12/07, Sam, AMPS 369, +3 274, +5 236, +9 274, PMPS 166, +1 108

Did he show any hypo signs? If not, then we don't know if he actually was hypoglycemic. He could be bouncing from lower numbers than he's used to. In addition fast drops, which he definitely had, can also cause bounces.

When you get a chance, please update the spreadsheet. The first thing I do when I stop in is to open someone's spreadsheet.
 
Did he show any hypo signs? If not, then we don't know if he actually was hypoglycemic. He could be bouncing from lower numbers than he's used to. In addition fast drops, which he definitely had, can also cause bounces.

When you get a chance, please update the spreadsheet. The first thing I do when I stop in is to open someone's spreadsheet.
Will do, sorry. I’m working right now. Vet wanted to reduce his evening dose to 1.5 units, morning stick with 2.0. Would you be opposed to this?
 
You can always try the reduction to 1.5 units and see how it goes. It's always easier to go up in dose than worry about possible low numbers.
 
He's breaking the bounce again - the all cycle slide down to blues. Those cycles typically have some extra downward momentum. I would get a +2 test again.
 
He's breaking the bounce again - the all cycle slide down to blues. Those cycles typically have some extra downward momentum. I would get a +2 test again.
+1 he’s 108. Gonna test at+2, +3, + 4.

As an aside; i am so done. I didn’t sign up for this. Had i known i still would’ve taken the little guy. But i’m SOOO done right now. Christ. I have so many mental health problems of my own. Sorry if it comes across sometimes. I really do appreciate the advice and support of everyone here (especially you Wendy; you’re amazing).
 
I know what’s coming. Not excited. I only gave 1.5 units! Maybe this is good; maybe he’ll go into remission. Who knows.
 
Can you give him some food now. Not too much, you don't want to fill him up. But a couple tsps low carb to see if you can slow him down.

Unfortunately the depot of the larger Lantus dose you were giving him before tonight is influencing this cycle, and will for at least the first part of the cycle. When a cat has changed to all low carb food, and is on the downward direction for dose, it can be rather intense for the caregiver. I hope it helps to think of the end goal. You are doing a fantastic job with Sam!
 
Can you give him some food now. Not too much, you don't want to fill him up. But a couple tsps low carb to see if you can slow him down.

Unfortunately the depot of the larger Lantus dose you were giving him before tonight is influencing this cycle, and will for at least the first part of the cycle. When a cat has changed to all low carb food, and is on the downward direction for dose, it can be rather intense for the caregiver. I hope it helps to think of the end goal. You are doing a fantastic job with Sam!

Thanks, it’s tough. My parents have told me i’m an idiot for not euthanizing him. It’s tough having no family, friends to help. I rely on you guys for support (seriously wendy you’re so amazing). Will give some food.
 
A lot of us have had unsympathetic friends and/or family. I still cherish most the friends who worked around my cat's insulin and testing schedule, even though that was six years ago.

I seem to remember you saying that Sam is looking and feeling a lot better now. That's the proof you are doing things right.
 
Time to break out the high carb food for Sam. With SLGS, this is yet another reduction. You will be OK, just drop some warm plain water in your eye.
 
Time to break out the high carb food for Sam. With SLGS, this is yet another reduction. You will be OK, just drop some warm plain water in your eye.
Yeah i kept on testing, sorry for the delau i’m just exhausted. Getting no sleep cause of thus. I’ll update his spreadsheet.
 
Back
Top