12/1 Honey pmps 74,+1 91,+3 41,+3.5 42,+4 60,+5 62,+6 88,98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Denise & Honey

Member Since 2012
Hoping her numbers stay good today after last nights missed shot. She seems fine.
Didn't eat much at amps as the neighbour's cat decided to visit our garden and my three were too fascinated to do anything except stare out of the window. :roll:

Previous Condo

12/1 recap:
amps 120,
+4 51,
+5 83,
+7 65,
+11 67
 
Re: 12/1 Honey amps 120, +4 51, +5 83, +7 65

So yesterday I didn't give Honey the pm shot as she was at 58 at +12.5. Marje said I should have given the shot but I had already chickened-out :oops:
I've shot at 80 but what's the lowest I should go?

If she was 58 today, should I shoot?
Should I stall and see if she comes up? Yesterday she didn't.
 
Re: 12/1 Honey amps 120, +4 51, +5 83, +7 65 - low pre-shot

Your +7 is still hours away from your PMPS. I'd wait to see where Honey is at closer to shot time. It may be that the answer will be evident. You can always post if you're not sure what to do. Just remember to not feed if you're unsure about shooting.
 
Re: 12/1 Honey amps 120, +4 51, +5 83, +7 65 - low pre-shot

She is looking so so good! let us know how she is at pre shot. Do you have high carb food and sugar syrup at the ready?
 
Re: 12/1 Honey amps 120, +4 51, +5 83, +7 65

yes - plenty of supplies.

The low shot question was more kinda general as I probably will have to learn to shoot lower numbers - just wondering what a cut off would be next.
I assume <50 is a no, no
 
Re: 12/1 Honey amps 120, +4 51, +5 83, +7 65

I shoot low. I won't shoot below 50. In general, it's not recommended to shoot below 50.
 
Re: 12/1 Honey amps 120, +4 51, +5 83, +7 65

Yep best to wait until they are over 50. Did you read the sticky on shooting at low numbers?
 
Re: 12/1 Honey amps 120, +4 51, +5 83, +7 65, +11 67

Yep - read the sticky.

Its just it all seems to have come so fast - good, though :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/1 Honey amps 120, +4 51, +5 83, +7 65, +11 67

When you shoot low, you want to get early tests -- usually a +1 and a +2. What I'd suggest, is that you get a test at +0.5. That way, if numbers start to head down, you'll have plenty of lead time to intervene. If you look at Gabby's SS, it's exactly what I did during the PM cycle on 11/29.
 
Re: 12/1 Honey amps 120, +4 51, +5 83, +7 65, +11 67

ok - will do.

Of course, she'll probably be over 100 tonight! But, its good to know for the future.
 
Re: 12/1 Honey pmps 74

So, 74 - not too scarey and she ate really well and would have had more but I think I'll test and feed at +1.

Thanks Sienne and Wendy.
 
Re: 12/1 Honey pmps 74

Hi Denise, Nice shooting! :-D Good idea to get a +1 and +2 to see where Honey is headed. Hope she stays in the easy numbers for you tonight :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/1 Honey pmps 74

Perfect! Great shooting tonight, Denise.

I just saw your question from last night about why would her PMBG be so low. It just happens...as you shoot lower, her numbers may be lower especially as her pancreas starts to work.

As Sienne said, if you shoot above 50 and you think she's going to drop, get the +.5 test.

You're doing super and she didn't skip a beat last night :-D
 
Re: 12/1 Honey pmps 74, +1 91

So +1 is up a fair bit and she's eaten again - almost another .5 FF.
So, I think I'm ok until +3 for the next test.

Thanks to all :thumbup
 
Re: 12/1 Honey pmps 74, +1 91, +3 41...+8 98

Sienne - are you clairvoyant??


http://www.catinfo.org/docs/Food Chart Public 9-22-12.pdf:

+3 Gave 2tsp HC (Friskies Tasty Treasures Chicken & Cheese in Gravy 20%)
+3.5 2tsp HC (Friskies Tasty Treasures Chicken & Cheese in Gravy 20%)
+4 1tsp LC & 1 tsp HC. (FF Grilled Feast(4%) & Friskies Ocean Whitefish/Tuna in Sauce (14%))
+5 2 tsp LC (FF Grilled Feast(4%) )
+6 no food
+ 8 no food
 
Re: 12/1 Honey pmps 74,+1 91,+3 41,+3.5 42,+4 60,+5 62,+6 88

Unfortunately for us all, my crystal ball is permanently out of commission. For most cats, Lantus onset is around +2. I did look at Honey's SS and that seemed to be the case for your PM cycle. In general, I'm a big fan of a +2 test. If the +2 is notably lower than your pre-shot, there's a good chance you're going to have an active cycle. I like that test since it can give you a bit of an advance warning.

How about reducing Honey's dose to a fat 0.25u? Congrats on managing the cycle so beautifully last night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top