12/1 Tawny amps 294; +2/300; +4/284

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: Tawny 11/30/2011

Thank you Sienne for posting the info from Sharon/Fiona's old post re the info on interpreting Precision Xtra blood ketone readings; it helped tremendously!

Tawny's blood ketone readings:

Monday 11/28 from LVRC: urine ketones 2+ (this was the day of her post-hospital ckup, she went in & came home that same day)
Tuesday p.m.: blood ketones: 1.4
Wednesday p.m.: blood ketones: 3.0
Thursday a.m.: blood ketones 5.6; +1 / 6.3; urine ketones +2.5 from 1st blood ketone reading: Small (& this was a 4-stick check!)

I called Dr. Hebert @ LVRC after the 5.6 & 6.3 blood ketone readings this a.m., she said that she had never had anybody use a blood ketone meter & that as long as Tawny's clinical signs were good (eating, drinking, not lethargic, etc.) that I should try to get a ketone pee-stick ck & call her back, which I just got, gonna call her as soon as I post.

Tawny is not eating as well as she has been this morning tho, but she is eating, but she is grazing rather than chowing down like a horse.

I have to leave for THS pretty soon, I will try to get her to eat some more b4 I go.
 
Re: 12/1 Tawny amps 294 Blood Ketones 5.6 & 6.3; Urine: Smal

Praying that Tawny's ketones lessen.
 
Re: 12/1 Tawny amps 294; +2/300 ~ Ketone Rdgs Posted

Hi guys .. yes, I'll be praying for tawny as well, that the ketone reading goes down and that her appy stays up ..
 
Re: 12/1 Tawny amps 294; +2/300 ~ Ketone Rdgs Posted

Come on Tawny- less ketones more food! Thinking of you both.
 
Eat Tawny eat! And I am praying that those ketones go away. Glad she isn't showing any outward signs of trouble and hope she never does.

((((Desi and Tawny))))
 
Desi:

I'd increase Tawny's dose by 0.25u tonight. More insulin is the other way to combat ketones. Can you get the vet to show you how to give fluids? That will help, as well. Generally, if we see a cat with a ketostix reading of more than trace, we encourage a vet visit.

Are you using a Precision Xtra meter? The calibration may be different on a different brand of meter.
 
greetings from the ketone queen! Hey DD! Heather and Boo poked me on facebook.

I have no idea what's going on w/Tawny. are you using R? does she have an infection? what's up w/the ketones? I don't like that her BK's (blood ketones) are going up over the last few days. Fiona always ate even with high ketones, so I don't know if that's a good indicator, although ECID. Fiona also got ketones at fairly low numbers, 250'ish. After a night in the ER getting IV fluids, Fiona tested negative on the urine stick and 7.0 BK. Fluids flushed the ketones out of her kidneys but didn't take care of the underlying problem.

Lemme know if I can help. I'm off to trap feral cats, but I'll take my smart phone w/me so I'll see any reply to this email. I'm on CST and always up past 1am.
Sending no-ketone vibes Tawny's way,
Sharyn & Fiona

PS - Fiona's now at 7.5u dicking around with a drop too much or drop too little. Still our little enimga!
 
I agree with Sienne. I was hoping you took her to work with you, did you?
As much as I've read, it's best to get the insulin she needs to get those numbers down, and to give fluids if you can.
Still praying for Tawny to get rid of those ketones.
 
Thinking of you tonight, Desi, and hoping and praying that Tawny's ketone readings will get lower. Be sure to keep the vet informed about what your readings are. Did they teach you how to give fluids at the clinic? Sending lots of healing vines to Tawny; Rusty went out to pick a beautiful bouquet for her.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/1 Tawny pmps 394 Urine Ketones GONE

So, I guess this is good news and bad...

