12/1 Pumbaa AMPS/209

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
NOTE: Pumbaa's SS is in reverse order, with the most current data at the top.

The last two days were bounce city, but it looks like he's finally cleared them. Hooray! Depending on what Pumbaa does today, it looks like time to increase him tomorrow morning.

One thing I've noticed is that, when he goes high now, he doesn't act like he used to act with high numbers, i.e. totally lethargic and not interacting with me or the other animals. It seems like the bounces don't bother him like they used to. Interesting.

Have great Saturdays, folks!

Suze
 
Looks like he's just been flat today, but I winder if he is fixing to give you some greens tonight?

That is interesting that the high BGs don't bother him as much now. I wonder if it's the lev or the fact that he isn't "traveling" so far, so fast, so often?
 
I think it is the lev.

Sneakers used to bounce at any low number (not that she had many) and finally she just evened out to where a low didn't send her up so high. Now she has a totally different problem going on for me to figure out. now where did I put that kitty manual again??? :roll:
 
I think 2.75U in the morning looks about right.

That will put Pumbaa and Chip on the same dose. :shock:

However Pumbaa is likely still on the way up and Chip is still holding steady for who knows how long.
 
Heather: You rebel, you! You also put your SS in reverse order with the most current information at the top! :)

Sneakers had been doing so good at 22.0U. I wonder what happened? I hope you figure it out. I'll go study more later, and see if I spot anything. Not that I'm the best at figuring out FD kitties. *LOL*

I think the problem with the FD kitty manual is that our cats refuse to read or adhere to it! (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
Looks like he's just been flat today, but I winder if he is fixing to give you some greens tonight?

That is interesting that the high BGs don't bother him as much now. I wonder if it's the lev or the fact that he isn't "traveling" so far, so fast, so often?
His flatness today is why I raised his dose tonight. *crossing my fingers* I was afraid that this dose had petered out on him.

I thought that was interesting, too, about his behavior not changing as much with the highs/bounces as it used to. I'm hoping that it's the Lev and his body finally adjusting to the shock of the bounces. I equate his bounces with me going to Quick Trip and drinking a 32 oz. frozen coffee drink and getting such a sugar high that my hands actually shake. I don't "treat" myself to those anymore. Pumbaa can't control how his body reacts to low numbers (bounces), but maybe they have become less shocking to his system?

While he could go green tonight, I would settle for some nice, stable, flat blue numbers after that 299 PMPS.
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
2.75U tonight! Let the games begin? ;-)
*LOL* I love your optimism, Chippendale's!

May Pumbaa not have to go higher than 2.75U on Levemir to finally break through and be at his perfect dose!
antijinx-emoticon.png
 
I didn't mean to make it sound like fun and games, that was poor taste. You can't hurry it up or you will only slow it down... it's a long hard slog so better get those patience pants back from the dry cleaners.

As one of the wise one's once said:
there's a funny thing about using lantus or levemir with our kitties...
every time we increase the dose, we naturally expect to see better numbers. it *usually* doesn't work that way... which can be a HUGE source of frustration for us. more often than not, we'll increase and increase and increase and increase... while not seeing much of an improvement. and then a day comes along and BAM! kitty's green! woo-hoo! time to celebrate, right?

yes, and no.

yes because gosh darn it... we're finally seeing our precious kitty in "normal" numbers, but no because what happens most of the time? our celebration grinds to an abrupt halt because they lose it and return to those yucky higher numbers. as caregivers, this is where we feel like we're repeatedly and senselessly banging our heads against a brick wall, but if you look at enough spreadsheets you begin to understand this is pretty normal. the solution? keep on keepin' on. it's just going to take more insulin before you see most kitties flatten out into normal numbers and stay there!

"this is a marathon, not a sprint"... another one of those phrases you hear so often around here. i wanted to spit every time someone said that to me when i was new to feline diabetes but it's soooooooooooooooooooooo true!
 
Chippendale's: I didn't take your comment to be in poor taste, so no need to apologize!

My patience pants are back from the cleaners, and have been altered to contain an anti-dive-paranoia coating. *LOL* Fortunately, the anti-dive-paranoia coating didn't work last night, and I didn't go to bed after the +4, but napped on the sofa instead. Otherwise I wouldn't have caught those nice greens!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top