12/1 Morris AMPS 65;+7 59; +9.5 101; PMPS 364 Dose Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57641

Work stress, school stress, hubby stress - I've had enough! ohmygod_smile I'm soooooo glad I have the day off today! My life has been really chaotic this week & I haven't had enough time to update my posts here every day, but I have been keeping Morris' spreadsheet updated.

Morris was unusally low this morning. I had time to delay a bit & get a 2nd test - my thought was that if he was going up, I would give a reduced dose, but if he was going down, I wouldn't give any insulin this morning. I was not expecting to receive EXACTLY the same number!!! I thought about it for a few moments & decided that since I would be close to home for most of the day today, I gave him a reduced dose of 0.50u rather than his usual 1.00u

I then left to take the 2 legged kids to school & to my massage appointment (therapeutic - not relaxing!). As soon as that appointment was done, I came straight home to check on Mr Morris. I was pleased to see that he had already eaten 1/2 his food! His BG has increased slightly as well - that makes me happy. I will check on him again in a little bit.

This afternoon, Morris will go to the vet for his post-dental check up.
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65; +15min 65; +2.5 85; +4 61

He hasn't eaten any more since I last checked on him - actually, it doesn't look like he has even MOVED since I last checked on him!!! :lol:

After his test, I put him back down on the floor beside his food dish - hopefully he will eat some more & not drop any lower. Will check on him again in a bit!
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65; +15min 65; +2.5 85; +4 61

Hi guys .. lovely numbers for morris today! I think at this point in the year kitties go into hibernation mode! Hope the dental check up goes well .. have a great evening!
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65; +15min 65; +2.5 85; +4 61; +5 59

Well, at least I know he moved since the last check! When I left him last time, I had put him on the floor beside his food dish - when I went to check on him now, he hadn't eaten any more & had gone back to curl up in his comfy bed!

He has dropped another smidgeon - so I put him back down beside his dish once again.
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65; +15min 65; +2.5 85; +4 61; +5 59

Those are such lovely numbers for Morris- you're doing great!
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65; +15min 65; +2.5 85; +4 61; +5 59; +

Still dropping & still not eating - I don't like it anymore! I had an idea! I used 1 of the syringes from his ab's he had & sucked up some of the water mixed in with his food & then fed it to him. Perhaps once he has that little taste it will make him want to eat a bit more!
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65; +15min 65; +2.5 85; +4 61; +5 59; +

Ok Mr. Morris - let's stop the 'drop and roll', the fire's out...those are good numbers but gives MamaBeans scares. Dat's not nice!

Hugs Gwen - hope you can REALLY get some peace and quiet soon.
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65; +4 61; +5 59; +6 52; +7 59 Dose Adv

YAY! Turned the corner finally! I gave him another dose of liquid from his food via syringe.

Time to start thinking about his insulin dose for this evening. Any thoughts/suggestions after these really low numbers??

We will be heading to see vetty bean shortly. Will post again once we get home.
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65; +4 61; +5 59; +6 52; +7 59 Dose Adv

No advice from me but this is a very nice green surf. Yeah Morris!
Liz
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65;+7 59; +9.5 101 Dose Advice? Vet Upd

Vet Update.....

The packing that was inserted into the openings where his 2 upper canines were was beginning to come out - so the vet had to remove it. This means he needs to go back onto ab's for the next 10-14 days! UGH!!! I was also given a curved syringe so that I can rinse out these holes as often as I can (will need to have dh help me with this, so it will probably only happen once per day). I will need to take Morris back for another check-up in 10 days (or sooner if I notice any problems).

Now to do some research on the ab's Morris is back on - it is liquid but the package inserts do not give any information about the non-medicinal ingredients. We are using Antirobe liquid by Pfizer.
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65;+7 59; +9.5 101 Dose Advice? Vet Upd

I have no clue what your vet did. Gabby just had 5 extractions including 2 canines. The vet put in stitches. They use disolvable stiches. I've never had packing used with a cat.
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65;+7 59; +9.5 101 Dose Advice? Vet Upd

OMG!!! I just realized you are from Diana Krall's hometown....
sheer jealousy here....

and gorgeous numbers!

i've never had a cat who had tooth extractions, but crappus on the ABs

celi
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65;+7 59; +9.5 101 Dose Advice? Vet Upd

CAN I COME VISIT YOU???

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

She's fabulous!
Her dad seems pretty cool, as well...
and i've always had a crush on her husband :-D
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65;+7 59; +9.5 101 Dose Advice? Vet Upd

To heck with Diana Krall, though I DO love her music, your home is the home of the incredibly fabulous, delicious and probably terribly unhealthy, Nanaimo bars!!!! Talk about nom, nom, nom! I was in Vancouver in 2010 during the Paralympic Games and was lucky enough to eat Nanaimo bars often. :-D

Hope Morris starts feeling better soon, and keep those Nanaimo bars away from him! :roll:
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65;+7 59; +9.5 101 Dose Advice? Vet Upd

Anne & Zener said:
To heck with Diana Krall

ht_shock_060727_ssv.jpg



:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65;+7 59; +9.5 101 Dose Advice? Vet Upd

Anne & Zener said:
your home is the home of the incredibly fabulous, delicious and probably terribly unhealthy, Nanaimo bars!!!!
Yes, I do have a weakness for Nanaimo Bars!!!!


Well, looks like Morris found the bounce. I decided to go with 0.75u for his dose tonight. :?: Should I stick with that, or go back to the 1.00u he was getting?


He ate about 5/8 of his food today. He was NOT impressed with having those ab's shoved down his throat again though! It's going to be an interesting few days! Ab's twice per day plus having to wash out his 'holes' in his mouth with water & a syringe - he does NOT like anything being put into his mouth! Never has!!!
 
Re: 12/1 Morris AMPS 65;+7 59; +9.5 101; PMPS 364 Dose Advic

Poor Morris, having his mouth washed out. :sad: Maybe joining Zener on the trampoline tonight will help Mr M feel better. And Nanaimo bars will certainly help his Mama Bean feel better!

@Celi - if I had a Nanaimo bar, I'd put it in that screaming kid's mouth, that or play some Diana Krall for her. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top