12/09 Cleo PMPS 89; +2 70;+3.5 47:+4.5 47;+5.25 58;+6.25 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleo & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2013
yesterday

12/08 Recap
AMPS - 104
+3 - 73 (fed 18%)
+6 - 84
+11 - 153

PMPS - 179
+2 - 157
+3.5 - 156
+5.5 - 152

Cleo has 4 P's in place today. Her appy is okay. Opened 3 cans so far, and she has just picked at all three.

I had bought a little 4 section box of kitty grass and some of it has grown to almost three inches. It still has a lot of growing (filling out) to do before I put it on the catio. I let Cleo try it this morning and she LOVED it!! Very gently chewed some of the top of the blades off. I know that will be a hit with her :-D

Hope everyone has a good Monday! Vines to all kitties and beans in need!
 
Re: 12/09 Cleo AMPS 194

Nice start for Cleo today. I hope she gives you a blue/green surf. How neat on the kitty grass. I'm glad Cleo likes it. Hopefully it will finish filling out soon so you can put it on the catio.
 
Re: 12/09 Cleo AMPS 194

I hope Cleo has a good day.
I have to grow kitty grass for Ginger in the winter. I love it because it grows so fast.
 
Re: 12/09 Cleo AMPS 194; +1.5 164

They do love their kitty grass ;-)
Looking good this morning Cleo...maybe some :mrgreen: later??
Enjoy your day Jane!
 
Re: 12/09 Cleo PMPS 89; +2 70; +3.5 47

Looks like someone is looking for a reduction! I guess that yummy kitty grass inspired her to give you something back in return ;-) You can come up now sweet Cleo. Your mama probably doesn't want to host a Monday Night PJ Party :lol:
 
Re: 12/09 Cleo PMPS 89; +2 70; +3.5 47: +4.5 47

PMPS- 89 Fed her 8% for her first dinner
+2-70 fed 13%
+3.5 -47 fed 1 tsp 20% + 1/2 tsp LC
+4/5 - 47 same as above.

Any thoughts on if I should decrease her a whole .25U, or if I should take off less. Now that I am using the calipers, I think I will be able to do the in between doses easier :smile: She is not as hungry as she usually gets in the lower numbers. Maybe she is getting a little more used to them.
Thanks for any advice!
 
Re: 12/09 Cleo PMPS 89; +2 70; +3.5 47: +4.5 47;+5.25 58

Sorry that I don't have any dosing advice for you, but I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will come along soon and help you out! Congrats on the pretty numbers tonight (albeit, a teensy weensy bit lower than us beans like to see at +3.5! :shock: ) Good catch. Have a good evening, Jane!
 
Re: 12/09 Cleo PMPS 89; +2 70; +3.5 47: +4.5 47;+5.25 58

i think with Cleo you've got a couple of options. Let me just think out loud here and perhaps it will help you figure out a direction to go. Here are the 2 things i'm looking at for guidance:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.

If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.

Reductions
For kitties that tend to fail reductions, many experienced caregivers (CG) follow the Roomp/Rand protocol and will not take a reduction until the kitty's BG has dropped between 40 and 50 three times on different days on that specific dose. The reduction taken should be .25u because this is an aggressive method of earning reductions. However, if the kitty drops below 40 once, a reduction should be taken. Another option for kitties that fail reductions is to shave the dose if the kitty drops below 50 once. But please do not mix and match reduction strategies as you could be compromising your kitty's safety. As an example, it is not recommended to allow kitty to drop between 40-50 on three separate days and then shave the dose.

And while it is not addressed in the protocol, if the CG is having a cycle where they are working hard to keep numbers up, it is wise to reduce the dose regardless if numbers have not fallen below the thresholds mentioned above.

It is acceptable on an earned reduction, to shoot through the bounce once and then take the reduction. For kitties who clear bounces quickly (in a cycle), shooting through the bounce may not be the best option and, instead, it might be safer to take the reduction at the next shot time after it is earned. If your kitty clears bounces in one cycle and you decide to shoot through the bounce, it is important to monitor numbers the cycle that the CG shoots through the bounce. If the CG accidentally overlooks the need to reduce, the reduction should be taken as soon as possible; reductions are not "lost".


First, she is considered a newly diagnosed kitty because she's still under 1 year since diagnosis.
She doesn't really have a history of failed reductions - i would say the decrease on 11/20 ended up to be a failed reduction, but now she's back at 1u and has dropped below 50 again.
Even though she's gone under 50 today, she's also got a lot of blue numbers, even some yellows in the past few days. but it looks to me like she's on the verge of flattening out on this dose and having most of her numbers in the normal range.
Her low numbers today were 47 - so not a clear-cut MUST reduce, as you would have with the 30's and 20's.

I'm looking at both of these quotes above - and also rereading the rest of the Reductions post. I think it's reasonable to go either direction. You could take the full reduction of 0.25u and just be ready to go back up if it doesn't hold. i would almost want to see some of those higher numbers flatten out if possible. it might be that shaving the dose or doing the 3 times under 50 modification would be options that would be good for Cleo. Make note of marje's warning about not mixing those 2 options. I'd also consider whether or not it was hard for you to pull her up tonight. If it wasn't hard to pull her up tonight, i'd lean towards either shaving or doing the 3 times under 50 - provided you're around to monitor her plenty, which you usually are.

but it's up to you. you've got a lot of experience with her - what direction do you want to go?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top