12/1 Zeke - BG +21 = 444 DOSE ADVICE

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
So, I'm thinking of doing 2u come AMPS if >= 444 (his BG @ +9). Thoughts? After that I'm leaning towards a skinny 2 versus the 1.75u. On 11/24, Zeke dropped to 41 and a shaved 2 was suggested vs the decrease of 0.25u to 1.75U (see here: Shaved 2 advice

I however decided to keep Zeke at 2u since his numbers hadn't been that great on 1.75u and he'd had a failed reduction in the past. I figured I'd wait to see another < 50 before taking the decrease. Zeke did have a shaved 2u at AM 11/27 (as per the advice on 11/24) and again at PM 11/28 (due to miscommunication with DH who gave him the shot). Otherwise, Zeke has been getting 2u from 11/24 through 11/30 AM. Well, Zeke had a second <50 event ( See here: Zeke's previous post) so I do feel I should reduce. However, I'm thinking just to a shaved 2.0u.

Your thoughts?
 
Morning!

It seems to me like what you are saying makes sense, but I am never comfortable giving dosing advice (even my kitty :o ), so I hope more experienced eyes will come be here to answer your question soon!

Happy Sunday!
 
Actually, now I am considering holding the 2u for both of today's cycles unless he goes low this AM or I see a dropping PMPS number. My thought being that the skipped shot would have drained the shed some - I'd like to refill just a little. Is this a reasonable approach and correct understanding of the effect to the depot? Your thoughts are greatly appreciated.

BTW- I will take the reduction for sure tomorrow regardless of today's activity.
 
I just want to provide some clarification. There are two approaches to dose reductions. The modification of the TR protocol that most people here use indicates a dose reduction if numbers drop into the 40 - 50 range. With this option, you can shave the dose. If the dose drops below 40, you take the full 0.25u reduction.

The German counterpart of this board, has modified the protocol to include 3 drops int the 40 - 50 range to qualify for a dose reduction. Since this is a bit more aggressive, you take the full, 0.25u reduction. (You also take the full reduction if the numbers are below 40.)

Waiting for 3 drops into dose reduction range AND shaving is very aggressive. You either are going to have to monitor quite closely or choose one approach or the other.
 
Oh, ok I think I understand what you're saying. Thanks Sienne -I had not thought about this. Since Zeke has not dropped 3 times into the 40-50 range, then if he does today, I should take the full 0.25 decrease and not just shave. Correct? So if he doesn't drop again today and I still go with the shave tomorrow that would actually be a more conservative approach, correct?

Could you clarify one more thing? Is my thinking on refilling the depot due to the skip by holding the dose correct?
 
Yes, you have the idea regarding whether or not to reduce and by how much.

Any time you make a dose change -- increase, decrease, skip, shoot a temporarily reduced dose -- the cycle count starts over. What's important to remember is that dose changes are based on 6 - 10 consecutive cycles (3 - 5 consecutive days) at a given dose. Obviously, if a dose reduction is indicated, you still give the reduction you don't wait (unless you're seeing a possible back-to-back reduction situation).
 
What if he goes below 40 on the shaved dose? I know he immediately gets a (mandatory) 0.25u reduction as per Reductions. Does that mean I need to give a shaved 1.75u instead of just reducing to 1.75 since he was getting a shaved dose?
 
Never mind. Yes, a full reduction on a drop below 40 would be due. So if shaved 2u then shaved 1.75u it is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top