12/1 Webster PMPS=267 +2=102 +3.5=78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Websterthecat

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129253

We are back down to the 0.25u dose after yesterdays drop below 50. I upped his food allowance from 7.32oz per day to 8oz per day and now feed him 1oz at PS,+1,+2,and +3.

Took a nose dive in evening. Slowed down with a mix of HC and LC food - 2 Tbs HC in total
 
Re: 12/1 Webster AMPS=474 +2=417 +6=309 +7=289

Doesn't he seem to be coming down fairly gently after yesterdays bounce?

Perhaps the new feeding schedule is going to be the key to preventing early cycle dives. Then again, it might be too early to tell.

What are y'all's thoughts? :?:
 
Re: 12/1 Webster AMPS=474 +2=417 +6=309 +7=289

anytime you skip a shot, the depot is affected. I think today's cycle is reflective of that - he doesn't have a normal nadir but he is coming down - and YAY that he's not plummeting like a rock.

It usually takes a little while to see the full impact of changing to mini-meals. Just hang in there.
 
Re: 12/1 Webster AMPS=474 +2=417 +6=309 +7=289

julie & punkin (ga) said:
anytime you skip a shot, the depot is affected. I think today's cycle is reflective of that - he doesn't have a normal nadir but he is coming down - and YAY that he's not plummeting like a rock.

It usually takes a little while to see the full impact of changing to mini-meals. Just hang in there.

I hope that we are on to something. Waiting patiently to see what happens. :smile:
 
Re: 12/1 Webster AMPS=474 +2=417 +6=309 +7=289

I saw your post in Mikey's condo about the PetSafe 5 compartment feeder. That's the one we used for a long time - probably almost 2 years.

The key to having it be successful is to make sure the food tray is fully seated into the base unit. You put the tray down on the base, then there is a button to press to move the feeder around one rotation. If it goes the whole way and opens fully under the cut-out in the lid, then it's going to rotate ok through the rest of the compartments. If you don't have it down all the way into the base unit, it will only move partway and then it will be impossible for Webster to eat from the compartment. We also set the food tray in the base back one or two compartments so that we could rotate it, see that it worked, and then move on with our day without having to mess more with it. That probably doesn't make sense now, but when you get it, I think it will.

Punkin had a mighty appetite, courtesy of the acromegaly tumor. He couldn't break into the feeder. There's not really anything for the cat to get ahold of to move the tray around.

If you have any trouble with it, say so and I might be able to troubleshoot it with you. I thought it was a really good feeder and I loved having 4 covered compartments to be able to leave many mini-meals ready to go.
 
Re: 12/1 Webster AMPS=474 +2=417 +6=309 +7=289

just saw your question in yesterday's condo about the +2.

From the New to the Group? sticky:

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
How to do a Curve - a simple explanation

NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar or lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 12/1 Webster AMPS=474 +2=417 +6=309 +7=289

julie & punkin (ga) said:
I saw your post in Mikey's condo about the PetSafe 5 compartment feeder. That's the one we used for a long time - probably almost 2 years.

The key to having it be successful is to make sure the food tray is fully seated into the base unit. You put the tray down on the base, then there is a button to press to move the feeder around one rotation. If it goes the whole way and opens fully under the cut-out in the lid, then it's going to rotate ok through the rest of the compartments. If you don't have it down all the way into the base unit, it will only move partway and then it will be impossible for Webster to eat from the compartment. We also set the food tray in the base back one or two compartments so that we could rotate it, see that it worked, and then move on with our day without having to mess more with it. That probably doesn't make sense now, but when you get it, I think it will.

Punkin had a mighty appetite, courtesy of the acromegaly tumor. He couldn't break into the feeder. There's not really anything for the cat to get ahold of to move the tray around.

If you have any trouble with it, say so and I might be able to troubleshoot it with you. I thought it was a really good feeder and I loved having 4 covered compartments to be able to leave many mini-meals ready to go.

Excellent. Thank you Julie. I can't wait to give it a try.
 
Re: 12/1 Webster AMPS=474 +2=417 +6=309 +7=289

Hi Mike,

We ordered the Petsafe feeder for Clare a few months ago and we worried, too, that she would figure out how to open it or block it somehow but that didn't happen. She's a good hunter but she hasn't figured out the feeder. It's been great for making sure she has food available through the night.

I hope it does the trick for Webster.

Have a good night,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 12/1 Webster AMPS=474 +2=417 +6=309 +7=289

Georgette and Clare said:
Hi Mike,

We ordered the Petsafe feeder for Clare a few months ago and we worried, too, that she would figure out how to open it or block it somehow but that didn't happen. She's a good hunter but she hasn't figured out the feeder. It's been great for making sure she has food available through the night.

I hope it does the trick for Webster.

Have a good night,

Georgette and Clare

Thank you! I'll let you guys know how it works out.
 
Great cycle so far tonight. If you haven't already, a couple tsps of his regular LC food might help his surf.

I switched this year to the Petsafe 5 from the Qpet feeder when the latter died after two years. I do the same trick as Julie to try a sample rotate and it's worked fine for me.
 
Re: 12/1 Webster PMPS=267 +2=102 +3.5=78 +4.5=148

Wendy&Neko said:
Great cycle so far tonight. If you haven't already, a couple tsps of his regular LC food might help his surf.

I switched this year to the Petsafe 5 from the Qpet feeder when the latter died after two years. I do the same trick as Julie to try a sample rotate and it's worked fine for me.

He was still finishing up his LC food when this occurred. I'm now feeding him 1/4 (1oz) of his meal at PS,+1,+2 & +3.

I saw the drop and then gave him a Tbs of HC and retested in 30. The retest showed another drop so I gave him another tablespoon of HC. 1.5 hours after his last HC boost he's up to 148. Whoops. Didn't mean to bring him up that high.

I still need to pick up some MC food - hadn't had a chance to get out yet.

Glad to hear the Petsafe 5 is working for you. I can't wait for mine to arrive!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top