12/1 Makoto PMPS (266) +4 (94) * new dose*...?

Si am cat mom

Member Since 2019
I increased his dose today since I was going to be home for a few days and would be able to do a curve/ stay up if needed. I also gave his dose later than planned this am , like usually when I work. We usually shoot for 6:30 AM/PM, but with work it's closer to 7:20/7:30. I am planning on checking it in 15 mins for a +5 and have all kinds of LC,MC options on hand that he likes....but I am wondering if I should stop the increase and get back on a better schedule first. I feel like I messed up and made too many changes... I was just getting nervous with being stalled in the yellows for too long.
 
Glad you got a pm test ;), did you feed anything with that +4? I'd give a snack of LC, remember with SLGS you reduce if you go under 90.
 
Glad you got a pm test ;), did you feed anything with that +4? I'd give a snack fo LC, remember with SLGS you reduce if you go under 90.
Yes, he got a mix of his no carb and then low carb food...maybe 2 teaspoons just in case I had to give more. I'm off for the next 3 days, so I'll be testing more frequently overnight
 
SLGS requires that you do a curve once a week. That means texting every two hours for 12 hours or every three hours for 18 hours.

I’m not seeing that you’ve ever done a weekly curve. He might be doing the same thing he’s done tonight on other cycles where there are no tests. The bottom line here is that you don’t raise the dose unless you know how low the current dose is taking him.

I agree with Bron; please feed LC and test about 30 mins after he’s eaten.
 
seems like a faster drop than I expected...I thought it might take a day to kick in and start showing in numbers but

+5 ( 91)
 
I thought if the dose hadn't changed - I wouldn't get another curve until I did. When I started the fatter 1 unit I did grab a midday and later test for the first few days, but nothing past a +4/ +4.5 I think. Should I go back to the previous dose or just grab 2 hour test overnight and then through the +4 in the AM and see?
 
Before bed tests each night really help to make sure numbers don't drop too quickly or too low, without being able to intervene with higher carb food if necessary. Tonight was a good example, very similar preshot to previous evenings, but you were able to see that Makato was hitting lower numbers. Any data is good data, and as Marje said we dose based on how low the dose is taking the kitty. With a curve after a week on 1u you may have seen lower numbers that would suggest keeping to 1u. I'm inclined to say go back to 1u since the increase wasn't really per SLGS.
 
(104) +5.5
sounds good.
I'll plan a curve for Tuesday to give him a chance to reset then. I think I misinterpreted advice to increase earlier in the process and missed the window. These stalling numbers in the 200s just made me think we weren't getting anywhere or that I was just increasing the likelihood that he would become insulin resistant. I'll try again and reassess at the end of the week.
Thanks for the help
 
I thought if the dose hadn't changed - I wouldn't get another curve until I did. When I started the fatter 1 unit I did grab a midday and later test for the first few days, but nothing past a +4/ +4.5 I think. Should I go back to the previous dose or just grab 2 hour test overnight and then through the +4 in the AM and see?
You do the curve first and then adjust the dose unless the BG drops below 90. In that event, you reduce the dose the next cycle and start the week over.
 
You do the curve first and then adjust the dose unless the BG drops below 90. In that event, you reduce the dose the next cycle and start the week over.

I think my confusion is that I wasn't counting the fat dose as an increase after the curve attempted on the 17th where we had blue values the day of and before...after that I should have done another. I was interpreting that not as a full increase - like the 0.25 that was recommended- although on these syringes it is really close. Just misunderstanding and late action on my end. I'll repeat a curve Tuesday, maybe halfway through the day and try to get the cycle overnight.
 
I think my confusion is that I wasn't counting the fat dose as an increase after the curve attempted on the 17th where we had blue values the day of and before...after that I should have done another. I was interpreting that not as a full increase - like the 0.25 that was recommended- although on these syringes it is really close. Just misunderstanding and late action on my end. I'll repeat a curve Tuesday, maybe halfway through the day and try to get the cycle overnight.
An increase is an increase but, honestly, you refer to curves, however, I don’t see any curves at all. Not one. For SLGS, one is done every week.
 
Back
Top