12/1 Clyde AMBG 106 PMPS 223 +4.5 64 +5.5 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

fun2doimpossible

Member Since 2013
Last Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129209

Good Morning LL!

Things got a little crazy yesterday so I didn't get a chance to post. It seems like I was constantly bouncing from one thing to another. It seems like both of them have taken an interest in the artificial tree. Max has been sitting on the windowsill next to it and Clyde has been napping underneath it. I'm going to have to try and get a picture of him doing that, but it seems like when he sees me come in the room with a camera or cell phone he decides he doesn't want to be there any more. (I can walk in with the glucometer and test strips and he won't move an inch.)

Wendy/Marje if you get the chance definitely see Mockingjay. It was really good. If the books or movies are a little fuzzy for you, definitely reread them/watch the movies first. It just jumps right in where everything was left off.

Marje, hopefully the football games you where watching on Sat. were good games and the team you were cheering for won and you got your Christmas lights up. :smile:

I have to check his paperwork to see what Clyde's BP actually is. He is scheduled to go in on 12/9 for his annual checkup and shots. The pharmacy was going to send the samples to the vet to see what he might eat before they compounded it, so he will get to do his taste testing then. :smile:

Overall he seems to be doing much better now that his BG is under control. He's eating better and seems to have a bit more energy.

I skipped Clyde's shot this morning. He was at 106, when I did his AMBG check. I had to leave for work in an hour and a half after the AMBG check and I didn't think I had enough data to safely shoot at that level. There would have been no one around to monitor him if things went south.

I thought about just delaying his shot so I did retest him. The highest it got was at +1.25 and it did increase to 126. It still wasn't high enough that I thought I could just shoot and leave. I would have dealt with getting his cycle back on the regular times later. I think I can move 15 min per cycle or 30 min per day without too much trouble.

If this happened 12 hours later, I would have been home and would have shot at 106 and could have monitored him.

Right now, I don't know if the data I collected from the last time he was on the juice is still valid for him or not. The last time I was regularly shooting in the blues and his AM/PMBG check was in this range he decided one day he wanted to see how low he could go. :-D

Since I skipped the dose, is there anything I should know or expect to see when I give him his shot this evening?
 
Re: 12/1 Clyde AMBG 106

Great to see Clyde responding to the insulin so quickly!

Not being able to monitor, I think it was probably a good choice to skip this morning. Get your feet under you and see how the patterns emerge before shooting and walking out the door. You will get good information tonight on where Clyde goes with that skip and it will help you in the decision the next time you have a lower than normal preshot number.
 
Re: 12/1 Clyde AMBG 106

I would have skipped too

Although I don't know for sure, my first thought is that "just because he did this before doesn't mean he'll do the same thing now" so I'm not sure how much weight I'd give how he responded the first time

He's looking pretty darn great at the .5 though!

At least since you didn't shoot this morning, you can get right back on schedule tonight

Go Clyde! You're looking good!
 
Re: 12/1 Clyde AMBG 106

i agree with Chris that he might respond differently this time. I would've also skipped. i'd want to gather data for how he responds this time on insulin before you are able to shoot low and leave him.

the only thing i can think of about tonight is that since you skipped this morning, you can shoot early if you want.

One thing people have been doing more of recently is instead of skipping entirely, give a shot at what would've been your +6 (so is actually a +18) and then do another 18 hour cycle after that. It puts you right back on schedule to do 2 18 hr cycles instead of skipping one entirely. It's just an option that some people have found has less impact on the cat than skipping entirely.

You can file that away as an option for some other time if it works for you.
 
Re: 12/1 Clyde AMBG 106 PMPS 223

Good evening!

I gave Clyde his PM shot and he was up to 223 at PMPS. Julie I will have to remember that 18 hour cycle trick in the future. If I can get home from work over lunch, I think I'll try it. I think if I did that it would have helped keep him from getting this high. :smile:

I'm just looking at the old data just enough to help keep me out of trouble. :smile: Last time he was that low, he needed a bit of steering to help keep him from going too low. I don't know if he would have needed it not, but I wanted to be here to see what happened and to collect data. I had a long weekend so I was able to get a lot of testing done over the last four days and the more data I collect the happier and more comfortable I'll be.
 
Re: 12/1 Clyde AMBG 106 PMPS 223 +4.5 64 Dosing Question

I did a spot check on Clyde at +4.5. (Got side tracked to do it at +4). The spot check showed he was at 64. I'm a little concerned with his dosing tomorrow morning. I will check in again in about an hour or so, but it wouldn't surprise me if he's in the 50s (or lower) at that time since the nadir has been hitting around +6.

I know the protocol says if he drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) to reduce the dose. I don't know where Clyde fits in with this as a cat that dropped out of remission or because I skipped a dose if this still holds right now.

I skipped his morning dose today because his AMBG was 106. I had work so no one would have been around if he went too low. If he's in the low 100s again tomorrow morning how do you think I should I proceed? I have work during the day so there is no one to monitor him. I can skip the dose again, try .25u, I think I can try the 18 hour cycle Julie mentioned. What do you think the best course of action is?
 
At +5.5 he's up to 80 so hopefully he will have a nice surf through the night at be at a level I'm comfortable shooting him at in the morning.
 
Can you stall at all in the morning if you need to?

With the amount of data you have so far, I think I'd stick to the "under 150, no shot" unless you can maybe stall and see that he's rising without food and go from there

He looks like he wouldn't be too hard to get back on track if you did skip
 
The most I can stall is 1.5 hours before I have to leave for work. 150 is the lowest I'm comfortable shooting at right now without being home.
 
It's been over a year since Clyde's original diagnosis and he is back from the falls, so I think he qualifies as a long term diabetic.

I agree with Chris that it would be hard to shoot low with the amount of data you have. If you have to skip too often, you might have to consider a smaller dose so you can safely shoot twice a day.
 
That is both of my concerns, skipping too often and shooting low without much data. The good news is if I can make it to Sat. I will be home all day and can shoot low and collect data and steer with food if necessary.
 
with him already responding this well to the insulin, i'd probably err on the side of caution and skip if you have any doubts. Saturday isn't far away.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top