? 12/1 Scooter AMPS 65 - Is it time? Dose advice

Jill & Scooter

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-60-dose-advice-please.222068/#post-2482450

Good morning!
Scooter has done very well on his 1 drop for seven days. What do you think? Is it time for that which must not be named? I would really appreciate any advice. I don’t want to jump the gun and do this too soon.

In other news the fur kids now have a stay at home dad. DH has terrible back issues and has become unable to work. He probably kept working longer than he should have, but he really didn’t want to quit. I have a house husband now! Unfortunately he is not able to do a whole lot around the house. It also means our income has been cut roughly in half. It will be difficult, but I’m sure we’ll manage some how.

Hope you all have a nice relaxing Sunday!
Prayers and vines for all kitties and beans in need!
 
Definitely according to my eyes and TR it’s time for a OTJ trial. Congrats. I’m sure a moderator will be along with official directions to get the ball rolling. Congrats and good luck.
 
This is what I recall seeing in other posts regarding instructions for OTJ trials:

  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
  • Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
Oh what a beautiful ss!!!!:D:D:D:D:D
Funny about the "that which must not be named"!! I refused to use the "R" word until I was at the vet's with Boomer the other day and had to use it. I covered Boomer's ears though.:smuggrin:
Congratulations and yes I think it's time! Good luck Scooter!
 
How exciting! I'd say Scooter is ready for a trial. I'm sorry to hear about your DH. I hope time off from work helps him feel better.
 
This is what I recall seeing in other posts regarding instructions for OTJ trials:

  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
  • Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
Thanks Christie!
 
Oh what a beautiful ss!!!!:D:D:D:D:D
Funny about the "that which must not be named"!! I refused to use the "R" word until I was at the vet's with Boomer the other day and had to use it. I covered Boomer's ears though.:smuggrin:
Congratulations and yes I think it's time! Good luck Scooter!
I have been afraid talking about it or even reading the instructions for OTJ would some how jinx it. I didn’t read the sticky on micro dosing until I had to either. :joyful::joyful::joyful:
 
Furry toes crossed that you may enter the next phase without any bumps!! You’ll have to designate your DH to light duty after some R and R like keeping grocery lists, cutting coupons, chasing the best sales at the grocery stores and the like!! Hope you have a great day! :)
 
Hey, I just wanted to say Scooters spreadsheet is beyond my wildest dreams and I am so so happy for you! Go scooter!
 
I thought I posted here earlier, but apparently not...anyway, wanted to wish you luck! It sure looks like he' ready for the final trial. Beautiful SS!! :D:D:D
 
!!!!!!!!

JILL! this is SO EXCITING!!! all of my fingers and toes are crossed for an amazing OTJ trial.... amazing in the way that it ends in a remission :D

I hope your husband is able to heal eventually, typical men, pushing themselves too far like that. I hope he feels better soon :)
 
!!!!!!!!

JILL! this is SO EXCITING!!! all of my fingers and toes are crossed for an amazing OTJ trial.... amazing in the way that it ends in a remission :D

I hope your husband is able to heal eventually, typical men, pushing themselves too far like that. I hope he feels better soon :)
Thanks Amanda! I’m very excited about the OTJ trial.
 
Back
Top