? 12/1 Basic 155 +1 133 +2 109 +4 103 +5 129 +6 153

Basic's Mom

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-29-amps-143-1-75-147-2-119-3-99-124.284069/#post-3127813

This is the 2nd day (not consecutive) since his increase (11/28), that he has had numbers in the blue consistently throughout the first 6 hours of his AM dose and then it starts to spike. I don't have enough understanding of this disease to know what this means, other than the common sense aspect of it. While this dose is good, it isn't lasting long enough to prevent the steady increase in his BG.

When someone has the time, can you look at his SS and let me know what you think is happening or point me to a thread or article that can help me understand what is happening? He rarely has blue numbers other than the day after an increase and that's only been somewhat recent. The further along we get in his new dose, those numbers just keep spiking.

He is feeling better more days than not. He's recently had the zoomies a few times that always result in him flying up onto a bed which is good to see again. I caught him grooming his sister the other day and I haven't seen that since diagnosis.
 
103 isn't that far off the 99 he got on the second cycle of this dose. Looks like the 99 got him to bounce, which he did for 3 cycles, then cleared the bounce and came back down close to the same number. With SLGS, you want nadirs in the 90-149, so he's looking pretty good so far on 3.5 units. Time will tell (7 days on this dose per SLGS) to see if he stays here or needs and increase. Have you read the New to the Group Sticky Note and the description of bouncing? I find that Sticky Note a good one to read over a few times.

By the way, it's helpful to have kitty's name in the subject line - makes it easier to figure out who the post is about. Especially if you change the avatar.;)

I do like that he's feeling better. That's a very good sign that his dose is getting better. We always say that cats are more than their numbers, which is why we like to hear how they are acting and behaving too.
 
103 isn't that far off the 99 he got on the second cycle of this dose. Looks like the 99 got him to bounce, which he did for 3 cycles, then cleared the bounce and came back down close to the same number. With SLGS, you want nadirs in the 90-149, so he's looking pretty good so far on 3.5 units. Time will tell (7 days on this dose per SLGS) to see if he stays here or needs and increase. Have you read the New to the Group Sticky Note and the description of bouncing? I find that Sticky Note a good one to read over a few times.

By the way, it's helpful to have kitty's name in the subject line - makes it easier to figure out who the post is about. Especially if you change the avatar.;)

I do like that he's feeling better. That's a very good sign that his dose is getting better. We always say that cats are more than their numbers, which is why we like to hear how they are acting and behaving too.
I have read the sticky about a bounce. In fact, I skim over most our stickies often and learn something new or actually retain something new each time I read them again. You explaining the way you have makes more sense to me though. I am not sure why, but it does. Having his numbers to look at, comparing them to the facts you said makes perfect sense to me. So it isn't that this dose isn't holding like I stated, per se, it appears to be more about the bounce that occurred. I wouldn't have known that if you hadn't explained because his BG is always high. I assumed it was the dose not being high enough, not a bounce.

Thank you so much for taking the time to explain this to me.

I added his name to subject line. Sorry about that.

Thanks again.
 
If you find that after he breaks his bounces, the nadirs or low points start to creep up, then that's a sign he'll need more insulin. A cat's body can get used to higher numbers over time, so you do want to change the dose so those nadirs remain in a good range. Should that happen of course.
 
If you find that after he breaks his bounces, the nadirs or low points start to creep up, then that's a sign he'll need more insulin. A cat's body can get used to higher numbers over time, so you do want to change the dose so those nadirs remain in a good range. Should that happen of course.
He is at 215 at +7.5. I'm hopeful the lower numbers (for him) he had today don't cause a bounce or is that what I'm seeing now with the 63 point increase in 1.5 hour time? He hasn't eaten his 12:30 meal yet either.

I have felt for awhile that his body seemed used to these higher bg numbers and thats why it is taking me longer to get him regulated.

With the knowledge you have, would you start holding his doses a little longer, provided his nadair are in proper range or is this too premature to start thinking about?
 
It's a little early to say what you'll do with this dose. Let's see what the numbers look like after you've held the dose the 7 days that SLGS says to do.
 
Back
Top