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday 3/5 on the Ps (no play or preen). I woke up to get a +8 overnight and she was over 400. Womp Womp.:p

Vet called me yesterday evening to chat about last week's seizure. I had emailed him when it happened as an FYI for her file. He thinks that, because she had them when she was younger, that it is highly unlikely to be a flag for anything serious warranting a neurologist consult. So that's some good news.:)

Today, another uninteresting post for Butters, as she slides in just below 400 to start the day. Increased dose to 3.375U this morning.

Have a good day, all!
 
She seems to be bouncing from long stretches of yellow, bounce started last night. I don't think you needed to test again.

I notice you've been feeding beef a lot. Do you ever rotate proteins? I had a basic 4 that I rotated through, with a couple other ones I'd throw in the rotation once in a while.

Good luck with the increase.
Okay. I don't know why I am testing when I don't need to. Unbridled optimism, maybe.

I rotate proteins: right now I try for beef-lamb-pork-poultry (sometimes venison), with the premix add-in. I hope that's balanced enough. She reliably eats the beef and pork. I have to rotate no more than weekly rather than daily basis because that's Butters. She doesn't like a different flavour at each meal or even each day.:rolleyes:

I'm stuck in a lockdown and now in isolation again so it is challenging to get what I need.:( I have enough for her it just happens to be mainly beef and some pork in my freezer. When I was last at the butcher, it was a little on the empty side.:(

I noticed you rotated kangaroo-elk-venison-chicken with Neko, do I have that right? Why did you select these proteins? Did you ever consult with a nutritionist vet, or did you develop your girl's diet based on your own research?

Thanks Wendy.
 
Hope Butters slides down for you, Lyla :bighug: And, FWIW, I always find it interesting when you post and am always impressed with your bit of humor (and patience clothing closet :p) :bighug:
 
Good luck with the increase.
I noticed you rotated kangaroo-elk-venison-chicken with Neko, do I have that right? Why did you select these proteins? Did you ever consult with a nutritionist vet, or did you develop your girl's diet based on your own research?
The elk was a later addition to Neko's meals. Chicken/turkey/kangaroo or lamb/venison was the original rotation. Neko wasn't fussy, but I rotated every day. Access to a nutritionist vet was hard here. I did ask my vet once if she knew someone, the answer was no. So I got a lot of my knowledge from raw pet food suppliers. I had a good friend who worked at a job sourcing proteins at a raw pet food manufacturer nearby, plus the folks at a couple of raw pet food stores are really knowledgeable.

I wanted a mix of lean and fattier meats for Neko, not all one or the other. Cost was also a factor, given her insulin appetite. :rolleyes: It was better when I made my own with a premix. When I went to making my own, then I was limited to what meats the exotic meat butcher had, plus I could get some bulk plain meats from the raw pet food store. Since then, a new locally owned grocery store opened up nearby that sells organic meats, and does delivery. :cool:

One of the things I considered was whether the meat was a warm or cool meat, and the time of year. More about that here. I was also concerned about weight gain so calories was also a consideration as was carbs. Kangaroo is a higher carb meat by a couple points. And I had to change the diet somewhat when Neko was diagnosed with CKD, less commercially available and more home made.
 
Back
Top