12/09 J.D. PMPS 228

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Long Condo

Last Night:
600 PMPS
315 +3
268 +5.5

J.D. woke me up at +5.5 by jumping on me and crawling across my head, so I tested him and gave him some food, but I went right back to sleep and the food was gone in the morning, but I don't know who ate it or when.

There is a normal looking poo in the box but I don't know who's it is. If J.D. has normal poos today, should I stop he Flagyl or continue on for the 10 days even if he's only had one dose so far? I hope Flagyl does not cause inappetance. I have enough troubles getting him to eat. He hasn't eaten much yet this morning. I don't think my cats liked what was served for 1st Breffis, but Ginger ate most of hers and J.D. ate a bit and both cats have gone back to bed, which I would love to do myself.
 
Re: 12/09 J.D. AMPS 286

Sending appy vines to JD!
I dont have an answer to the medi Dyana but I'm sure somebody will come along to give you the answer. I seldom give med to my cats unless the "issue/problem" persists for more than a day. But that's just me :lol: I hate taking med myself! :lol:
 
Re: 12/09 J.D. AMPS 286

J.D. still hasn't eaten anything. I did give him the Flagyl, as I remember the vet said it would help with the sore on his lip (it looks like the acne he got before, only it's on the side rather than in front of his mouth).
He just went outside again. Op, now he's back in the house and drinking water.
I got bit good and hard in the thumb giving that huge pill pocket to him.
I wish he would eat, and I wish my cold would go away.
 
Re: 12/09 J.D. AMPS 286

tortie58 said:
Sending appy vines to JD!
I dont have an answer to the medi Dyana but I'm sure somebody will come along to give you the answer. I seldom give med to my cats unless the "issue/problem" persists for more than a day. But that's just me :lol: I hate taking med myself! :lol:
Me too, and my doctor knows it. I don't even take meds for a cold. And I hate the long list of meds that J.D. is on.
 
Re: 12/09 J.D. AMPS 286, +3.25 230

He ate most of 1/4 can FF (about 1/5 can) after I added crumbled freeze dried salmon and FortiFlora to it and held the plate under his mouth. I don't know if I like this drug.

This is what I found:

Metronidazole Side Effects
•Most common: clinical signs related to the bad taste or GI upset.
•Dogs and cats: excessive salivation, gagging, regurgitation, pawing at the mouth, nausea, vomiting and decreased appetite are the most frequent complaints.
•Less common or rare: diarrhea, depression, lethargy, weakness, low white blood-cell count, liver failure and blood in the urine, or dark urine due to pigment changes. Neurologic signs may be seen after
•accidental overdose or, more commonly, with long-term moderate-to high-dose therapy as to treat difficult bacterial infections. Signs often begin seven to 12 days following the start of treatment.
•Horses: side effects are not associated commonly with metronidazole. The major problem with using this drug is its bad taste. Many horses stop eating when this drug is mixed with feed and a reliable method of administration must be found.

Precautions
•Metronidazole causes birth defects in laboratory animals. It should be avoided in pregnant animals, especially in the first trimester. Some metronidazole is excreted in breast milk and it should not be used in lactating animals.
•Metronidazole should not be used in young puppies and kittens.
•Metronidazole should be avoided or used with caution, at reduced doses, in animals with kidney or liver disease.


I just tried to feed him again at this past test and he would have none of it.
 
Re: 12/09 J.D. AMPS 286, +3.25 230, +5 147, +7 84, +8.5 56

At +2.5 I held a plate of 1/4 can of LC FF under J.D.'s nose and he ate most (3/4) of it.
At about +3.25 :-| J.D. finally decided to eat. I smooshed about 30? EVO kibbles to the little bit of LC FF that was left on the plate and he ate it and licked the plate clean. I guess I was just mad this morning that he wasn't eating a thing. He wouldn't even touch the leftover FF Medleys that I offered him. But I would more upset if I was going to work and he wasn't eating.

No new poos in the box.

He ate 1/8 can FF at +5 and 1/8 can at +7, and about 1/5 can at +8.5, and I hear him licking his plate clean now (bells jingling against the plate).

It's a cold rainy day outside so it's been a lazy day inside and J.D. and I napped for about 2 hours. I thought I would wake up and my cold would be gone. Not!
 
Re: 12/09 J.D. AMPS 286, +3.25 230, +5 147, +7 84, +8.5 56

Well at least he ate now. He was getting pretty low there. He needed some food in him.

Sorry about your cold. I've been fighting bronchitis most of the winter already! I just can't shake it.

I haven't used Flagyl for years so dont' remember much about it except that it made Calli foam at the mouth. It was horrible but it worked on her diarrhea. I think I only gave it a couple of days until the diarrhea stopped.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 12/09 J.D. AMPS 286, +3.25 230, +5 147, +7 84, +8.5 56

He's now 72 at +9 and just ate a bit more.

I think I'll call our regular vet tomorrow and see what he says about it. Maybe, he'll eat fine tomorrow.

I guess I better go out in the yucky weather and hit the stores..

J.D. does keep sneezing (okay, I've heard him sneeze about twice each day for about 4 or 5 days). He wouldn't catch my cold, would he?
I had his face under the covers earlier when I was having a coughing fit.
 
Re: 12/09 J.D. AMPS 286, +3.25 230, +5 147, +7 84, +8.5 56

Check out those numbers. So glad you have gotten food into him. I don't know anything about Flagyl but agree that the list of SEs is not good. Hopefully you get some good answers from the vet tomorrow.

Feel better. Having a cold in this weather is no fun.

Karen
 
Re: 12/09 J.D. AMPS 286, +3.25 230, +5 147, +7 84, +8.5 56

Nice green for J.D. :mrgreen: I hope he starts eating for you. I hope you get over your cold soon.
 
Re: 12/09 J.D. AMPS 286, +7 84, +8.5 56, +9 72, +10.75 113

If you ever want service at Home Depot, take your cat.
I go without the cat and I have to search and search and search to find someone to help me in that huge store.
I bring Ginger on a leash and I have at least 5 employees at all times all anxious to help me wherever I go in the store.

I'm suprised J.D. isn't closer to 600 yet.

I'm off again to Lowe's who doesn't allow cats :roll: in their store.
 
Re: 12/09 J.D. AMPS 286, +7 84, +8.5 56, +9 72, +10.75 113

Nice to see those numbers and improving appy :smile:
Take care of yourself too.
 
Thanks Bruce.

His PMPS is much better than yesterday's. I fed the cats and Ginger ate and J.D. did not. ARGH!!!
 
Dyana, sorry to hear about J.D. not eating. I know that is a worry on you. Sending some appy vines. Mags sends special poo vines. :-D She thinks coming from her they might work!
 
Sending appy vines to J.D. tonight!

Wow...you take Ginger to HD? I can barely stand going there myself...but I guess having a kitty along would make it much more pleasant! I just can't imagine any of mine would enjoy that place any more than I do.

Feel better Dyana and J.D.!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top