GOOD NEWS: urine ketones are GONE! Tested negative tonight, 2 pees and 3 sticks. (do you ever wonder what aliens would think of our species if they read some of our posts? :lol: :lol: )

Did not do a blood ketone test, only got 2 sticks left out of a brand new box of 10 that came Tuesday compliments of the mfr. Ordered a bunch today on eBay, cost a small fortune! TGFP (Thank God For Plastic).

BAD NEWS: BG 394. But she ate Meow Mix kibble all day. And some S/O. Picked a little at Friskies Mixed Grill laced w/kitty crack. Licks the crack off. If I mix it up, she chews the crack off and spits the rest out!

Tonight she only got Friskies LC, a new can of 8% Mixed Grill, picked at it till I put some more crumbled dried chicken treat on it (kitty crack), ate a half dozen bites of that, then stalked off.

Then Tinkerbell got her Flaked Tuna & Egg w/Sauce (5%) and Tawny decided she was hungry again. Wanted to see what Tinkie had. I was shocked when Tinkie didn't bash her on the head when Tawny stuck her face in Tinkerbell's bowl! So I opened another can of the tuna & egg and gave Tawny her own bowl, which she licked at some then decided Tink's was better. Then Tink decided Tawny's was better. Back and forth we went. Then both decided they didn't like it until I put some crumbled dried shrimp on it. Then they ate some more. Then they were done.

Ketone Question: Tawny has (unfortunately) been eating more S/O dry and Meow Mix than anything. The point was to just get her to eat, let her eat whatever she wants. No ketones while she's eating this. Then yesterday she wanted the canned Friskies, so I left 3 different kinds out for her to eat all day, and she pretty much cleaned it up. Then the ketones showed up this morning. Then she ate dry all day and now the ketones are gone. Any relevance he

To answer above posts from earlier today: We are not using R; she has/had a UTI, getting 14 days Clav, test results showed no growth tho.

I am learning already that blood ketones are different from urine ketones. Vet wants me to do urine ketone tests only (NOT).

The vet (Dr. Hebert from LVRC) made me absolutely promise not to adjust Tawny's dose w/out (1) consulting them; (2) bringing her back in 2 wks for a curve. I promised (had my fingers crossed tho!). I did not increase her dose tonight, did not read your posts til after I shot. I have no plans to let them curve her again, but I would like her to get her necessary post-hospital after care. This is going to be a difficult balance for me to work out, b/c I am inclined to increase her dose .25u as some of you suggest.

Yes, I am using the Precision Xtra blood ketone meter (thank you Heather & Boo).

The vets did not show me how to do fluids.

Sharyn & Fiona: So good to see you!
 
yay, no ketones! no idea about the food thing. May be the canned is higher carb & raised BG? Or timing? BG was higher yesterday? I would think it's something like that instead of food, but I don't know. Interesting idea tho.

No advice about vet situation either. Most vets think raising .25 is too little of a raise so may be they won't slap your wrist? Guess they don't support hometesting? :P bleh
 
Regarding the dose increase... it's been 6 cycles and it looks like her numbers could handle being lowered. With her tendency to get ketones, I'd probably want to increase for that reason too.

Now about the vets NOT wanting you to increase, I think Sharyn/Fiona had a good point. Vets don't realize we can increase in such small increments.
My policy in dealing with my vet (whom I love) is to "ask for forgiveness instead of permission." Hee hee! And she can't argue with my success after the fact. :lol:

Best of luck.
 
There isn't a difference between blood and urine ketones. Why you get different readings is the same reason you'd get different readings if you were testing blood vs. urine for glucose. When you test blood, you are getting a level that reflects real time. The numbers are what's circulating in the blood at the moment you test.

When you test urine, the test reflects what's been going on over a couple of hours and does not tell you what's happening now. It takes several hours for a cat's body to process wastes, for the urine to collect, and for the cat to make a trip to the litter box. The test you get, as a result, tells you where the ketones were several hours ago. Practically speaking, you could get no ketone reading from urine whereas you're getting a blood level that tells you to go to the ER. Providng that you have an accurate test, the blood ketones, like blood glucose, is a more reliable reading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top