12/1 Alska AMPS=285 +4=283 +6=280 +8=282 PMPS=252

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
Alska so far has not caught the cold that is going around my feline brood. I think it is because he had a distemper shot just before I got him. My boy civvies are going through it now - one is starting to eat a little and the other is just coming down with it. I should be snot-free by next weekend.
 
Re: 12/1 Alska AMPS=294 +4=283

Infectious disease is the gift that keeps giving!

Some or all of the following may be helpful, either as a one time deal, or more frequently.

Go through the entire food prep area and clean and disinfect vigorously.
Wash and disinfect all plates and utensils used in feeding, as well as flooring in all areas.
Between preparing different meals, disinfect utensils and feeding areas.

A 1:10 solution of bleach to water may be used as a soak of otherwise clean plates and utensils. If the debris isn't off these, bleach or other disinfectant can't work properly.

Any indoor litter boxes will need disinfecting. The trick is to do it without making it smell offensive to the cats! Scrub down with unscented bleach, rinse well, and air dry. If you can use disposable bags to remove the litter, this will remove much of any contaminated feces from the boxes where a healthy animal could step in it. You may want to listen for litter box use and immediately scoop if you can. You might do a complete litter box replacement daily, although that can be expensive. If it cuts down on infection transmission or retransmission, it may be worth it.

You could be a source of fomites - infectious material that is on you or your clothing. Obviously these means a thorough scrub down for you with cleansers and whatever you can tolerate in the way of disinfectant or antiseptic. One option is 70% isopropyl alcohol - anything higher and the bacteria will wall it off so it can't work. Chlorhexidine wash is used before surgery to disinfect the skin too; it may not require a prescription. Other options include commercial antibacterial products. This also means washing all your clothing which could have come in contact with the ill animals. A bleach product may be used if safe for the fabrics or you might look for disinfecting laundry products, possibly at a commercial supply company for laundries.

Because all this washing and disinfecting can become onerous, you might pick up some disposable painter's coveralls, including shoe covers, to provide a layer between you and the animals for most of your body.
 
Re: 12/1 Alska AMPS=294 +4=283

Thanks BJM

I have actually been following shelter protocol with a change of shirts and socks. I even made my guests wear foot coverings to go in and see them. My civvie got infected because on the first night, he had his paw under the door. He is getting over it now but his buddy now has it because there is no way to prevent it now. All the precautions you mentioned are great and were taken. I never left the room without Clorox at the doorways and I have washed my hands so much they are cracked. Their bowls are kept separate and cleaned often and the carrier never touched the floor between car and room. It is a good measure to see where their immune systems are and whether they are all active. The kittens and momma are over it but I have one civvie coming out the back half and the other just starting the illness despite all the precautions. The lesson learned is that even though I don't believe in immunizing, I think that every three years they probably should have the distemper booster. I was six months overdue because I had not located a trusted vet but now I will be on a three=year cycle. Also, I don't know if I will be fostering kittens for the foreseeable future.

We (vet) also decided to not medically treat this URi as it was the lowest form and would be good to wake up immune systems. My rescue agency offered to come with drugs but we weathered without. If it had not improved in 8 days then the vet was to call in drugs. I am happy that that was not necessary. Michelle Bernard writes that a URI in kittens is great for waking up their immune systems and a adult cat with a URI can stand a fast. The distemper vaccine that Alska got in may probably had enough protection.
 
I am going to go with an increase -to 1.75u and sit on it for two weeks. He is a much bigger cat now and probably needs more time to settle on a dose.
 
Doing comfort care is reasonable so long as the animal can withstand the infection, i.e. is otherwise healthy. I'd hesitate to do that in an immune compromised cat.

Sterile, preservative free eye drops may help loosen gunk in the eyes, and drains into the sinuses, loosening gunk there, too.
 
I don't think I have an immune compromised cat. All the kittens and mother and my two boy civvies were healthy before the URI. They are getting through it. As long as they are sneezing clear and not green then it was best to let them ride it out. They had runny eyes but never goopy or closed eyes. I would have taken measures if they had progressed beyond runny.

The kittens and mother cat have all recovered and while there is a sneeze here and there, they are active, eating and dry eyed. My sick civvie is managing to eat something at least every other day. Hopefully his cycle with this illness will end by the end of the week. My other civvie stopped eating this morning so I soldier on...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top