? 12/09 Oreo (Bao) AMBG 157, +5.5 217, +8 198 Suddenly the BG spiked up

Elaine Lai

Member Since 2022
Previous.

So Oreo got in remission 6 days ago. This morning I found him rarely didn't have any appetite, gave him his favorite treat and he wouldn't touch it. Took his BG and it was 157! Second test 166. I was dropping off family to the airport this morning so no one wouldn't be home to monitor him. When I got home at +5.5, I found all the food left out wasn't touched at all. Took his BG and it was 217. Offered him food he still didn't want any. It was strange since he finished his PM+9 snack, I checked the water bowl and litter box and they appeared nothing worth noting. Everything with him was normal last night, he was playful, I gave him a matatabi stick to chew, sprayed some calming spray (Relaxivet) around his usual spots before I went to bed. And I think it very unlikely that he could get into some high-carbs food.

Could it be that he is food poisoned? Last night I did use a smaller ice pack in the feeder. Though I didn't find any vomit, pee/poop in the litter box looked normal. Room temperature was 60F las night, food was his regular low-carb Weruva canned wet. Now he appears listless and has zero appetite.

I am worried. Should I give him some token dose insulin since he obviously isn't feeling well for the higher BG and won't eat? I will try to test his urine ketone when possible. Or should I bring him to the vet/ER right away? although I'm a bit hesitant for he is so timid and always super dread the car ride and strangers.
 
I don't think it was food poisoning. One of mine suddenly stopped eating right before Thanksgiving. I took her to the vet and she had a fever. It took three days for her to return to normal. My vet said it must have been a virus and he ran blood and took x-rays because of the long weekend. She never left why condo except for her dental which was a couple of months ago so how did she get a virus is anybody's guess. But she is not diabetic. Her glucose was normal but above what it was before.

I would not start insulin just yet as it is just one cycle. If he doesn't eat can you syringe feed him? If he is not eating by tomorrow I would take him to the vet. My Chai was given sub-q fluids twice.

I hope feels better soon. :bighug:See if you can entice him to eat with baby food maybe?
 
Last edited:
Updated, just took his urine ketone and it was negative. He drank some water, ate a tiny bit of freeze-dried raw chicken. Still very low in appetite but started to walk around a little. My 5-YO son was sick the whole last week, I'm getting a sore throat myself. Could it be he got the virus from us? I will see if I can get him to eat more. If not I'm getting baby food later.
 
It is scary when they go from normal to limp in hours. I was really scared about Chai, especially when my vet who is usually conservative ran test and prayed her whole insides. If you can get her to eat small amounts often, even 1/2 of normal, see how she does. Is your vet open on weekends? I am not saying you will need a vet but just wondering.
 
Yes they are open Saturday, but not Sunday. Hopefully we won't have to go to the vet. Will try to get him to eat. In the meantime, do you think I should monitor his BG closely?

198 @+8
 
Yes they are open Saturday, but not Sunday. Hopefully we won't have to go to the vet. Will try to get him to eat. In the meantime, do you think I should monitor his BG closely?

198 @+8

I don't think that you need to monitor him closely. His bg could be elevated because he is not feeling well. Just try and get him to eat small amounts often. I would add a little water to keep him hydrated. See where he is at in the morning. He might need sub-q fluids but hoping this passes quickly.
 
Last edited:
He appeared hungry and ate some more at PM +1. Almost a healthy portion like 90% of his regular dinner. Keep doing this maybe we can cancel the dreadful vet appointment tomorrow. :)
 
He appeared hungry and ate some more at PM +1. Almost a healthy portion like 90% of his regular dinner. Keep doing this maybe we can cancel the dreadful vet appointment tomorrow. :)

Sometimes they just don’t want to eat. Think of how many times you’ve had a bout of idiopathic nausea that lasted a day. Happens to me at least once or twice a year. Maybe his stomach just got upset? It happens. Those blood sugar levels are perfectly fine for a cat in remission. Even in remission there’s something not right with a diabetic cats beta cells in the pancreas. You’d expect their normal to be a normal kitties upper end of normal.
 
Sometimes they just don’t want to eat. Think of how many times you’ve had a bout of idiopathic nausea that lasted a day. Happens to me at least once or twice a year. Maybe his stomach just got upset? It happens. Those blood sugar levels are perfectly fine for a cat in remission. Even in remission there’s something not right with a diabetic cats beta cells in the pancreas. You’d expect their normal to be a normal kitties upper end of normal.
You're probably right, and I absolutely hope you're 1000% right that he was just under the influence of idiopathic nausea or minor stomach upset. I guess I'm still not too used to him without insulin and got worried that he might relapse too soon.
 
You're probably right, and I absolutely hope you're 1000% right that he was just under the influence of idiopathic nausea or minor stomach upset. I guess I'm still not too used to him without insulin and got worried that he might relapse too soon.

Even on insulin some days sam just isn't having it. Some days he just goes "nah I'm good", and won't eat till later. It happens. I can't imagine how much stress you're going through, having finally got him off of insulin and being vigilant for any signs of relapse! You're doing an amazing job, Oreo is sooo lucky to have someone like you as his guardian/parent/friend. Keep up the great work. Glad Oreo seems to be improving! :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top